Info RECENT REMISSIONS?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Terri and Lucy, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. Terri and Lucy

    Terri and Lucy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I just read on Health that Soccer and Max have both gone a couple of days without insulin. We also know Bix is trying hard.

    If you cat has recently gone into remission, can you please report the following information:

    1. Date of Diagnosis
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then

    Thanks, Terri
     
  2. Kira & Max

    Kira & Max Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Just so it's all in one place, here's Max's story: DX Jan 28, 2010 with a regular blood panel. Jan 29 curve at vet's, 500+ all day on 1U Prozinc. Food switch/Prozinc 1.5U Jan 30, 2010. Meter arrived 2/2/10 and he was testing in the 50's. The next two days we did curves both days, dropping to 1U on the first evening and second morning. Second evening, 2/4/10, we gave .5U. That was his last shot. Average since then: 139. Today brought two new lows, 93 and 91.

    Here's to hoping it stays that way :)
     
  3. Sarah and Buzz

    Sarah and Buzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Not sure what timeframe you mean by recently, or if it's only the newer cats you're interested in. In case you want my info, here it is:

    1. Buzz was dx on July 27, 2009.
    2. She was exclusively on Idexx PZI.
    3. We switched to wet food on August 3, 2009. We went cold turkey from dry to wet with no problems.
    4. No other insulins were used between time of dx and remission.
    5. Buzz went OTJ on 12/10/09. Her last insulin shot was on 11/26/09. Her average BG from that time until she came back from the falls (1/5/09) was 87.
     
  4. FurballLover

    FurballLover Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    1. Charlie was dx 9-09
    2. Started compounded humulin n immediately (was labeled by pharmacy as prozinc)
    3. We are in the process of switching from wet & d/m to all wet
    4. No other insulin types yet (if/when he needs it again it will be prozinc)
    5. Last shot: pm 2/4 was 2.5u.

    We had just started testing +2 pm on 2/4. He had hypo two weeks prior, which is why we finally started hometesting. I'm pretty sure we missed his optimal dose.
    His numbers were as low as 66 and reached a high of tonight's 158 pmps. So far, (knock on wood) big C's numbers have stayed in the blue/green range. I wanted to do a +1 or +2 tonight, but he wouldn't cooperate. Hopefully we can get it tomorrow night.
     
    CindyR likes this.
  5. Joanna & Bix (GA)

    Joanna & Bix (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [Edit: he was a wannabee, but has since been needing more insulin, so........ never mind! :D ]

    hope to join the list some day :)
     
  6. MicheleS

    MicheleS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Terri~ I'm not ready to call it remission yet. Maybe the beginning of a honeymoon... But, his #'s are definately not green so he's teetering on a honeymoon.

    1. 1/25/10
    2. ProZinc
    3. 1/25/10
    4. no
    5. last shot was the morning of 2/6/10. He's been averaging 120 without insulin. We had a low of 88 last night (whoo hoo!!) but are back to 110 this amps. My "no-shoot" is 150 currently but this weekend, I plan to lower that limit to 130.

    Thanks for asking about this... I've been wondering what others are experiencing. I had noticed that Max and Soccer are looking very similar. A confound for Soccer: he is obese. He had lost muscle mass on his hind limbs but his abdomen is HUUUUUUGE. We're working on that. :roll:

    Michele
     
  7. LynnLee + Mousie

    LynnLee + Mousie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    out of curiosity, would you say a couple mentioned here then most likely responded to the diet change enough to go into remission? and would they have needed any insulin at all? wouldn't it be nice if vets said "your cat has diabetes. put him on this raw diet (or canned low carb) and take this machine and get some measurements over the next 2-3 days. call me with the numbers every day and we'll see if he needs insulin or not" instead of "your cat has diabetes. he can only eat this prescription food and give him 38,620 units of insulin twice a day. come back in a month and we'll see how he's doing."

    oops, got off on a tangent reading the data i guess :)
     
  8. Hope and Aria

    Hope and Aria Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Ok, so we're not saying remission yet (don't want to jinx anything) but Aria went "as needed" with a no shoot of 145 on 4/25. She would go for about 5-7 days before hitting a 145 or higher and was only getting .1 unit when that happened. When we went on vacation, the sitter shot on a 145 and the next # was a 170, so in my mind, that was a tiny bit of liver action, so I raised the no shoot level. Since doing that, we've gone 20 days with no shot. The first two weeks were a lot of blue, but in the last week, I'm seeing a lot of green which is very encouraging. I'm holding out for 30 full days without insulin before I do the happy dance.

    For our history, Aria was on a diet change previous to switching Prozinc and we made it up to 6 units a day (2 units TID) before things started going good. At the 6 unit point I was literally testing every hour to 2 hours for most awake hours and if I woke up in the middle of the night I'd grab a test as well. We were truly the example of the 45 day settling in period. But when things went good, our dose reductions happened extremely fast. I was going through test strips like water during the 2 months on ProZinc. Previous to that we were on Vetsulin, which was variable depending on the vial and previous to that PZI (which was solid)

    Our vet was really good about me controlling the testing and insulin dosage once I had "proved" myself knowledgeable and trustworthy enough. He gave me a quiz on all the relevant things to know - Somogyi effect, hypo, hyper, rebound, etc. then said I was good to go, but to call and update on dosage.
     
    Holly and Sunny Bear likes this.
  9. Michelle & Prudence

    Michelle & Prudence Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Prudence is a oriental shorthair. 8lbs

    1. 2/19/2010, but couldn't really start home testing until 3/6/2010

    2. ProZinc using ReliOn Micro meter 1 unit BID Switched to TID on 3/13/2010 because insulin wasn't holding the full 12 hours. Took about 8 weeks of tight regulation with TID to get to OTJ.

    3. Switched to lc canned on 3/6/2010

    4. Only used ProZinc

    5. Last shot May 7th - 0.1 units she rides around 70
     
  10. Alexia and Blue

    Alexia and Blue Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    1. June 7th 2010
    2. ProZinc
    3. June 9th 2010
    4. No other insulin.
    5. Morning of July 17th.

    So excited I get to post here!!!
     
  11. Scruffy

    Scruffy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    1. Sept 15th 2010, Home testing a few days later
    2. Prozinc
    3. Initially we gave we every few days. Full switch on 10/26 (Merrick)
    4. No other insulin
    5. Last shot on 10/28, average since has been 80.
     
  12. Steve and Blue

    Steve and Blue Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    1. DX'ed: 3/15/2010 Diabetic Ketoacidosis.

