3/16 Haley PMPS +120 ,130 @ 12.25, 124 +1, 135 +2, 126 +4

Hi Shirley have you fed Haley anything yet this morning? Please stall for 20 minutes without feeding and test her again. Let's see where she might be headed. Then we can discuss what to do.
 
Shirley, please change the thread title to:

3/16 Haley AMPS 121 STALLING - HELP


it will help people following Haley see your post quicker
 
She is staying flat. Decision time. How are you feeling, Shirley? Are you able to (and up to) monitoring Haley closely today if needed? Do you have lots of test strips, MC/HC food/syrup?
 
If you can monitor and have the foods to steer her, shoot the .5u and let's keep this girl on track. She looks so good. You can feed her as normal and get a +1.
 
Hi Shirley! Congrats on the reduction last night - you're handling all of this beautifully! You're in good hands here with Lyla :bighug: FWIW I'd shoot the 0.5u and keep Haley surfing :cat: (provided you can grab tests and have supplies). She may bounce from that low last night (or not :p).
 
She is staying pretty flat. Decision time. How are you feeling, Shirley? Are you able to (and up to) monitoring Haley today? Do you have lots of test strips, MC/HC food/syrup?
I'll do what ever is best for her. Yesterday was hell and I expect today to be the same. So, if monitoring her all day is what I need to do, I'll do it. I have almost 50 test strips. I don't have MC foods. I don't know what they are. I'll have to mix LC and HC. I have Karo. I need to run to the store and do curbside pick up on my order. It's ready now. I'd be back in 15-20 minutes. The FF Beef Gravy Lover's is in that order.

I have a 3 0'clock hair appointment today. Should I cancel it? My hairdresser is quick. I'd probably be home within an hour.

Waiting for your reply before I run out to get the groceries.
 
Like Chris said, she's on a fast-track, so it's a rather hair raising ride for the caregiver in such cases! I think you can feed higher carbs and leave for the hair dresser's, if need be. I think 3pm would be nearly +8? Hopefully all the excitement should be over my then!

Mixing HC and LC to get MC is fine. You may want to order some more strips!
 
Are you picking up more strips today? Please do. I keep about 300 strips stockpiled. 50 isn't many but it will be enough for today.
I'd shoot the .5u and get a +1. You can leave HC food for your appointment if needed.
 
Ok. Ty. And what Should I doin regards to feeding and testing? Yesterday when this happened I gave her a shot.
 
Ok. Ty. And what Should I doin regards to feeding and testing? Yesterday when this happened I gave her a shot.

Sorry. Your second post wasn’t there when I have a replied before.
So I’ll give her her shot, Feed my other kitties and run to get the groceries so I have the FF. If I have time to run in and out of Walmart I’ll go get more test strips. Otherwise I’ll come home test her and run back out again and get the test strips.
So can I feed her now?
 
You have an hour after giving the shot (to get the +1 the test) to get the FF and strips. The strips you have should be enough for today. You can always get more when you go the hairdressers' or tomorrow morning. :-)
 
Since this has been mentioned... what is Medium Carb food, specifically. All I keep on hand are my usual LC foods and my Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, which is HC. I'd be interested to know the answer to Shirley's question about MC, as well. TY!
 
Since this has been mentioned... what is Medium Carb food, specifically. All I keep on hand are my usual LC foods and my Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, which is HC. I'd be interested to know the answer to Shirley's question about MC, as well. TY!

Low carb is below 10%
Medium carb is between 10 and 15%
High carb is above 15%

You can mix LC and HC to get MC. How much of each you mix will depend on what the carb% of the LC and HC are.
 
Ty, Suzanne! Is it half and half?
Which is the LC and HC you are mixing? Depends on that.

Or like Suzanne suggested, you can get the FF Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy as MC (12%) - both this and the strips can be got later today or tomorrow. Don't stress over it.

