Should i give her shot ?

Lynda & Marnie

Member Since 2021
Is anybody here for dosing advice please, Marnies PMPS is 6.5 should I give her shot ?
A few night ago she was 6.7 so I didnt give her shot and it went up to 17.1 four hours later
I am using solostar pen so cannot give .5 doses
 
Is anybody here for dosing advice please, Marnies PMPS is 6.5 should I give her shot ?
A few night ago she was 6.7 so I didnt give her shot and it went up to 17.1 four hours later
I am using solostar pen so cannot give .5 doses
If you’re going to be around to monitor, I would suggest that you give the dose and then keep an eye to make sure Marnie‘s not going too low. Maybe someone with more expertise will jump in with advice?
 
Thankyou, thats what I was thinking as I kind of regretted not giving it a few nights ago
I will be around to monitor tonight
I have fed her as I thought if I didnt she will get stressed and give a high reading anyway as she was pestering for food
I will check her again before the shot
 
Thankyou, thats what I was thinking as I kind of regretted not giving it a few nights ago
I will be around to monitor tonight
I have fed her as I thought if I didnt she will get stressed and give a high reading anyway as she was pestering for food
I will check her again before the shot
Good— if you’re around that’s what I would do. I recall skipping a shot on occasion and always regretted it. And I always feed Walter before giving him a shot.
 
Just tested again 1 hour after the 6.5 reading , it is now 10.5 , I will give her shot and still monitor through the night. Thanks so much for your help
 
Hi Lynda, with a history of ketones, it is better not to skip a shot. Next time you encounter a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, stall without food and test after 20 mins to see if her numbers are on the rise.

I don't know if you've had the opportunity to read through the dosing protocols we follow here?
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you can pick one that works for you, we can advice you accordingly.

You might want to look at getting syringes since it's possible that 1U is too much insulin for Marnie. With syringes you can dose in fractions and can reduce her dose to 0.75U.
You can buy the syringes online in Australia at:
https://www.medicalaestheticsuppliesaustralia.com.au/products/bd-syr-0-3ml-29g-x-13mm-bx-100

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/please-help.251617/


 
Sharing the posting guidelines for the forum when you have the time to give them a read:
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

We are particular about them because it makes it easier for us to identify posts that need immediate attention.

We request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot with a low preshot like you were today! :-)

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>
Use the the '?' prefix in the thread title if you have a question, so people know that it's not just an update.

For e.g.
"? 8/30 - Marnie - PMPS 117 - Do I give her shot?"

We also ask that you link your previous post to the current post - just paste the URL of your previous post in the body of your current post saying "Previous Post".
 
Back
Top