    2. Prozinc PZI. Was going to switch insulins a time or two. Big thanks to Gator and H for advising me to stick with it.

    3. Switched to Fancy Feast Classic and Wellness canned food 3-24-10 after researching online. Vets were
    totally clueless to this method and wanted the cat on dry food (DM). Thank god for the internet and FDMB. :cool:

    4. No other insulins.

    5. Last dose of ProZinc was 4-26-10. Average BGL since around 75-80.

    Blue was only on insulin 6 weeks, but it felt like 6 months! Very stressful and frustrating, but so worth the effort. Numerous blood lettings daily payed off in a big way. :D

    Good luck to all and don't give up! Thanks FDMB. drinking24
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  13. hollyall

    hollyall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    I've been waiting to be sure before doing the happy dance, but I think it's safe to say Maximilian is officially OTJ and diet controlled!!! dancing_cat

    1. Date of Diagnosis - January 8, 2011
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) - PZI locally compounded (generic of ProZinc prescribed by vet, not sure I would've chosen compounded on my own)
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food - Did some transitioning but official only low carb wet date was February 5, 2011 (dose dropped dramatically from that date)
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - Vet started us on Vetsulin but I switched within 3 days cause of recall
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - February 12, 2011 - BG average 70-100 (usually in the greens but creeps up to low 100's if goes long b/w meals)

    I can't thank everyone on FDMB enough for all your advice, help, and encouragement. It has made a world of difference to Max and I. He is a happy, healthy kitty again. When Max was diagnosed, I was so sad and overwhelmed with what it meant. As we started the sugar dance, I became increasingly discouraged with the little progress. Then I found FDMB, followed the great advice/protocol, and everything turned around. I realize how lucky I am, and I'm so grateful to all those who continue to pay it forward on FDMB. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Si am cat mom likes this.
  14. Kathyh

    Kathyh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    1. Date of Diagnosis = Feb. 28, 2011 to Vet; Results Weds. March 2, BG 500's; spilling sugar in urine
    2. Specific (PZI/ProZinc/compounded, etc.)- PZI 100, compounded in Baltimore 3/3/11 - instruction on use 3/7 - This was done by vet tech - limited and mostly wrong. Never showed me how to test, had wrong size needles so demonstrated with saline, injected in wrong location -ruff.
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food. Switched to wet food March 1, 2011.
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - Only PZI
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then Date of last shot 3/30/2011 Av. BG 70's

    Most bizarre part, weird all over the place beginning, almost all doses way below Dr. prescribed 2units

    Day before last shot had a high of 411? Talk about odd.

    This place is the absolute BEST!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  15. Mandy and Bradley

    Mandy and Bradley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Bradley is in remission with the help of this wonderful forum!! I couldn't have done this without you guys. I can't stress enough what a difference your help has made to me and my cat. We wouldn't be where we are today without you. flip_cat

    1. Bradley was originally diagnosed with diabetes in 7/2010. He was put on insulin under the guidance of my vet. I wasn't sure if changing the food would do much to help (I knew nothing about feline diabetes then obviously and was just learning), but I put him on an all-canned diet anyway. After that, a few months later, he went into complete remission. However, as time went on, he would start to eat more and more dry food again (I have two other cats that eat dry so it was hard to keep him away from it and didn't realize how much he was sneaking in). He then became diabetic again in 2/2011. I was going back and forth every week to the vet's office getting his sugar checked regularly and it was NEVER stabilized. He was peeing all over the floor and he looked unhealthy. The vet was no help. They just kept adjusting his dosages every time I went, up and down, up and down. This wasn't right and I knew I needed to monitor him every day myself but had no clue how to go about this myself. I was desperate and needed help. I found this wonderful website which helped my Brad back on track. He is now in remission and looking great! I will never slack on his diet again since I know that was the culprit. He is doing fantastic on his diet now and he's back to his old self, spry and spunky for a 13-year-old. His coat looks wonderful and he even has lost some weight!

    2. ProZinc.

    3. Switched from dry to completely wet as soon as I started here in April. He now gets Fancy Feast.

    4. Not applicable.

    5. Date of last shot was 4/16/11. I don't even check his sugar every day anymore because I can tell by looking at him and his behavior, but his estimated average is in the 60s, I would say.
     
    Pinkapoe likes this.
  16. Michele&Rusty

    Michele&Rusty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Rusty is OTJ
    He was 1st diagosed 2-11-11
    He has been on Prozinc from the beginning. His normal diet before was dry indoor cat food, but I would give them (I have 2 other cats) 1 can of wet food per day.
    I switched him to all wet about a week after being diagnosed, after I had found this board and read up on everything.
    Rusty's last injection was 4/30 of .5 unit, he is averaging around 85 BG now.

    I can't thank everyone here enough for all the support and knowledge. If I hadn't of found this board, no telling where me or Rusty would be now, because the vet originally have him on 4 units in the am, then 2 in the pm. If I had listened to that it could have gotten very bad without the home testing.

    Thanks everyone!! cat_pet_icon :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  17. totallybeachin

    totallybeachin Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Callie Mae's success story!

    1. Date of Diagnosis 3/25/11

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) Compounded PZI

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food 5/6/11

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it N/A

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then 5/18/11, she surfs around 80-105

    Original dose started at 5u BID and I started home testing on 4/25, her vet increased her dosage by 1u increments until she had graduated up to 9u BID by 5/6. Started transitioning to wet and 1u on 5/7
    I found and joined this message board by 5/3
    Switched to wet completely by 5/9

    I would say that diet had a huge impact on my (Callie Mae's) success. Diet, home testing and learning about rebound.

    She had been floating around in the low 100's for a few days, but has since been staying in the green.

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  18. jeannes

    jeannes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    My 11 year old Lynx-point siamese, Sebastian, has been doing great. Not sure if there was a bad diagnosis or we are just in a honeymoon phase, but so far so good.

    1. Date of Diagnosis
    6/8/11 - he had a 'senior panel' and his BG was in the 600s.
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    PZI, 3u BID
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    Started week of 6/12/11. He was originally on Hills Science C/D dry, started adding wet, went to completely wet food within a week. Now no dry, no treats, only canned.
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    N/A
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    Last shot of 1u on 6/20/11. Since then his BG numbers have averaged 75 - 85

    His vet says to keep up with the home testing and no more insulin. We're taking like AA, one day at a time, but we're getting through this. I never could have done this without what I learned from everyone here. Thanks everyone!
     
    Silvia likes this.
  19. canno7371

    canno7371 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    I'm not sure this is the place to pose a question, but please let me know where I should be? Our Callie was diagnosed a few months ago with diabetes. She started out with 2 units twice a day of Prozinc. We took her in to get an all day glucose curve and she told us to increase the dosage to 3 units twice a day. Yesterday we took her back for another day-long glucose curve and she was very low (40s, 50s, 70s) all day. They gave her glucose twice while she was there. We did not give her insulin last night or this morning and we took her back today and her numbers were high - 175 and 300. So, we will try 1 unit twice a day. We have changed her food from mainly Authority Senior dry food to mostly Fancy Feast wet food with a small amount of Blue Wilderness dry food. So, the number of carbs has decreased considerably.

    My question is: How often should we have to take Callie in to spend the day at the vet's to get the glucose curve? She is scheduled to go back in 2 weeks for another. This is getting very expensive for us - $186 each time she goes plus the cost of Prozinc and syringes. I would like to be able to test her myself, but Callie is quite skittish with her injections and I'm not sure she would be willing to have her ears poked as well.
     
