Please take a look at Spikes SS and read remarks column as it's time for his PM Shot and he's at 154. Any suggestions. I'm nervous. @FrostD @Diane Tyler's Mom
He has climbed to 162 BG at +12.0 hours. With all the recent alterations to his dosage this week and his bouncing, I am needing sum guidance and need more eyes on this. Between the time change, me being a bit late this morning with his AM shot and his carb intake in the pre-dawn hours, I just don't wanna make the wrong move.
I wouldn't be too concerned about changing dose, he needs what he needs. The goal is to keep him in a consistent range , so right now aiming for 90-250 range if we can (eventually, 90-150 would be perfect). He likes his long slides after bouncing a bit, there's nothing you can do about that except tweak the dose for the lower preshots. Next time you can monitor, you might want to try 1U, because that might start to work his numbers down overall. But I know you need sleep, and you'll get the opportunity to shoot a low preshot again soon I'm sure.
He was rising steadily and I gave him a hair under 2u. Maybe like 1.9u. I know I'm gonna need to check him a couple times and he'll be begging for food in an hour or so. Hope i didn't O.D. him,
Spikes SS tells the tale of how he went last nite...please see the remarks. All was good with a AMPS of 245 at +11.75 hrs today. I gave his 2.0u and left him inside with some wet food & about 3 or 4 treats in case he wants it while im gone. I put other kitties outside to enjoy 5he sunny day...lol @FrostD , this is for your eyes to get an update just FYI. And thank you so much for ALL that you do on here.
Looks like the 2U worked out. So I'd say next time that happens (depending on comfort level, ability to monitor, yadda yadda) that: if he's flat, aim for a reduced dose, somewhere around half the usual dose if steadily rising, close to full dose I think shooting the reduced dose earlier at your normal time probably would have had the same effect as shooting full dose later. Want to try to catch him low and keep him low, if that makes sense
What you're seeing tonight is a bit hard to decipher. It could be interpreted as a bounce from a lower number, in which case you may want to consider going down to 1.75U as new dose because we don't know how low he went + you're away from home during the day. The other option is the late cycle food as insulin was wearing off gave him a little extra boost up. Just letting you know what I see so you can make educated decision.
He is at 89 at +9.25 hrs, 81 @10.25 93 @11.25 hrs after PM shot of 2.0u. I got these PM #'s because he woke me up with a claw to the chin & I found some liquid vomit on bedroom floor and he was STARVING. Fasted until AMPS then a BG @110.
It's time for his AM dose and he has climbed from 81 up to 110. I can't see giving him more than .75u or 1.0u...Any advise? I can stall for about 20 minutes and feed.???
121 +12.5 and rising. Gave .75u at 7:45am @FrostD FYI. The tale is both on this thread and the SS Remarks column. Thank you. I hope .75u was the right call as I've got to get to work today and can't monitor.
So new dose is definitely 1.75U, actually I'd go 1.5U and hopefully can shoot that both doses I would have skipped this morning, at this point anything under 150 and you can't be home I'd skip. He was rising fairly quickly so hopefully he'll be ok
he Has climbed to 125 as of +1. I didn't know if I shud skip as I figured he'd skyrocket by this PM without any. He IS eating like a horse now that he had the .75u and I'm letting him chow down b4 I walk out door. I'll leave 10 treats and 3 spoons of wet down and put others outside. Please pray I didn't screw up.
