Snits 06/24 AMPS 162 +4 62 +5 99 +6 76 +7 73 +10 154 PMPS 117 +2 130 +3.75 83 +5 90 +6.5 163

Snits

Member
06/23 Snits https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ing-first-time-shooting-with-low-amps.291405/

Not a bad start, went ahead and gave her the full .50 dose. Since yesterday she's decided she hates being lanced - probably because I only get enough or any blood when I accidentally hit the vein. Her veins look blown out in the light. I think I just lanced her like 6 times. It wouldn't have been as many but she flinched away twice, and I didn't have the strip in all the way once. I'm hoping maybe a 28 gauge instead of the 30 I had will be better.

Yes, I've seen, "the sweet spot", warm her ear, change gauges. She's just ANNOYED which actually is probably testament to her feeling better - she's always put up with very little. I'm sleep deprived (I seriously don't know how you all fit in sleep!) and cranky, but she's happy ):.

Are you all generally successful the first poke? I feel like a failure, but the progress is worth it! Again, you've all been wonderful.


EDIT: 62 seems like a low +4. Does she need a decrease or am I supposed to hold it for 5-7 days before decreasing? By the guide it seems yes, but I didn't for her last two decreases, so unsure. She ate at +4.
 
Last edited:
Are you all generally successful the first poke? I feel like a failure, but the progress is worth it!
HAAAA - it took me and Cleo over 3 months to become somewhat OK with testing :blackeye:. You're doing great!

In my personal experience, for what its worth :rolleyes:, is that FD testing, shots, feeding, is now just part of our day. It goes along with all the other "stuff" that we have to do. For me that's work, house chores, family obligations, blah blah blah; and for Cleo its test-feed-shoot, groom, chase the imaginary ???? around the house, snack, groom, nap, test, snack, nap, nap some more, attack the couch, nap, test, and so on and so on. :p
 
Per SLGS, that's another decrease- congrats. Down to 0.25units tonight

WOW, she seems to be decreasing FAST. So her PMPS, I start her on .25? I'm watching her closely now, if she goes into hypo I have my karo and HC food. I also fed her a 5g carb snack after her +4 meal, so not particularly high but higher than I like for snacks.
 
Okay, the +3 was actually a +4 on my ss. Got it right in title, wrong on ss. Napping messed me up! the food seemed to work on bringing her up. Gave her another 5% treat though probably didn't need it, but it was already in my hand after her test and she had her eyes on the prize.
 
Congratulations on the reduction for Snits! You're both doing great! It's a hard learning curve and you are doing just great.
It takes time to get good at all this new stuff in your life.
But it's also great that Snits is responding well and you are able to test to keep her safe :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top