  20. Joanna & Bix (GA)

    Joanna & Bix (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi canno & welcome! Can you start a new thread with your questions, either here in the PZI forum, or also you can post in Health. I am afraid people will miss it here.
     
  21. Vhens2211

    Vhens2211 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    1. Date of Diagnosis: 9/24/2011. Mama noticed he was drinking a lot and peeing as well as getting external infections on his ear flaps. Ozzie is also an asthmatic, and I think the steroids even though they were low dose pushed him over.

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.):proZinc. Started with 2 units, bumped to 3 by the vet, then back down to 1 by everyone here on PZI.

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: 9/24/2011. Started with DM wet and FF. Now just FF and trying to find a better quality food both cats like! Cookies are wellness pure bites.

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: N/A

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: Ozzie's last shot was on 10/12-.25 units. He averages now between 64 & 100. Morning numbers always higher.

    Ozzie is doing great! Bounds upon Bounds of energy. Major improvement!!!!
     
  22. badams

    badams Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Samson, Badams (Bennie Adams) MommaBean


    1. Date of Diagnosis 10/1/11
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food. He was actually on wet food most of the time before, but changed from Fancy Feast gravy types to mostly Fancy Feast Classic, but some 9 Lives and Friskies wet locarb
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it. N/A
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then. Last shot 10/28/11. Spreadsheet attached shows readings since last shot.

    :RAHCAT

    I will be testing a couple of times a week....if I am able to drop back that much....I'm still afraid it will shoot back up any minute.

    Samson and I both are so grateful to the people on the board....for the knowledge, advice, support, for us to be able to make it here. All fingers and paws crossed that Samson's little pancreas can keep doing the job.....with the help of the wet locarb food, of course.

    Hoping to see many more kitties showing up on this thread soon!!
     
  23. cellosmom

    cellosmom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    1. Date of Diagnosis
    August 2011, started noticing symptoms (excessive urination, peeing outside the box etc. July 2011) Couldn't start treatment because was away for work for all of september. When he was diagnosed his average BG was ~ 28 (500)

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    compounded BCP PZI

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    Did a half switch for all of september 1/2 purina DM wet and 1/2 Dry. No change in BG's or symptoms. All wet on October 2 2011. His average BG went from 28 (500) to about 20 (350) from the change to all wet (fancy feast and purina DM wet)

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    Originally prescribed caninsulin, on it BID for 4 days, learned to home test, did a curve and it was terrible, showed my vet and got a script written for BCP PZI

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    November 23 2011
    He is def. a diet controlled diabetic. He ranges from 3-8 (60-100) but a few AM's has been in diabetic numbers, 9-10 (150-170) but has been able to bring himself down with food. He goes up if he eats any dry, so I have to watch him carefully, he also needs food available for grazing, but he is OTJ!!!!!!
     
  24. harrysmom

    harrysmom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    This is day 14 so Harry is OTJ!!!

    1. Diagnosed on 11/10/11 with bg in the 400's

    2. Used Prozinc - started with 2units bid while on dm dry

    3. Switched to all canned on 11/22/11and lower dose - by 12/1 he was getting numbers under 200. Currently eats fancy feast and friskies

    4. N/A

    5. Date of last shot was 12/7/11. His average bg is around 100 but I think this number is still dropping as more time passes.

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you to everyone on this board that taught me everything I know about FD!!!! :D :D
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  25. ThomasCat

    ThomasCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    1. DX 1/17/2012
    2. ProZinc
    3. Switched to canned immediately but Curt was sneaking dry food on his own for several days later. Totally off dry food 2/4/2012
    4. none
    5. 2/4/2012. BG tested daily or twice daily. Less than 100 each time! Officially OTJ and in Remission on 2/19/12!!
     
  26. colleenlindsay

    colleenlindsay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Okay, here's Stinkyboy's info:

    1. DX 1/12/2012, with BG at 480
    2. ProZinc, starting at 1 unit 2x daily, then down to .5 2x daily, then .5 once daily, then .5 as needed (usually only every three days or so)
    3. Has always been on mostly canned with a 1/3 cup of EVO dry left out during day for both cats. Switched him OFF Feline Greenies treats that day (they are full of carbs and he ate a lot of them), and in wet foods switched to Fancy Feast Classics, Wellness pate and Gerber's Turkey & Gravy babyfood. (Stinky was underweight, so the doc wanted him to gain half a pound.) Still leave out one tablespoon of EVO dry during day, per vet's instructions.
    4. n/a
    5. Date of last shot was February 27th. He is on a no-insulin trial per vet's instructions. Testing 2x daily, I get BG readings of between 108 and 130, with the exception of last night when he went up to 155 for some reason.
     
  27. Lori&Scout

    Lori&Scout Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    1. Date of Diagnosis: 1/17/12
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: 1/25-2/7 (Scout was getting into the dry food on the desk during this period. On 2/7/12 I removed all dry food.)
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: N/A
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 2/8/12, average for the first week OTJ was 108, from week 2 OTJ until now, it's 73.

    I feed only Evo, Wellness, and Purina DM wet food (using up the DM stuff I bought at dx). Scout gets freeze dried chicken, fresh chicken, fresh fish, and tuna flakes as treats.

    THANK YOU ALL for your help getting Scout OTJ!

    Lori
     
  28. Catannc

    Catannc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    1. 2/9/12 BG 450
    2. Prozinc
    3. Exclusively semi-raw diet starting 2/24 pm, previously dry hills w/d :roll:
    4. Only Prozinc
    5. 3/10/12 pm 0.05u, average excluding the first two days of the trial is 41

    I tried a few days without insulin after the diet change, and one cycle she was able to regulate pretty well without insulin but then her P stopped working. With micro doses we were able to get her P and liver retrained, I do not think she would have self-regulated with diet alone.

    Cathy
     
  29. PrettyBlueEyes

    PrettyBlueEyes Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    1. Date of Diagnosis
    Diagnosed May 12, 2012.

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    ProZinc

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    Switched to Purina DM on 5/12/2012, switched to FF Classics about a week after that.

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    Leo was always on Prozinc.

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    Last shot of his .1u dose was on 5/28/2012. He had very long cycles (30-50 hours) for several cycles before that, with BGs in the 60s to 130s. His final injection was a tiny droplet-small enough to fit in the bevel of the needle, on June 1st, 2012. Since then, his BG runs from the 60s to the 80s.
     
  30. MayBTheresHope

    MayBTheresHope Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    1. Date of Diagnosis
    4/24/12

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    ProZinc

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    Switched to Purina DM dry and canned on 4/24/2012, switched to FF Classics about a week after that.

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    Max was always on Prozinc.

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    Max's last shot was .2u dose was on 7/20/2012. BGLs were between 100-150 for five days, then dropped below 100. He ranges between an average of 55 to 85 now and seems to be getting lower and lower.

    Max's Story
    Max was diagnosed with FD at the end of April 2012 after we noticed the water bowl was always empty and the cat litter had become nearly impossible to scrape out of the litter pan. It was like wet cement that was almost dry. Max had also lost some weight but seemed to be hungry all the time. He has never liked people food, but suddenly he was getting on the table and trying to eat our food at any chance he could find. Off to the vet we went.