We will manage with whatever LC and HC you have for today :-)
 
First of all, today’s going to hell in a handbasket. In my rush to get out the door I forgot to give her her shot. I’m back from getting the groceries and now I can’t find her. The other two cats are all nice and complacent so I don’t know if one of them bothered her and that’s why maybe she’s hiding.

Of course I’ll give her her shot as soon as I find her.

for now I have fancy feast beef gravy lovers, tender beef and chicken feast, turkey and giblets feast, and tender liver and chicken feast, and also Friskies pate mariners catch, sea captains choice, salmon dinner, and ocean whitefish and tuna dinner.My store only has the fancy feast beef gravy lovers in regards to the high carb. I’ll have to check the pet store near me.
 
Ok. I hope she’s ok. I can’t look in the lower nooks and crannies causeI won’t be able to get up.
I ordered 300 strips from Walmart and they should be delivered tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
I hope she’s ok
Do the other cats bother her often?

I ordered 300 strips from Walmart and they should be delivered tomorrow.
Excellent!

for now I have fancy feast beef gravy lovers, tender beef and chicken feast, turkey and giblets feast, and tender liver and chicken feast, and also Friskies pate mariners catch, sea captains choice, salmon dinner, and ocean whitefish and tuna dinner.My store only has the fancy feast beef gravy lovers in regards to the high carb. I’ll have to check the pet store near me.
When you get the time, it would be a good idea to check the carb% of all these foods and label them. When in a rush or a panic, it's difficult to remember which is which and it makes it easier to have the carb% written and ready for you to just grab and use.

These links have the carb% of various foods:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Just for the record, I wasn’t able to test her at +1 because I still couldn’t find her.
Don't worry about it. Test her when you can. Did she eat?

Could you please change the thread title to "3/16 - Haley - AMBG 125 - Skipped Shot"
We are so particular because people scanning the forum for folks who need help look at the thread titles to decide which threads to respond to first :-)
 
Do the other cats bother her often?


Excellent!


When you get the time, it would be a good idea to check the carb% of all these foods and label them. When in a rush or a panic, it's difficult to remember which is which and it makes it easier to have the carb% written and ready for you to just grab and use.

These links have the carb% of various foods:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
I had four cats at home. My 15-year-old, sick cat, is vicious to Haley. That happens like once A week. Valentino must be mellowing because in the last couple weeks he and she can walk past each other and nothing has happened. My Buddy just annoys her but it upsets her. I had Jax But about a week before Haley was diagnosed I let him stay with my ex-boyfriend. He still my cat because I would never give anybody away. But Jax Used to bother Haley several times during the day. And Haley would growl at all of them even if they were several feet away. It was stressing her. It was stressing me too. Jax and my ex-boyfriend have the most ridiculously cute relationship. They love each other. Mark was lonely living at home alone. So, Jax Is staying with Mark. Mark and I talk every day. I know Jaxis in good hands otherwise I wouldn’t let him stay with Mark. My house is so much more peaceful since he was the one that bothered her most of the time. I do miss the little bugger. He has a funny personality. He’s so cute. Soooo, things are significantly better on the bullying front.

I was talking to Chris, yesterday, about the amount of carbs in the foods that I have and she said that it’s not on the cans anyway. Even if it was, the print is so tiny, because the cans are tiny, I can’t read it and I don’t have a magnifying glass. But it’s not on there anyway.

I’ll take a look at the information you sent me.

Haley just showed up and she’s fine and sitting in her cat tree. should I test her now or wait for +2?
 
Last edited:
I was talking to Chris, yesterday, about the amount of carbs in the foods that I have and she said that it’s not on the cans anyway. Even if it was, the print is so tiny, because the cans are tiny, I can’t read it and I don’t have a magnifying glass. But it’s not on there anyway.

You should be able to find the carb% in the sites I sent you.
Just label the cans with a sticker saying 12% or 15% etc. So you know right away what is the carb% of that particular brand/variant.

