Stalling, BG under 200

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Becky & Romeo, Mar 26, 2022.

  1. Becky & Romeo

    Becky & Romeo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2022
    Romeo is 194, so I'm stalling his insulin and asking for advice as advised since he's under 200.

    Also, I'm not sure how much more testing I can do today. I was trying to do his first curve and we're new to this and he is pretty much done with me. Growling, hissing and now even angrier because I didn't give him his food when I was done.
     
  2. Becky & Romeo

    Becky & Romeo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2022
    20 minutes and he's 193
     
  3. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    I am new too so cant give advice. Did you look at the Prozinc sticky? @FrostD usually comes on a little later. Try posting this on the main forum a little more traffic there.
     
  4. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    The Prozinc dosing sticky ...
    Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
    A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
      • a.) give nothing
      • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
      • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose may be wise.
     
  5. Becky & Romeo

    Becky & Romeo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2022
    Reposting in main - thanks angela
     
  6. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    That's flat/rising I would shoot usual dose
     
  7. Becky & Romeo

    Becky & Romeo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2022
    Okay, thank you!
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  8. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Yep! Start with a +3 tonight if you can
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.

Share This Page