    After confirming diagnosis, my vet started Max at 1.5u of PZI and sent me home with an Alpha Trax Meter, a bag of Purina DM and a box of canned Purina DM. Suddenly life got a lot more complicated and I was frustrated. While researching FD, I found this website, registered and started taking the advice of the experts on here. Things got a little better, we adjusted and I figured that Max would be on insulin for the rest of his life. Then fate took us by the paw.....

    Back in June, my Mom was watching Max at her house while we were on vacation. After the first day that she had him, his bgl dropped to 87. I was terrified that it would drop too low and that she wouldn't know what to do, so I instructed her not to give him insulin for the rest of the week. She continued to test him twice daily and fed him his Fancy Feast, putting him on a schedule to eat 4 times per day. When I picked him up and scanned through the meter, I was surprised that his bgl's had stayed consistently in the low 200s without the insulin.

    After we returned home, his numbers started going back up, despite starting him back on insulin injections, again. At that time, I only fed him twice a day. I began to wonder if that wasn't part of the problem, so I bought the cheap PetsSafe autofeeder from Petsmart. Since it was $35, I thought it would be a good one. The feeder was so inconsistent about opening that I gave up on it after a few days. The only other option locally was the more expensive PetSafe 5 Meal Programmable autofeeder. Given that it was also a PetSafe model, I decided that I didn't want to waste anymore money.

    Max's numbers weren't getting any better and started to climb to the 400 range. I started researching autofeeders again and came across a post on this forum that raved about the programable model by PetSafe. I searched for reviews and most were positive, so I finally bit the bullet and bought it. I started using it consistently, cutting the Fancy Feast servings in half and freezing them for the autofeeder. I still feed him half of a fresh can in the morning and the other refrigerated half in the evening. During the rest of the day and night, the autofeeder feeds him the frozen food (which thaws pretty quickly).

    Once I started this routine, it didn't take long and his numbers started dropping. I can't believe that they are as low as are right now. I never dreamed....So thank you guys for this board and working with all of us newbies. It has made all the difference! If I had listened to my vet, Max might be more sick right now. My vet meant well, but he is just listening to the advice of other vets (most of whom also have no clue about how to properly deal with Feline Diabetes). I know that Max will always be a diabetic and we will have to continue to treat him that way. But we are celebrating our OTJ party today. Yay! I have high hopes that we will be able to continue to control his diabetes via a low carb canned food diet and frequent small meals instead of having to give insulin.
     
    Judy and Hershey likes this.
  31. sheryl1032

    sheryl1032 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    I would like to thank everyone here for all the great advice. This could not have happened without all the information I received here.

    1.Madison was diagnosed 7/31/2012
    2.She was only on ProZinc. She went into remission about 5 weeks after starting treatment.
    3.I switched her to all wet food during the first week she was diagnosed. She eats Fancy Feast classics.
    4.Her last shot was 9/3/2012 and her average BG now has been between 60 to 90.

    Thanks again!!
    Sheryl & Madison
     
  32. Dr Schrodinger

    Dr Schrodinger Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Milo could not have done this without the help of the selfless people here. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. It has been quite an emotional journey.


    1. Date of Diagnosis: 1st week November 2012
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): Hypurin Bovine PZI, for 4 weeks
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food 2nd January 2013
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it Caninsulin. From DX to 19th January 2013 (11 weeks)
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 17th February 2013 - 14 days ago! Ave BG 4.2mMol/L or 76mg/dl

    :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    cat_pet_icon
     
  33. Taisia&Henry Richmond VA

    Taisia&Henry Richmond VA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Yea!!!! We're OTJ as of this week-


    Henry was diagnosed as diabetic on Feb 8th- Our ( now ex) vet prescribed 3 units of Prozinc 2 x a day, and said to come back in 10 days. She gave us a case of Hills Science Diet W/D canned and dry. She said that "eventually, I could home test.

    I was told by several people that Hills food is NOT GOOD- So I began researching this, and found Dr Lisa Piersons (DVM) "catinfo.org" site on the web, and started reading about feline diabetes, nutrition, and the effect of high carbs on diabetic cats.

    I spoke with this pioneer several times, and she coached me on getting a spreadsheet started, told me to home test IMMEDIATLEY, and got me on the FDMB.

    A nurse friend said, "stay away from those message boards- they can drive you crazy!"

    THANK GOD I DIDNT LISTEN- !

    But I did think, how can I rely on faceless people on a message board?? Well, guess what?? IT WORKS. The people on the FDMB rallied around Henry and me, every step of the way. I would send a post, and within minutes- almost every time- a reply could come.
    There is a tight protocol that the veterans on this board follow. They are knowledgeable, and share their vast experience with us newcomers.

    They comforted me, taught me, listened to me, and let me know that all would be well. AND?? On very delicate dosing issues, etc, they actually conferred with eachother BEFORE replying to me- to ensure that they all agreed on the course of action.

    I even spoke to 3 of them on the phone, because they graciously gave me their phone numbers! I was a mess- I felt so overwhelmed, and my knees would shake every time I would home test him.

    The long story short?

    On 2-19, I ditched the Hills food (which Ive learned is "crap" and I've nicknamed it Kills)- put Henry on FF classic, and Friskies low carb, and began to see BIG changes...

    His numbers eventually began to show yellows, then blues, then greens! His fur became shiny and dander-free, he lost the extra weight, and began acting like a much younger cat!

    Henry and I are blessed to have a change in diet make the difference between insulin dependent, and insulin free!

    Our last shot was on Feb 19 (except for a "panic" shot I gave him on Feb 23- in error)- whoops- I didnt check woth the board first--

    His average BG since testing is 106, and hes been non-diabetic for 2 weeks-

    I found a new vet who is on board with home testing immediatley, and supports the wonderful people on this board. I shudder to think of Henry's fate if I had not QUESTIONED AUTHORITY! My old vets plan would have probably killed my cat-

    I LOVE THESE PEOPLE AT FDMB!
     
  34. janettavigil

    janettavigil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    My Rusty is 10 years old. was diagnosed with diabetes on 09/24/2012 with DKA. Afrer 2 days with IV at the vet was put on ProZink 1U, after a week on 2U after another week on 3U. Was switched to canned food recommended by this forum right away, that is FF Classic. Stayed on 2-3U for a while with pretty high BG 300-500. In the last three month Rusty started to have 4-5 days periods of lower BG that allowed us to start reducing his insulin dosage. Right before the beginning of his no need of insulin days ( i am still afraid to call that remission) he was on 0,5-1,25U. During the last couple of months he had couple of no insulin days or almost no insulin few times followed by a higher days , so very gradually his need in insulin was dropping. Almost like rolling hills. Now it has been 8 days since 04/23/13 of normal BG and we are trying to make it to 14 days to get a clean bill of remission and stay this way forever.

    I greatly appreciate all the advice and help from people of this board. You have the deepest knowledge of the subject and always ready to help.