I had neighbor come in and check on Spike. He seemed fine and walking/acting normally. She fed him a couple spoons wet and a few temptations treats. I won't get home till 4pm...+10 today. @FrostD .....FYI
Ok that should hold him over. Always better to skip and go too high so long as ketones aren't in the picture. Curious where hell be tonight
Me too. In my mind, skipping would have him skyrocket up by this evening and .75u would give him "some" insulin to maybe keep him in the yellow or the blue. But then again, if his lil liver is tapped out of glycogen, then he would plummet. Unfortunately, I didn't think of that until after I pushed the plunger. And the mechanics of glycogen is something you can teach me about, as I've read ur other posts explaining it to others. I was pulling my hair out this am... Skip shot= and he'll skyrocket nearly into the black... Full dose= he'll for sure go hypo and I'll lose him... 1/2 dose= still too much when he's that low... .75u= he was rising and rising and there would be sum to hit a nadir , but glycogen is an unknown. I shud b home in about 2 hrs. Luckily the friend who cleans my cousins home was next door and I got her to check him and feed him sum contraband treats and wet food. And yes, I've been praying since I left the house. Please correct me as I've GOT to get confidently up to speed on Spikes care. Still better than the Vets "set it and forget it" approach with such a dangerous hormone. I love the Vet and realize they deal with the full spectrum of pet parents, so I get the big picture. But Spike needs me to not screw up...lol
So the guidance definitely changes as doses and numbers change/you get more data. Your logic wasnt wrong! But I don't think he'd skyrocket up to black, though he might today lol Glycogen and bouncing is a giant unknown. Some cats are pretty predictable, others not so much. I don't like to rely on bounces as protective measures, if that's makes sense. Because there's no guarantee they will, or will in time. Usually fast/big drops will do it, and sometimes just lower numbers than they're used to will. For now, I would give normal dose (1.5 U) if above 200. 150-199 and can monitor, try 0.75 U (half dose) 150-199 can't monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) 125-149 and can monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) Anything below 150 and cannot monitor, I'd skip for now
Thank you. This is really helpful, especially in what are stressful situations for me still. At +10 hrs he is at 364 BG. He's hungry as per his usual for his whole life, happy, and up and moving around wanting to catch a sunny spot on the outside deck. Life is good, and lesson was learned.
After posting the last post, I sat down on couch and slept until midnight....OBVIOUSLY, a missed shot time. I assume I should test then test at AMPS and give the 1.75u in the AM?
I'm sorry Lee but I am not familiar with prozinc at all or giving dosing advice . Just seeing this now, if Melissa isn't around I can try tagging other members for you
Thank you. It seems obvious to wait until his am time (0700 cst). I shot a low # this am with a reduced dose that I prolly shouldn't have after consult with Melissa, but it was all good. Got home and tested then sat on couch and woke up at midnight. He tested at 540 at 1am cst. He seems ok and just chilling but I bet he feels like crap...Melissa had me on tract to reduce his dose to 1.75u tonite.....my question is "is that still the plan or did my screw-up change evetything". Thank you so much.
Just seeing this but yes I would still give 1.75U. may take him a few cycles to get back on track. It happens!
I actually saved the below advise to my phones screen and went with this, even though I realize you said this B4 I missed his dose last night. For now, I would give normal dose (1.5 U) if above 200. 150-199 and can monitor, try 0.75 U (half dose) 150-199 can't monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) 125-149 and can monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) Anything below 150 and cannot monitor, I'd skip for now So i actually administered 1.5u at AMPS of 0600 cst. His bg went from 472 down to 303 @+5.50 hrs. I'm home all day except for a couple hrs of shopping today and church twice tomorrow. Heck, I can't believe it went from 540 at1am DOWN to 472 by 0600!!! There was a lot of praying going on as I was in and out of consciousness. I feel like such an idiot for closing my eyes when I shuda been on my Cat-Daddy job last evening...lol. But as @Hendrick's mom and dad said, we've all done it and he'll be fine....very comforting. With him going into the black I think I need to get a ketone strip (and my fingers) wet with pee to see that nothing is lurking. He seems happy and about as normal as he's always been. I am sooo thankful for you, the other folks here and this FDMB for being here. I've read so many heartfelt stories here. @FrostD this is fyi.♡♡♡
Yes and sorry I said 1.75U, got caught in all the waffling back and forth lol 1.5U is the new dose. Just like I said, may take a few days to see how he does on it
He must be nearing his nadir as he is 257 @+7.25 hrs. Well check again after while b4 I step out for some shopping b4 for PMPS.
All seems good today & Spike been in the blue as I've checked today. Please see his SS as his PMPS is coming up in about 30 minutes. I'm going to assume that the earlier dosing advise still stands. I can monitor sum tonite b4 bed, but will prolly fall asleep well b4 nadir. @FrostD For now, I would give normal dose (1.5 U) if above 200. 150-199 and can monitor, try 0.75 U (half dose) 150-199 can't monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) 125-149 and can monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) Anything below 150 and cannot monitor, I'd skip for now Hope you've had a good weekend.
Things have seemed to have leveled out after that missed dose. I am hard that he stays flat and safe. I'll just keep using the dosing advise until further notice unless something gets out of kilter. Hes been lounging in the sun all day and hasn't been too terribly hungry since he woke me up for breakfst at 0630 cst this am, but eating well. He hasn't been chugging water today either....just normal cat activity. Just been a lazy chill ol' man like usual. Thank you so much for checking in on his SS to keep updated. I trust ur eyes on it. You do so much on this site and I think you are just awesum and a Godsend.
