Safe to shoot?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Elise Marie, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. Elise Marie

    Elise Marie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    My cat has a preshot number of 230 on Alphatrak. Usually it is higher. I don’t have a curve yet for her. She gets 2 units of ProZinc. Just want to know if it is still safe to give insulin. She is recently diagnosed and recently went back on ProZinc at this dose a few weeks ago. Thanks for feedback.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Juls and Billy

    Juls and Billy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2019
    Without having more data on how your cat responds to insulin, there's no way for us to answer this question. No one wants to accidentally give you bad advice simply because we don't have enough info to help. When in doubt, skipping a shot is always an option, though that has it's own dangers, ketones being the chief concern. In order to be able to get good safe advice, tailored to your cat, do think about setting up a signature and spreadsheet. It's very easy. There are instructions here: New? How you can help us help you!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  3. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    What Juls said.

    Your vet wouldn't diagnosis your cat without some background information. We need that background information also. So when you get your signature and a spreadsheet set up, please ask for help again.

    It will take you about 5 minutes to do that setup.
     

Share This Page