    Janetta and Rusty
     
  35. Meowluv

    Meowluv Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Ferdinand's remission story

    My Norwegian Forest Cat mix Ferdinand was diagnosed with diabetes the latter part of March this year, 2013. Ferdinand started out on what I now know is a high dose of PZI, 4 units in the am and 5 units in the pm. We put him on Science Diet M/D dry for diabetic cats, as he was a dry food addict. I began very slowly switching him over to wet food about 3 weeks after his diagnoses. His bg levels were all over the place. I now know he was just getting to many carbs even on a low carb dry food. It took almost a month to switch him totally over to the wet food. For a long time he still needed a little dry mixed in.
    As I began reading on the boards I realized that he was on to high of a dose. So gradually I reduced the dose while still checking his bg levels. At one point he was at .05 units! Toward the middle of June his bg levels were consistently down to around 120 or 140. A level at which my dh and I did not want to shoot. Within in at least a week his levels were consistently between 66-99!
    Today I celebrate the 4th of July with a cat that has not had an insulin injection in almost a month! He has lost a little weight (which he desperately needed to do) and is brighter eyed and more playful than I've seen him in years. He hasn't had an inappropriate pee pee accident in over a month as well. We are all so happy in this house about Ferdinand and thank God for answering our prayers and healing him.
     
  36. Simon'sMommy

    Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Congratulations Ferdinand! YAY for OTJ! No dancing kitties cause since the board change, I can't seem to access them, but still giving you a huge GREEN Smile! High five to you both!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  37. greenae

    greenae Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    15 yo Bubbles was diagnosed 09-04-13
    Started that evening on Compounded U-40 PZI, 2u every 12 hours. Her dose was lessened according to her PS BG's.
    Over a 2 week period she was transitioned from Friskies Indoor Cat Dry to Fancy Feast Medley, then started Fancy Feast Classic on 09-17-13.
    Her last shot was 10-04-13, and her average BG for the past 2 weeks has been 88, using the ReliOn Prime.
    We Are Doing the OTJ Dance!!
    Thank you All for the advice, support and encouragement!
    We could not, would not have done this without YOU!!!!!
    :mrgreen: :lol:
     

    Attached Files:

  38. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Hooray!
     
  39. greenae

    greenae Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Thank you, BJ. You really helped me so much. I am still keeping a close eye on her...so far, so good. :D
     
  40. Simon'sMommy

    Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    What a beautiful spread sheet Bubbles! Congrats to you both and may you continue to be "in the green" for the rest of your days! I can't wait to be here!!
     
  41. Simon'sMommy

    Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Simon's last shot was 11/20 in the morning. Day 14 of the OTJ trial today. He is no longer needing insulin at this time although his pre shot numbers seem to be over 100 and generally under 130, food brings him nice and low - between 70 and 100 generally. I am not shooting him unless he consistently shows numbers over 150 and he has not had one of those since 11/20 in the morning. I am considering him to be in (that word) at this time! We are very excited and cautiously optimistic!

    Diagnosed 5/9/13
    ProZinc only
    custom dosed based on numbers
    FF classics since day two of diagnosis
     
  42. Simon'sMommy

    Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Still no insulin and last shot was 11/20. Simon is indeed in remission! :mrgreen:
     
  43. BrodyCat

    BrodyCat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    I am not a regular poster on this board or FDMB, but I do follow them. Brody had a fructosamine test today as he has not had insulin for 4 weeks. His test results came back and he was right in the middle of the "normal" range :D I did not home test as regularly as many of you do, but I did do regular curves and would do spot checks. All of Brody's numbers the past 4 weeks had been between 90-110. When diagnosed he was over 400 and getting 4.5 units twice a day of ProZinc. It took me about 5 months to decide to listen to the FDMB folks and switched to all canned food and got my own meter. Because Brody had a bladder stone removed the year before his diabetes diagnosis, he has to be on a low phosphorous diet as well as low carb. He eats Wellness Turkey and gets freeze dried turkey or chicken as a treat. Over the past 18 months he went from 4.5 units to 4, then 3.5. then 2 (complete switch to wet food), 1, then .5 unit, and now 0.

    Last May he accidentally got two doses one night and got sick and was in the 40 range (thank God I had a meter). No other signs of hypo at all, he just got sick. On .5 units I was getting readings in the 70s and 60s with preshot numbers in the 110-120 range. He got sick a few times and every time he got sick, he was below 70. So I think that was his way of saying, "I'm good in the 90-110 range".

    Thank you to all of you the do post on FDMB and share so much information with others. My vet seemed quite shocked this morning when I showed her Brody's numbers and she saw his fructosamine results. I don't think they have very many clients who have gone OTJ. I always respected their advice, but in the end, I did what I felt was best for my cat. And it worked, thanks to all of you.
    :RAHCAT
     
  44. Simon'sMommy

    Simon'sMommy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Congrats to Brody Cat and Momma Bean! My cat runs a little higher most of the time too. Some cats do not like the lower numbers. Congrats to you both on remission!
     
  45. Sandy&Tommy

    Sandy&Tommy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    1. Date of Diagnosis 10/11/13
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.) ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food 10/13/13
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it N/A
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then 10/31/14 Avg BG is in the mid 80's to the low 100's.

    Tommy's story.
    I had been noticing that Tommy was going to the litter box more often and when I cleaned the litterbox there were huge amounts of wet litter. Tommy has been prone to bladder crystals so I didn't connect right away. I know about diabetes in us beans and on the 11th of October I decided it was time for a vet check. She confirmed my fears that Tommy indeed had diabetes. Diabetes in of itself doesn't scare me as my daughter has had diabetes most of her life. (She is now 35.) I told the vet that I had no problem with giving him insulin, and as most vets do, she sent me home with a bag of D/M dry food, syringes and a bottle of ProZinc. I had the next day off of work and I started researching feline diabetes. I found this site, read and read and read. laptop_smiley I registered and began the journey with Tommy to reach the Falls. Later that day we went to Walmart and bought what was needed to start hometesting and feeding all lc food. So to be sure he wasn't getting dry kitty kibble from his brothers, they all went on lc food together. I watched the videos and asked a lot of questions. He slowly became more controlled on less and less insulin. A couple of times he went a couple of days w/o insulin but would jump right back into the dance. It has been a long year struggling with Tommy's numbers. In reading the other posts I see that most of your fur babies went into remission quite early in your journey. At one time I really believed that Tommy would always need insulin and actually came to terms with it. He was happy, had the normal 5 p's, had a full shiney coat, and teased his brothers all the time. ohmygod_smile Two weeks ago his numbers were too low to shoot, then day by day the numbers stayed too low to shoot. Tommy has the ability to find any dropped dog kibble his sister leaves, and happily tears into any bag of bread that my dh fails to put away. The one time these past two weeks that he found some contrband food he quickly went back to no insulin after a tiny boost to get rid of those "nasty" carbs.

