? shoot or no shoot under 150

teresazu

Member Since 2020
PMPS 142
was on the upswing and went back down, surprisingly, usually after nadir continues to go upward.

shoot a reduced dose? or wait and retest?
 
Are you able and willing to test tonight as long as it might be necessary? Do you have plenty of supplies like HC food, test strips, etc?
 
139 now. she drops with more than 2 hours no food. she probably won't pick up unless I feed her, but I'll wait...?
 
@teresazu Would you answer the questions I asked above? It makes a difference on the advice we'd give

Shooting those low numbers is the best way for Lantus to work but if you can't or won't test and/or don't have plenty of supplies it can also be dangerous
 
not sure if Chris means wait multiple times of 20, which is yes, or shoot and handle a hypo, which is not what I would prefer,but I def won't skip because that messes things up
 
But are you able to test as much as necessary tonight? You haven't been doing much testing on the PM cycle so it's hard to know what's going on then.

Shooting those lower numbers is a gift, but if you can't test as long as necessary (and that could be all night) it makes a difference in the advice we'd give
 
124, why is she still dropping with worn off insulin?

like I said she'll keep dropping without food, it's always that way. I'd like to sometime create a post just on that, in the proper category, I didn't not find one yet, probably not appropriate under this topic tho
 
124, why is she still dropping with worn off insulin?

Lantus is a depot insulin....each shot builds on the last one. It's not like the "in and out" insulin's that once the current shot wears off, that's it. That's why Lantus works as well as it does by "carrying over" from one cycle to the next.

But you're also right that if you stall too long, she may continue to drop because she hasn't been fed.

You still haven't answered the one question we need you to answer. Are you willing to stay up as long as necessary testing tonight? Even if that might mean all night?
 
You are right, she's dropping because she hasn't eaten anything and because she's breaking a bounce, which results in later nadirs. Cycles after a bounce is broken can be rather active. So the questions Chris asked about your ability to monitor tonight are important factors in what we suggest you do.
 
I can monitor, I prefer to shoot a reduced dose. so I'm not sure if it means shoot full dose and monitor, or all night monitor after any dose
 
Back
Top