Sailor’s Low Numbers

JulzSTL

Member Since 2020
For a week now Sailor’s numbers have been pretty low. We are using Lantus. He’s been between 88-200 for the past week. His dose for the past seven days has been 0.5 units. I’ve not given him insulin a few times because he either didn’t eat, or he was low and I wouldn’t be home to keep an eye on him. I’m just really scared to shoot and throw him into hypo, especially if I won’t be home.
I plan to do another curve over my long weekend. He was diagnosed almost a month ago and I’m still really inexperienced. I’d appreciate some feedback. Thank you!
 
@tiffmaxee @carfurby @Sue and Luci @Wendy&Neko

Any input from you lovely people would be grand! Already mentioned in another thread that a lower dose both cycles would benefit Sailor vs skipping and giving 0.5u.

Julia since you mentioned it in the other thread, there is no syringe that has lines for giving doses smaller than 0.5u, you have to eyeball it. Some use reading glasses, head lamps, calipers, anything to give small doses. Kitties will get a strong remission by tapering down to 0.25u, 0.10u, one drop, then nothing. I know you're afraid of hypos but 0.50 is probably too much right now, a smaller dose will be good and no one here will let Sailor be in danger. :)
 
I need to read the condos but Sailor seems to be in normal numbers pretty much. Yes you need to be consistent and give insulin each cycle no matter how little. I’ll be back after I read your condos.

Ok. Welcome to LLB. I’ve quickly scanned your condo. It looks like you are trying to get off dry food and making progress. Is that correct?
 
Last edited:
I need to read the condos but Sailor seems to be in normal numbers pretty much. Yes you need to be consistent and give insulin each cycle no matter how little. I’ll be back after I read your condos.

Ok. Welcome to LLB. I’ve quickly scanned your condo. It looks like you are trying to get off dry food and making progress. Is that correct?
I feed FF pate or Friskies pate 2x a day, sometimes more on weekends. I also leave a bowl of Dr. Elsey’s dry food out for them to snack on. Early on he was having big spikes and I realized that he was eating the dog’s kibble. So now the dog can no longer graze and is also fed 2x a day.
 
It seems the diet change has helped a lot. Being able to shoot every cycle will help as well. You are getting a good response. How much does Sailor weigh now and what’s the ideal weight?
 
He’s about 16 lbs I think? The vet thought he was at a good weight now. He’s probably lost 8-10 lbs or so since late April when his companion cat died. He was definitely obese. His weight has stabilized and he’s no longer losing weight. At first I thought the weight loss was because his best buddy died. His companion was quite elderly (19) and all three cats had been eating kibble formulated for senior cats. Sailor is a big boned, strong boy. I’ll try to shoot at a very small dose and hope his BG numbers stay low. I appreciate your thoughts.
 
It is better if you can find a way to shoot insulin every morning and evening. If you are able to get a before going to sleep test each night that will help us see if he is going lower at night and if he needs a dose reduction.
 
Is there a no-shoot number recommended for Sailor? I see he got 0.25u with a AMPS of 99 today. Please get a +2 to make sure he doesn't drop too much today!
 
Back
Top