    The main thing I want to say is that Tommy would not be where he is today without all the love, advice and encouragement of my primary advice givers here in ProZincland. THANK YOU!! You are incredibly caring and amazing people!!!!! Secondly, NEVER give up hope!! Whether your sugar dude is quick to the Falls, or lags behind like Tommy did, just keep doing all the right things and your journey will most likely take you to the Falls! party_cat
     
  46. NadjaAndSam

    NadjaAndSam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    1- Date of diagnosis 02/12/2012
    2 Prozinc
    3- 02/12/2012
    4- N/A
    5- Date of last shot: Don't remember the specific date but it was towards the beginning of October/2014

    Although I only posted in this forum for few months after Sam was diagnosed with diabetes, I am thankful for the support I have received from this board. It was very informative!
    Sam now has hypothyroidism but at least the diabetes is gone!
     
  47. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    1. Date of Diagnosis

    Cass was dx'd Aug. 1, 2011

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)

    Prozinc

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food

    Gradual transition after dx. He wouldn't eat the wet at first.

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it

    Just Prozinc.

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then

    Jan. 11, 2015. (Feb. 1 was 3 1/2 years since dx.) He's been generally running in the mid to upper 80's. There were a couple higher on days he was constipated but he came right back down.
     
  48. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Hi, Terri. Just a few words about remission (Bat-Bat was in remission since 10.04.13 after 8 wks on Lantus - did so well that time.) We're still working hard to get to good BG #s this time, 10 days into treatment - and here's what I've just learned the HARD way:
    1. Never take remission for granted - even if your kitty's at a very good weight, is active and eating well.
    2. NEVER stop measuring water consumption every 24 hrs., no matter how healthy your DB kitty in remission appears to be!
    3. If you note water drinking that's above normal-cat levels, immediately ck. blood glucose.

    No doubt other members will have some other great caveats to add about the need for ongoing vigilance - please do, members!
    (For instance: I'd like to know how often I should have been spot-checking her BG while in remission ...)

    I am still kicking myself for believing Bat's diabetes was "cured" after her rapid success on Lantus. (What was I thinking???!!!) She seemed quite healthy ... until the moment she suddenly wasn't. Lesson learned. Ouch! (Especially the ouch for my poor kitty; my bad. My VERY bad.)

    My best to you and Bix! Hang in there. :) (Thank God for the wonderful folk on this Board!!! I'm so grateful for this community.)
     
  49. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Oops, sorry Terri & Lucy! I see Bix is someone else's sugar-kitty. :blackeye:
     
  50. Lauren M.

    Lauren M. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    I am thrilled to be able to comment on this thread!!! Colby is going on 3 weeks without insulin and his glucose has been consistent in the 40-50 range. He is a happy boy and we are one happy family to with now a non-diabetic kitty!!!
     
  51. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
     
  52. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    What does OTJ stand for?
     
  53. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Off the juice - off insulin, in remission
     
  54. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Thanks! I haven't gotten all the diabetic lingo down yet.
     
  55. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
     
  56. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    How long was Colby on insulin for and what was his dose? I have Bubba on a diet of 1 gram of carbs and I am so hoping for a remission. How often will you test Colby to know that he is still okay?
     
  57. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Bobbie, this isn't a thread that people respond on often. It's used by people who have had cats go into remission and is just a way to celebrate that.

    I'd suggest you start a new thread on the regular section with questions and we can help you get Bubba going. (Just refresh the ProZinc forum and then choose Post New Thread)

    We put together a protocol for ProZinc. It is in my signature in blue.
     
  58. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Thanks so much Sue. This is my first experience with a message board and I don't know how to navigate yet. I appreciate everyone's help. Thanks for the prozinc protocol link.
     
  59. sherrib

    sherrib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Can you explain to me what they all are? I just want to make sure I know myself.
    The way things are going, I might be posting here. I don't want to jinx myself but you are more then welcome to look at our SS
     
  60. ItsMeAngie

    ItsMeAngie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    1. Date of Diagnosis
    9/5/2015
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    9/5/2015
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    None
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    11/18/2015 Approx 90

    Woohoo!
     
  61. sherrib

    sherrib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Thank you . Do I have all that information in my siggy ( correct)
     
  62. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Looks good to me. Congratulations!
     
  63. sherrib

    sherrib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Thank you Sue!
     
  64. CindyR

    CindyR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Beau:
    1. Diagnosis Date: 1/7/16 (he was still a shelter resident until 1/10, so I had no control of his food)
    2. Insulin Type: Prozinc
    3. Date of food switch : switch to all wet food 1/10/16 , low carb wet 3% on 1/11/16, zero carb wet 1/22/16
    4. Beau has not received any other insulin type
    5. Last shot date 1/30/16
    Range of BG since : 73
    BG range 59-93
     
    Lauren M. likes this.
  65. Lauren M.

    Lauren M. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    That is fantastic news! And 18 days--wow, so fast. Sending lots of love to Beau and the family. Big hugs!!!
     
    CindyR likes this.
  66. Lauren M.

    Lauren M. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Hi! Just saw that you asked a question here--sorry for the late reply. Colby was on insulin for 6 weeks and was in remission for 7 months. He recently became diabetic again and we are treating him w/Prozinc in hopes that he will get better and into remission soon!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  67. Wulfwin

    Wulfwin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    1. 4/11/16 (insulin started 4/18/16)
    2. ProZinc
    3. 5/8/16
    4. No other insulin
    5. 5/14/16, average BG since around 50-55

    I suspect Rain's diabetes was steroid induced - she received a steroid injection 3 weeks prior to her diagnosis (only the 2nd shot she'd ever had). I was home testing her from the beginning as I have another sugar cat that went into remission thanks to guidance on this board back in 2010. Rain was free fed Royal Canin Hydrolyzed Protein dry food up until 5/8 due to food allergies and inability to get her to eat any wet food (had never voluntarily eaten any wet food; she historically had had a lot of issues with food pickiness, vomiting etc.). On 5/6 she stopped eating after a new bag was opened and vomited. She was diagnosed with pancreatitis on 5/7 and was treated (had Cerenia and Mirtazapine on 5/6, received extended release Buprenorphrine on 5/7). She all of a sudden started eating my other cat's low carb Fancy Feast meal on 5/8 and has continue to eat it since. Her BG dropped 100-200+ points just from the diet change, and her insulin requirements dropped dramatically as well (from 0.5 unit BID, to 0.1, then to just a drop), until she went off insulin completely a week later. I believe that diagnosing and treating her underlying chronic pancreatitis (first with the Cerenia and Bupe, now with maintenance Cerenia), diet change to LC wet food (enabled by treating the pancreatitis), and the short course of insulin were all factors in her being able to go into remission (and home testing got us there safely!).
     
    Sarah Smith likes this.
  68. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Baco
    1. 4/6/2016
    2. ProZinc
    3. 4/11/2016 All raw diet
    4. No
    5. 5/31/2016 - Her average of the last 14 days was 96 mg/dl (between 52 and 97 most of the times)

    So happy Baco is OTJ:):):bighug:
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  69. Melanie and Smokey

    Melanie and Smokey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Percy

    1. 6/9/16 (diagnosed at shelter before that, this was b/w on rescue intake)
    2. Prozinc
    3. 6/9 (unsure what shelter was feeding from time of diagnosis to release)
    4. No (Percy is the only cat I have not used Lantus with)
    5. 7/1/16 Unsure of average, range is 72 to 180 (couple high numbers on stressful days) usually in the low 100s

    Percy was probably taken off a little more abruptly than I would normally, but he was going back to clinic for surgery and ended up staying there for a month where a shot schedule is not easily kept.

