Requesting Review of Charlie's Data

Karen & Charlie

Member Since 2020
Day 3 of transition to Lantus. Can I please get an assessment?

Things of note:
Day 1 -- I accidentally shot 2.0u AM & PM (instead of 1.5u)
Day 2 -- I had to be away from home and could get no tests between +6 and PMPS. This will be a rare occurrence, as I work from home.
Day 3 -- Just a bit of a fur shot...felt only the tiniest bit wet.
There's absolutely no chance he's eaten contraband.
I've not tested for ketones.

Advice? Observations?

Also, Charlie lost a lot of weight before diagnosis. He was 9.9 lbs the end of July. When & how do I start working to get his weight up. He is given as much LC food as he wants.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
According to TR you hold the initial dose for 5-7 days. Let the depot build. Sometimes people increase after three days though. I would test for ketones. Very important. Has he ever had ketones? If so I would consider an increase tomorrow if still high. See what others think. .
 
According to TR you hold the initial dose for 5-7 days. Let the depot build. Sometimes people increase after three days though. I would test for ketones. Very important. Has he ever had ketones? If so I would consider an increase tomorrow if still high.

At diagnosis, he tested neg for ketones. I haven't done any reading yet on how to test. It must not be too hard if everyone does it. But...any tips?

Thanks!
 
It’s a glucose strip you dip in the urine. Have you bought any? I’m glad he didn’t have at diagnosis.
 
Tips to catch and test a urine sample

It is as important to get night time tests as daytime tests. Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. Those before bed tests will really help fill in the picture. And two tests per cycle are part of TR. Don't let a number above 500 for preshot fool you, some cats like to really dive from on high.

You might want to look for higher calorie, but still low carb food. Something like kitten food might help. Katie listed some higher calorie low carb foods in Olive's thread today.
 
Tips to catch and test a urine sample

It is as important to get night time tests as daytime tests. Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. Those before bed tests will really help fill in the picture. And two tests per cycle are part of TR. Don't let a number above 500 for preshot fool you, some cats like to really dive from on high.

You might want to look for higher calorie, but still low carb food. Something like kitten food might help. Katie listed some higher calorie low carb foods in Olive's thread today.

Thanks for the urine sample link.
He does go low over night; his AMPS has been consistently in 300. So no concern that he starts AM 300 and goes up to 500, even after insulin? That didn't seem to happen as drastically on Day 1 when I accidentally shot 2.0u
Do I understand that I only need do 2 tests between each 12 hr cycle pre-shot test?
Thanks, too, for the food info. He's so thin!
 
Last edited:
In the early days of Lantus, if you have the time, more tests are better. You want to learn his onset and nadir, so you can know when to be more strategic about testing.
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Once you have a better idea of the above, and how he responds to carbs, then you'll have a better idea of when you need to test, and when you can back off the testing.

So no concern that he starts AM 300 and goes up to 500, even after insulin?
That's an indication that he's bouncing. If his +2 or +3 is quite a bit higher than the preshot test, that's one of those times you can put away the test kit until the next preshot test.
 
In the early days of Lantus, if you have the time, more tests are better. You want to learn his onset and nadir, so you can know when to be more strategic about testing.
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Once you have a better idea of the above, and how he responds to carbs, then you'll have a better idea of when you need to test, and when you can back off the testing.


That's an indication that he's bouncing. If his +2 or +3 is quite a bit higher than the preshot test, that's one of those times you can put away the test kit until the next preshot test.


Thank, Wendy!
 
Back
Top