Sidney's mom. Back from the Vet

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by SidneysMom, Dec 6, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SidneysMom

SidneysMom Member

Hi all, I posted this on the introduction thread, but here is some background. I also posted an update below.

I'm totally new to all of this, and I'm here because I'm feeling totally overwhelmed and anxious.
    A bit about me: My name is Jen, I'm a work-at-home romance author.
    My cat, Sidney, is 12 years old.
    He's a little over 12 lbs, and last Wednesday he started vomiting. Vomiting other than a hairball is unusual for Sid. He puked four times in twelve hours before I packed him up for the vet.
    He got an anti-nausea shot, take home sulcrafate, and blood work done.
    His bloodwork came back with a glucuse level of 20.3 (I'm in Canada). The vet phoned and said it was high, but he wanted to do a urine test in a week (giving time for the levels to lower) to see if it was related to stress from the vet visit. He said he'd not seen a level *that* high for stress, but he wanted to be thorough.
    I stopped the Sulcrafate on Monday at his direction, and we did the at home urine test with the special litter yesterday, and I delivered the sample.
    The sample had blood in it according to the vet, and had sugar evidence as well.
    Today, we take Sid back to the vet to get an antibiotic for the UTI and a fructosamine test, which supposedly determines once and for all if he is diabetic.
    None of this makes sense to me, quite honestly. Sid isn't really overweight. He does NOT drink a lot of water, barely anything, really. He pees about four times per day, maybe five tops.
    He eats every four hours in a 24 hour period- a half a can of fancy feast pate or chicken and cheese (I alternate). So he isn't really showing "typical" diabetes symptoms.