    Percy's SS
     
  70. Bandit

    Bandit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
  71. TempestsMum

    TempestsMum Guest

    1. Date of Diagnosis 4th August 2016
    Started insulin on the 8th

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    ProZinc

    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    4th August 2016 - she was getting wet food prior to the switch so removed the dry and bought low carb wet

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    No

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    28th August 2016 average bg is around 7.0 & 5.0 but coming down still.
     
  72. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  73. Fluffy Face

    Fluffy Face Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    1. Diagnosed 7/16/16
    2. ProZinc
    3. Immediately. Started with Fancy Feast Classic Poultry Variety, switched to Dave's 95% Premium beginning of September.
    4. No other insulin.
    5. Last shot on 10/3, readings in mid-100's since.

    Received fructosamine level results yesterday, vet said she is no longer diabetic. :) :otj:
     
    TempestsMum, AJHJ, Sharon14 and 2 others like this.
  74. AJHJ

    AJHJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Thanks to the great advice and support from people on this site, Bunny is OTJ!

    1. Date of Diagnosis: 8/12/16
    2. Started ProZinc on 8/13/16
    3. Switched to wet food immediately. He eats Fancy Feast pates and chunky chicken. I tried some more expensive brands but he didn't like them as much.
    4. No other insulin
    5. Date of last shot: 10/1/16; averaging 70 since then
     
  75. Heidibrandenburg

    Heidibrandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    1. Date if diagnosis- 8/1/2016
    2. Started prozinc-8/12/2016
    3. Never switched to wet food. Manny eats 100% dry. He will not transition to wet. 75% solid gold indigo moon (17% carb) and 25% young again mature 0 carb.
    4. used Novilin N for 2 weeks. no success on it.
    5. last shot was on 10/30/16. That was approx .3 of a unit. He had been taking portions of a unit approx every 7 days for the past month. averaging about 115 for the last 6 days. prior 2 weeks average was around 135. Hoping we can stay off the juice!
     
  76. SweetAngel

    SweetAngel Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    12/12/16. Tested him today and he was 92 (on alphatrak)

    If I had not know about this board he would probably never have gone into remission the first time, thank you so much from Angel and me x
     
    sherrib likes this.
  77. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Lovely! Congrats to you both.
     
    SweetAngel likes this.
  78. Jennifer & Splunk

    Jennifer & Splunk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Splunk and I just wanted to pass along our thanks to all the wonderful, wonderful people here, without whom we would certainly not be OTJ as we are now!!! We really, really appreciate all the help and support from everyone. We got a lot of really terrific advice, and my boy is SO much healthier and happier than he was when we first visited this site.

    1. Date of Diagnosis: 28 March 2017, first shot 30 March 2017
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: weaning off dry from day one, fully off on 27 April, note the BIG difference on the SS as soon as this happened
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: ProZinc only
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 07 May 2017, avg BGL since is approx. 6.8 (122)

    Although we've had some trouble with herpes in the last week or so, Splunk is generally much better. His body tremors have resolved, he's not nauseated all the time, he's eating well, peeing normally, and, with some exceptional days, is back to his usual energetic self.

    THANK YOU EVERYONE!!
     
  79. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Beautiful! And what a short time on insulin! And Congrats.:cat:
     
    Jennifer & Splunk likes this.
  80. sherrib

    sherrib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    ❤❤
    First time skittles went into remission he was DX in October and in for remission by the end of December using PZI
     
  81. sherrib

    sherrib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Any idea of why he fell out of remission, mine is also out of remission right now because he has an infected tooth. Right now I cannot afford to get the tooth pulled but while he was on the Antibiotic in the infection is under control he didn't need any insulin but now the medicine is gone and he needs his insulin again. It is very common for anything dealing with teeth issues for the glucose levels to be high.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2017
  82. kimandmidnight

    kimandmidnight New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Dx 6/9/2017 BG 400
    ProZinc: 2 units, every 12 hours
    6/21/2017 am BG was 54
    Hasn't has any insulin since.
    BG is averaging 107.
    Testing BG daily am and pm.
    Vet said if he has a reading above 150 to give 1 unit then call her for next steps.
    Changed diet cold turkey from dry blue buffalo wilderness weight control to friskies pate and FF classic evening of 6/9. Midnight took to the canned food immediately. We also changed his treats to freeze dried chicken. We're hopeful we may be in the beginning stages of remission. He's playful again and back to fully grooming himself. It's like he's 10 years younger. His appetite, water intake and urine output has leveled off too. He still drinks a lot but he's not urinating as much or as often.
     
    Michelle and Schatzie likes this.
  83. ShipsCat

    ShipsCat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    I can't believe I'm actually typing this! Hermione has been so bouncy I never thought I'd get her regulated - I never dreamed she might go OTJ :cat: Even if it may not last I'm excited for her! We couldn't have done it without the help & support from everyone here :D

    1. Date of Diagnosis: 08/23/2016
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: She still gets Young Again Zero Carb to graze on, but she started wet food 2x daily with her shots right after diagnosis. Changed from Nature's Variety Instinct dry to YA 09/01/2016, changed from canned (FF & Sheba) to Primal Freeze Dried Raw 12/26/2016
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: Only ProZinc
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: 6/16/2017 Average BG 119, but had a few spikes in the 150s. She's typically been 100-110. I use an AlphaTrak 2 meter, so numbers are a touch higher.
     
    TempestsMum and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  84. Caitlin M

    Caitlin M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Hi everyone! I am super excited to announce that we have reached remission (obviously)!!!!

    1. DX on February 13, 2017
    2. Always been on ProZinc
    3. Was always fed 1 can of wet food at night, but began an all-wet food diet on 2/13/2017
    4. No other insulin than ProZinc
    5. I waited an extra week to announce because Pita was given .1 units on 2 consecutive mornings only, 2 weeks ago. When I do NOT count those two mornings, he's been off insulin for 3 weeks now. But, I wanted to make 100% and started over after that second .1 unit was given. Last shot at .1 was on 8/2/2017, otherwise if you don't count that, it was on 7/26/2017!

    I am beyond grateful to so many members I can't even count. It's been a long journey and I still actually feel like a newbie. I kept my head up, tested like crazy, fed only wet food, added YA Zero (testing treats) and just followed his lead. There were lots of frustrating and hopeless feeing moments when testing wasn't going well or he kept going higher again, but I honestly can't believe it's been 6 months! It flew by.
    I do need to say that while ecstatic, I am also TERRIFIED of what happens when I move across the country in 27 days. I know he will obviously go higher but I am hoping, wishing, praying that he can settle back down and stick with this remission for as long as possible. I will post more before the move because I already have a million questions about what to do next!
    However, for the next 27 days here, we will party and be grateful for finding this amazing site. SO MUCH LOVE!