You're always welcome! I'll be checking back in the morning, because how he does tonight may/may not change the advice. It just kind of perpetually shifts until they get better regulated, I know it can get confusing and difficult to keep it all straight. Glad to hear he's just chill and feeling good
Well that worked out perfectly! There's a chance he went below 90 before that 107, but i don't think it was dangerously low (since he nadirs late). Plus mid yellows this morning, good
Since he was 255 @+11.75 then @251 just 30 minutes later for his AMPS, I dosed his normal 1.5u and can't monitor until about +10 today. I assumed it was a safe guess. I loved seeing him consistently in blue numbers and expected a mid-range yellow number due to the earlier reduced dose. It's my dream that he will consistently stay in the mid blues with only sum mid yellows at shot times so he can have the full 1.5u shot, and that he'd do it for a few weeks at a time. All his bouncing last week was so darned unnerving and worrisome to me. It's also my dream that he'll get so stabilized that we can see if he could actually go into remission. Those are lofty goals and he's an old cat, but i can dream. Luckily, he was a happy old kitty all weekend and was just enjoying the sunny weather out on the deck and patio. Does the ProZinc give their coat a smell (no, I've never did a furshot as I check afterwards), or does he just need a bath? He smells musty and could be from lounging on a moldy lawn chair...lol Once again, thank you for being all over this msgboard helping so many of us. You are what a hero looks like.♡♡♡
I'm soooo happy for Spike (and you). All milestones should be celebrated! Good Job Spike, Keep up the good work.
He'll get there, he's settling down pretty quickly actually. It would be nice if he would start giving even preshots, but even without it you've got a bit of a groove now. No, the only smell they would get from ProZinc itself is if you did a furshot (smells very strong, almost like brand new tires). But being unregulated does make them feel crappy, so they often don't groom as much as they should. We call it the 5 Ps - preening, peeing, pooping, playing, purring. When you've got all 5 theyre doing great, when one or more are missing there's usually some sort of problem. Mr Kitty didn't groom himself (or play) for just about a year, I did the best I could but he looked rough. Dull dry coat, weird tufts of hair coming out.
Hi, @FrostD I hope you've had a great day. Please take a look at Spikes SS when you get a chance just to see if there is anything that you don't like. As far as i know, all is well, and Spike is just being his usual chill self, except that he woke me up at 0500 starving, but he fasted until the AMPS test, which was high. We didn't get any testing done last night as we were riding the storm out and tornados came into our general area. I'm following your advise and as far as I can tell, it's doing about what it should be doing...I guess that's why I'm asking for your eyes on it. Have a pleasant evening.
Yep! I was looking at his SS about 2 hrs ago and didn't get a chance to comment - glad you shot full dose. I was going to say don't let the higher than usual numbers freak you out, he probably had a bit of a bounce from the lows the other night and it should be clearing soon. He tends to get longer duration when that happens, so if you happen to test in the next hour or two don't be surprised if it's lower than usual. He should come back up a bit as AM shot wears off, but then PM shot will onset and hopefully keep him in some nice numbers
I actually did plan on testing in about +2.5ish and again around +4ish b4 I crash. Thanks for the heads up. I put a little bit of wet down b4 I crash, so he can have sumthing b4 the nadir (and so he hopefully will let me get sum zzzz's...lol We missed the worst of the storms last night, so both he, me, and the civvie kitties have all been pretty happy today. Thanks for looking in on him. I always try to leave a trail in the remarks column for you.
I appreciate it! Makes it much easier to make heads and tails of things (and tell him I appreciate him following my crystal ball for now lol) Glad the worst missed you, some sad stories coming out of that area
We got heros around here. I have a professional grade radio frequency scanner and often listen to the surrounding counties....this was IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WORST OF THE STORM in Upshur County Tx. near city of Gilmer. Got call that screams were coming from collapsed house next door. 1 deputy got .75 mi and walked the rest of the way due to downed trees. Another came from opposite end of road and did same. They found victim, stopped bleeding, built stretcher from debris, and carried victim to the car that was in position to get to hospital.....all in 50mph wind and flashflood. Spike got a NEGATIVE Ketone test also tonight. Idk if I can keep my eyes open to test bg again tonite. I read all the help you give out to others on here....kinda makes you a hero too...and Spike says he'll try to remain predictable for ya.
