Sebastian AMPS:101,+8 105,PMPS 119

Yukimoro17

Member Since 2021
He still a little low energy and he does not want to eat as much as before. would that have something to do with being low? hes never been a low eater. i feed him twice a day now and a little snack when i take his midday numbers. i reduced his dose but im not sure how fast i should reduce it? every 2-3 days is what i think i should do?
I also have started feeding him Fancy Feast. He decided he did not like Friskies anymore :D
no gonna lie. i'm scared of getting low numbers. especially when he does not eat a lot. maybe half a can and that's watered down too. thank you for the advice last time too. it really helped me out.
 
Here's the link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-amps-115-6-57-7-77-8-91.253007/

When cats are in high numbers, they are not able to get as much nutrition from their food, so they are hungrier. In nicer numbers, his appetite should be returning closer to what is was before he was diabetic. Do you have an idea how many calories per day he is getting? We find that multiple small meals are easier on a cat's healing pancreas. Maybe a snack at night before you go to bed too?

If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you reduce Sebastian's dose by 0.25 units whenever you see him go below 90.
 
Here's the link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-amps-115-6-57-7-77-8-91.253007/

When cats are in high numbers, they are not able to get as much nutrition from their food, so they are hungrier. In nicer numbers, his appetite should be returning closer to what is was before he was diabetic. Do you have an idea how many calories per day he is getting? We find that multiple small meals are easier on a cat's healing pancreas. Maybe a snack at night before you go to bed too?

If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you reduce Sebastian's dose by 0.25 units whenever you see him go below 90.
If my calculations are correct hes somewhat getting 257 calories. and yes. my plan is to go slow. i have been reducing his dose by 0.25 units.he hit 83 at PMPS +4. gave him half of a fancy feast and he at it all. tested at +5 and he was at 99. so tomorrow his dose will be 2, because of his PMPS after his second dose. I think im going to try to do a curve. i've never done it but hes never had this low numbers, i hope he does not hate him :nailbiting: thank you fro the help :)
 
Back
Top