Haley just showed up and she’s fine and sitting in her cat tree. should I test her now or wait for +2?
Great that she's fine. She probably figured you both needed a break from testing! LOL.
A +2 or even a +3 should be fine. :-)
 
Hi Shirley! Congrats on the reduction last night - you're handling all of this beautifully! You're in good hands here with Lyla :bighug: FWIW I'd shoot the 0.5u and keep Haley surfing :cat: (provided you can grab tests and have supplies). She may bounce from that low last night (or not :p).
Hi. Suzanne! Ty for the kind words!

Hi Shirley! Congrats on the reduction last night - you're handling all of this beautifully! You're in good hands here with Lyla :bighug: FWIW I'd shoot the 0.5u and keep Haley surfing :cat: (provided you can grab tests and have supplies). She may bounce from that low last night (or not :p).
Hi,
You should be able to find the carb% in the sites I sent you.
Just label the cans with a sticker saying 12% or 15% etc. So you know right away what is the carb% of that particular brand/variant.


Great that she's fine. She probably figured you both needed a break from testing! LOL.
A +2 or even a +3 should be fine. :)

Ok. I’ll do that. Ty! Oh, I’m sure she needs a break! I’ll do +3. I need to catch up!
 
Hi Shirley! Congrats on the reduction last night - you're handling all of this beautifully! You're in good hands here with Lyla :bighug: FWIW I'd shoot the 0.5u and keep Haley surfing :cat: (provided you can grab tests and have supplies). She may bounce from that low last night (or not :p).
Hi, Suzanne! thank you for the kind words! The results might be good but I could be better. So stressed and I can’t get anything done. I have someone coming over for dinner on Sunday and I need to clean house but at the rate I’m going, nothings getting done.

So, I need advice. Haley usually runs and hides when there’s company. The last two times people have been over she did actually come out and hung out the last time. So my question is this… if she were to hide how am I going to take care of her while my friend is here? The only thing I can think of is putting her in her crate. It’s a big one for a cat. I hate to do that because I know she’d be unhappy. But it’s the only way that I can get to her when it’s time to test her. I could cancel but I’ve already canceled twice . What do you think?
 
You have had quite a morning. Just get a bg 3-4 hours after she eats. Since you didn’t shoot that’s all you need. Congrats on the reduction. My cats hide too if anyone else is here. Can you lock her n a bedroom bathroom so you can test her?
 
Last edited:
You have had quite a morning. Just get a bg 3-4 hours after she eats. Since you didn’t shoot that’s all you need. Congrats on the reduction.my cats hide too if anyone else is here. Can you lock her n a bedroom bathroom so you can test her?

Yes, lol, not fun. Yes, I can put her in the bathroom. That’s probably the best idea so I can put a litter box in there for her too. Ty!
 
Whew! She’s 146 at +3.

How often should I test her today?
I think you can give her a break from testing. A test between +9 and PMPS, will help you get an idea of where she will be at PMPS so you can post for help, if needed.

You can shoot at your usual time tonight and her new dose is 0.50U
 
I think you can give her a break from testing. A test between +9 and PMPS, will help you get an idea of where she will be at PMPS so you can post for help, if needed.

You can shoot at your usual time tonight and her new dose is 0.50U
Ty, Bhooma. We both need the break. So +9 is after I’ll be getting back from the hairdresser. Should I still be giving her a little bit of high carb food before I leave?
 
Does anyone know how to add another column to my SS?
I would like to have a column with the actual time. I think that would help me a lot. Ty!
 
Ty, Bhooma. We both need the break. So +9 is after I’ll be getting back from the hairdresser. Should I still be giving her a little bit of high carb food before I leave?
Since you have skipped, you don't need to feed high carb food.

Does anyone know how to add another column to my SS?
I would like to have a column with the actual time. I think that would help me a lot. Ty!
I can do this for you. Do you mean columns at AMPS and PMPS with the time of the shot?

Like this SS here:
GEORGE'S Spreadsheet - Google Sheets
 
Once you give her some syrup and a little HC, get another test in 20 minutes.
Thank goodness that you tested. Nice catch.
How is Haley? Is she acting normal?
 
Back
Top