Hi,
FYI I also posted a reply on your other thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...my-kitty-is-in-remission.151921/#post-1593293
Please read it ASAP and definitely before giving Woody any more insulin.
-----
I know that you want to feed Woody and Buzz a food that's good for diabetics but first you need to sort out a low enough, safe dose to give Woody. You've proved this weekend without a shadow of doubt that the lower carb food really lowers their BG levels. However Woody's blood glucose levels have been getting very dangerously low every day, even on 3 units of Novolin. I would suggest the following:
1. Go back to feeding the higher carb food. Don't lose heart over any higher numbers over the short term because you know they will improve when you SAFELY get the food and dosing situation sorted out.
2. Ring your vet early today and agree a dose (something less than 3IU) and also a "NO SHOOT" number below which you must not give insulin. Also agree in advance that you will check in daily with the vet to discuss dosing as the controlled food transition progresses.
3. Run a full curve with the higher carb food and the lower dose to get a proper baseline.
4. In a very controlled, slow manner g-r-a-d-u-a-l-l-y start swapping over to the low carb food while monitoring and reducing the insulin dose as Woody's numbers improve, e.g.:
- Day 1 - Higher carb food, dose less than 3 units and full curve.
- Day 2 - For all meals, give a mix of 90% high carb and 10% low carb food. Test at both preshots and don't give insulin if the BG is below the NO SHOOT number you agree with your vet. Start testing at +2 to see where cycle is going. Always If low intervene with carbs. Test again at +3, +4 and then as necessary to keep Woody safe.
- Day 3 onwards - reduce high carb food by 10%, and increase low carb food by 10% (mix them together!). Monitor as above. If BG goes below 68 then the dose is too high now and should be reduced at the next cycle.
Keep switching mix of low and high carb foods by 10% each day. Monitor closely throughout the food transition to keep Woody safe. Reduce dose if numbers go below 68. Keep in regular contact with your vet about dose reductions as the daily carb load decreases. Don't give insulin if preshot BG is below the no shoot number you agree with your vet. Test urine every day for ketones. If trace ketones detected seek advice from your vet ASAP. If ketones are above trace you would need to take your cat to the vet
immediately so that the vet can provide treatment to flush them out of the system (so as to prevent DKA).
As I've said before, I'm not a vet and I'm not familiar with Novolin other than I know from my reading here that it can drop numbers hard and fast (and that's what you've been seeing in your cats' spreadsheets). I normally would not have commented on a Novolin thread but I am very, very worried about Woody gettting into very dangerous numbers time and time again. These suggestions are offered on the understanding that they are based on good general principles and that you really need to discuss diet change and dosing with your vet as a matter of extreme urgency.
Sorry if I sound a bit OTT: my intention is to be as helpful to you as I can, I'm just very worried about the dangerously low numbers your cats are seeing.
Mogs
.