    ~Caitlin & Pita (and civvie Brat)
     
    ShipsCat, Amanda Weaver, Case and 4 others like this.
  85. Mizuniful

    Mizuniful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    So happy to finally be able to post on here!

    1. Date of Diagnosis
    - February 2017
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.)
    - ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    - Fed free choice Hill's WD/MD + 2 tbps canned before shots. Switched to Fancy Feast pate 5/2/17, and Dr. Elsey's dry on 5/10/17. Finally YoungAgain dry on 6/28 and saw the biggest difference, even without canned.
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it
    - No other insulins.
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then
    - 9/8/2017. Readings have progressively gotten lower, usually ~60.
     
  86. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Congratulations!! :smuggrin:
     
  87. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    [​IMG] :otj::otj::otj:
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  88. Bryan & Sarah

    Bryan & Sarah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    1. 9/11/2017
    2. ProZinc. Started at 2u twice per day; decreased to 1u, then to .5u, finally to .25u.
    3. We switched to Fancy Feast Classic Pate immediately based on information I learned from this site.
    4. None.
    5. Last shot was .25u on 10/22/2017. Average AM BG 94.64; average PM BG 97.21.

    We will continue to monitor maybe once a week for a bit, but we are pretty happy for JD! Off the juice!
     
  89. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Woohoo!!! Congratulations, JD (and Bryan & Sarah)!
     
    Bryan & Sarah likes this.
  90. ZulusMom (GA)

    ZulusMom (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    1. Date of Diagnosis: August 30, 2017
    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc.): ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food: September 27, 2017
    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it: N/A
    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then: October 29, 2017, ~122 (hoping for a little lower after his dental but I can live with that)
     
    Bryan & Sarah likes this.
  91. Bryan & Sarah

    Bryan & Sarah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Congratulations! Great news! It is amazing what a change in diet can do.
     
  92. Nonny's Mom

    Nonny's Mom New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Hi I am new and posted this in another forum where I then read that thread doesn't get much traffic. Hopefully this is the right place. Here is the post:

    Can someone offer any advice?

    I think my little Nonny who was only diagnosed a month ago is going into remission. Her clinical signs are amazing (she has gained weight and looks great, she had neuropathy on both feet and that has disappeared, she is eating, peeing, drinking normally and has her catitude back. She and she fell within what would be considered tight regulation in the past week. I home test and she is on Prozinc- started on 2 units x 2 and recently went down to 1 unit x 2. Here's what they look like: The numbers you see posted are pre-meal numbers except where indicated - paying particular attention to tonight's number. She is 10 and was raised on kibble until 2 years ago but I put her back on kibble because of the mess and my lifestyle. A year later, she was diabetic. She is now being fed Purina Veterinary DM but will be transitioned to Fancy Feast at some point. --- I am a bit concerned about how low her numbers are tonight with no insulin and after a meal. Any advice? --- by the way this is my first time posting. Hi everyone!

    Nov 14 9:15 am 9.3
    2:30 pm 3.1 (gave 1/5 can to prevent hypo)
    9:00 pm 9.9

    Nov 15 9:00 am 8.1
    2:30 pm 3.5 (gave 1/5 can to prevent hypo)
    9:18 pm 10.1

    Nov 16 9:25 am 7.6 insulin witheld
    10:41 am 7 I unit given (a reduction from 2 units on advice of the vet)
    1:30 pm 3.6
    9:30 pm 8.6

    Nov 17 9:20 am 7.3
    9:45 on 7.7

    Nov 18 today 9:15 am 9.7
    2:30 am 3.3
    9:20 pm 5.8 ......... Insulin Withheld - meal given
    10:50 pm 4.1 ........ she had a meal an hour before, received no inulin and her number is lower than before she ate.

    I am using an Alphatrak 2 monitor. Has anyone ever seen this happen? I am thinking she may be going into remission but that is an awfully low post meal reading for a newly diagnosed cat and has me a bit nervous.
     
  93. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
  94. Deborah W.

    Deborah W. New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Rocky was diagnosed on June 1, 2018. His BG at the vets was 467. Started on Pro-zinc 2 units twice a day. Changed food to Fresh Pet around July 5. Numbers were not coming down and we increased insulin to 3 units twice daily. Started on Fancy Feast Classic Chicken 7/11 and numbers started to drop immediately. Had one set back when we took him to the vet to update his injections and it took 4 days to get his BG levels to respond again. Increased insulin to 3.5 twice daily on July 16. His BG started dropping steadily. We are now on day two with no insulin and his numbers are in the 100 - 130 range. I hope this means he is going into remission. Thank you forum members for all your advice and thank you Fancy Feast. If you do not have a spreadsheet started and are not testing your kitties blood at home I urge you to do so.
     
    Esi and ZulusMom (GA) like this.
  95. Magic Johnson

    Magic Johnson Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    1. Date of Diagnosis - 2/28/2018

    2. Specific PZI (ProZinc, Idexx, BCP, compounded, etc)
    ProZinc
    3. When did you switch from dry to wet food
    Had been feeding wet food for a year prior was a special food for UTI,’s prescriptive Royal Canin UTO

    4. If you used any other insulin besides the PZI, which one and how long were you on it - NOT APPLICABLE

    5. Date of last shot and average BG since then - 3/18/2018
    AVERAGE BG depends on the food AND what monitor you are using - I’m using AlphaTrak - I’m gauging only from the last 12 tests = 100
     
  96. fatcat

    fatcat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    My fat cat was diagnosed June 20, 2018 and was on ProZinc. On Aug. 25, I changed his diet to all canned food - Fancy Feast chicken feast pate. He hasn't had BG above 10.5, or 190, since Sept. 9, 2018. The last time he had insulin was Sept. 8. I just tested him an hour after he ate, and he was at 5. So two weeks after going on all wet food, he no longer needed insulin. I want to thank people on this forum for helping me when I started doing home testing. You helped calm me down and answer my questions. I am so pleased my boy doesn't need insulin anymore. He is playing more -- he even caught a couple of mice -- one outside and one inside our travel trailer. His coat is shiny and soft, he pees WAY less, he is putting weight on and sleeps less. I hope he continues this way. I will never again feed him dry food. I wish all of you the best, and thanks again.
     
    JOJI and Kit and Magic Johnson like this.
  97. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    @fatcat Congratulations! Nice job getting Tige into remission. Keep checking his BG periodically just to make sure he stays in remission! May his remission be long and strong! :otj::joyful:
     
  98. fatcat

    fatcat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Yes, I hope so. I am checking his BG and watching his pee. I hope your kitty is doing well!
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  99. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    @fatcat My kitty is doing wonderfully having just gone in to remission a month ago after 3+ years of the sugar dance. Thank you for asking. May we both enjoy a long time at the "falls" (forum speak for remission!)
     
  100. Magic Johnson

    Magic Johnson Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Congratulations!!! :)
     
    GeorgiasGem likes this.

Share This Page