Remission help

Buddyboy14

Member
My cat Buddy has been on Lantus 5 months or so. He dropped down to .5 unit the last couple weeks. However he had a nadir of 65 yesterday and I’m worried about him having a hypo event. My vet thinks he may be going into remission and advised to do .5 unit once a day in the morning. However, I’ve read here that it’s better to do .25 unit twice a day? If so, how would I measure that? How long would I do .25 unit before stopping altogether?
 
65 on AT3 is low enough to warrant a decrease in dose, regardless of the dosing methods we follow here, so if your current dose is 0.5u, I’d suggest you reduce to 0.25u. Without seeing how his numbers are trending via a SS, and where that 65 was in relation to the cycle, it’s hard to say anything more.

Here is a picture of 0.25u, between 0.5u and the 0 line. I’d draw up a little more than 0.5u and gently squeeze out a few drops until you get under the 0.5 line.

upload_2025-2-7_18-42-4.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-7_18-42-4.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-7_18-42-4.jpeg
    8.8 KB · Views: 30
Here is the sticky with the dosing methods we follow here:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

With SLGS, a drop below 90 earns a reduction. With TR, a drop below 68 on a pet meter earns a reduction in dose. More on reductions and starting OTJ (Off The Juice) trials here:

Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

If you need help setting up a spreadsheet, I can very quickly set one up for you. We can help you with dosing, but we would need to see data to do that. :-)
 
Back
Top