At +5 hrs, he got a BG of 90. I actually double checked it by inserting another test strip in and got a 93 from the same big drop of blood. I guess I called myself checking my meters variance...lol At +6 hrs he was at 105 BG. Gave him 2 tblsp canned urinary formula with water as a soupy treat. He had about 2 tblsp of the canned urinary health snack/meal at about +4 hrs. I'll be following your earlier dosing guidance in the AM. To refresh your memory it's as follows: For now, I would give normal dose (1.5 U) if above 200. 150-199 and can monitor, try 0.75 U (half dose) 150-199 can't monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) 125-149 and can monitor, 0.25U (10-20% normal dose) Anything below 150 and cannot monitor, I'd skip for now I'm both a little happy and yet nervous simultaneously. @FrostD ... FYI and on SS with remarks. Thank you for checking in on us and I hope you have a pleasant evening.
I didn't check at +4 and he got sum wet food at +4. So I figured the +5 reading of 90BG could have been less than 90 just minutes earlier. Dosing method says reduce by .25u if less than 90.....he received the snack and the test because he looked pretty worn out and tired...he is an old man but i had my suspicions therefore I checked....glad i did. I'm glad you said I made the right call. I was nervous...still am, since I won't get home until at least +10 today. He's got 4 tblsp of his wet soup out plus 5 (contraband hi-carb) temptations pieces in one of his favorite snack finding spots.....on his baby blanket at foot of my bed. He knows that spot pays off regularly...lol Assuming he is well above 200 bg at PMPS time, does he get the full 1.5u or is 1.25u his "NEW" dose until further notice? Once again, thank you for spending sooo much time on me and Spike. I tell him that he's got friends all over the place looking after him.
1.25U is new dose, so with the advice above just adjust (example; 150-199 and can monitor, the half dose is now a smidge above 0.5U, you can just do 0.5U if that's easier)
Thank you. Spike says he worked hard for it...lol. I just pray that all of this stabilizes out and then he one day is well. I want that for all of us on here. I need to get one of those "help my kitty candles" that you mentioned, so I can light it for you and Cleo too.
Good Morning Everyone!!! Spike went down to 95 bg at PMPS +5 HRS last night then I dozed off and rechecked and he was up to 127 bg at +7 hrs. I'm saying all of this to say that this AM I gave a "skinny" 1.25u by eyeballing it. It was actually about 1.125u I think. I assume he could have went below 90 bg at +6 but I didn't check. I can't be home to monitor him until at least +10 today. I hope I did the right thing for him. He seemed to be sooo sleepy and tired when it was down in the 90's, but then again, I woke him up to test and we both were kinda groggy at 2am...lol He was up at 0630 petting my chin with a single claw to tell me that he was starving and I was oversleeping....my lil furry alarm clock. @FrostD this of course is fyi.
I think that's fine especially since you're away from home. I don't think he went below that, but he's clearly on some sort of mission here.
Curious what he does tonight with that preshot... Crazy to think vet had you at 3U isn't it, very lucky
Very lucky indeed. If not monitoring it's safe to say he'd be dead by now from a massive hypo. What mission do you suspect Spike is on with these random #'s I enter on SS??? Please help Miss Claire get her kitty squared away. Feel free to use me and Spike as an example.
This dose seems to be the sweet spot, hopefully now he just slowly starts to come down in BG, then over time comes down in dose. Doesn't always happen though
I like that answer...lol. yes, 1.25u does for now, seem to be the spot that I'm not scared if it gets too high in the yellows or even low purples at PS times, but won't crater him at the nadir while I'm gone to work, sleep, etc.....for NOW. Once again, thanks for checking in on us this nice Saturday evening. Hope you are having a good one.
Good morning @FrostD. Please take a look at Spikes SS. He has a Vet appointment today at 4:30 for a full blood lab and checkup. As you can see, he had low numbers late in the cycle and since he only got to 149 after I stalled for 45 minutes this morning. I decided to give a 20% dose of .25u since i can't be home to monitor until I take him to his apt this afternoon. I have no idea how this is going to make him bounce around. Your eyes on this is appreciated.
Oh interesting! Hard to say if he went below 90, your call if you want to cautiously reduce. I'm inclined to hold the dose to give the preshots time to come down/get used to lower numbers, but it's your comfort level If vet offers a fructosamine I would decline. It's just an average of BG over past 2 weeks, but since you home test you already know where he's been. At.