Stalling, increase to 2 units?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Active Member
hi everyone:
Given marmalades spreadsheet, should i increase to 2 units and if so when, any suggestions would be welcomed

* he is extremely Hungary and is looking for food well before his next meal time, 6p
* I am afraid that he is going to eat his food at 6 that he will throw up.
* any correlation to increase which would cause him to scratch ears more frequently?
 
Last edited:
hi everyone:
Given marmalades spreadsheet, should i increase to 2 units and if so when, any suggestions would be welcomed

* he is extremely Hungary and is looking for food well before his next meal time, 6p
* I am afraid that he is going to eat his food at 6 that he will throw up.
* any correlation to increase which would cause him to scratch ears more frequently?
Just seeing this now. Yes, you can try 2.0 u tomorrow AM if you can monitor. Ear scratching is more likely to be related to a food sensitivity.
 
You could give him small snack, but not within two hours before testing. If he were mine. I world increase a bit. Just take it slow.
 
Just seeing this now. Yes, you can try 2.0 u tomorrow AM if you can monitor. Ear scratching is more likely to be related to a food sensitivity.
This makes sense as a food sensitivity as the vet thought also last weekend when he stayed for the day last Saturday. What food is suggest as he eats about a bag or two a month, my finances r tight. Right now I feel so bad because he is scratching his food bowl for food. I don’t mind paying a lot for food if the bags were more than a 4 lb size. At night he drives me crazy when he scratches his ear, the whole Bed shakes and by the morning he is ravenous

* I have some cans of fancy feast, would that raise his BG more at this point or would it drop his BG too low?
 
Last edited:
So if I do either of that what could I put down during the day for him to snack on inbetween?
Many use an automatic feeder and give a mid day meal and evening meal. One that can close 2 hours prior to the preshot test so the number is not food influenced. If you prefer to leave dry down in bet, Young Again Zero carb is an option (available on Youngagainpetfood.com)
 
Many use an automatic feeder and give a mid day meal and evening meal. One that can close 2 hours prior to the preshot test so the number is not food influenced. If you prefer to leave dry down in bet, Young Again Zero carb is an option (available on Youngagainpetfood.com)
I am going to start fancy feast today so I am assuming that as long as I monitor I should be fine, I am planning on at least 3 cans per day, what insulin guidelines should I go by when getting the bg reading?
 
You could freeze some cat food so he can graze over time. Than you don't have to worry if you are gone when he gets hungry. Lots of people do that when they go to work.
Hi everyone-
I started the fancy feast this morning and mixed some of my gyco balance in with it as I didn’t want to waste the gyco balance. Can I please get some input on how I should handle the next meal time at 6p? I also decreased the insulin this morning at 1,5 units since I was afraid to overdose him as we r just starting the food switch
 
some input on how I should handle the next meal time at 6p?
do you mean +6 (six hours after the last injection) or 6 PM actual time?

If the later - how many hours it would be since the shot?

Feeding higher carbs, like dry, after the nadir shortens the insulin effectiveness and can bring about higher PMPS. The low carbs FF will have less effect on insulin than dry and many here feed it past nadir to keep up with calory requirements/ weight maintenance.
If he likes FF I'd let him eat his regular portion of it.
 
do you mean +6 (six hours after the last injection) or 6 PM actual time?

If the later - how many hours it would be since the shot?

Feeding higher carbs, like dry, after the nadir shortens the insulin effectiveness and can bring about higher PMPS. The low carbs FF will have less effect on insulin than dry and many here feed it past nadir to keep up with calory requirements/ weight maintenance.
If he likes FF I'd let him eat his regular portion of it.
Would a normal portion for his weight be, the whole 3 ounces right?
 
I also lowered his insulin to 1.5 this morning, should i stick with that since I am switching foods, until we do more monitoring with fancy feast?
Dropping the dose could give you a bit of extra safety margin. A good test to get is +2 because that can often tell you that a larger than average drop might be in the works (if the +2 BG is significantly lower than the PS). Then a test in the +4 to +6 range should give you an idea of the nadir.
 
Dropping the dose could give you a bit of extra safety margin. A good test to get is +2 because that can often tell you that a larger than average drop might be in the works (if the +2 BG is significantly lower than the PS). Then a test in the +4 to +6 range should give you an idea of the nadir.
K, I’ll work on that this weekend, thank u
 
His numbers r as follows so far:

6a- BG 354
1:40- BG 297
Did I get it correct at +7.75?
Yes, 297 was at +7.75 - just it recorded in his SS :)
I also lowered his insulin to 1.5 this morning, should i stick with that since I am switching foods, until we do more monitoring with fancy feast?
Yes, absolutely. Low carbs wet will reduce his insulin needs - most likely it will. I would not wait 7 hours to take a test - if is on LC food and insulin onsets - begin to work- 2 or hours after the shot - I would make sure take these tests as well as mid cycle - like +6. I see Kris already posted about it :)
Would a normal portion for his weight be, the whole 3 ounces right?
Depends on the cat and whether you feed him to gain weight or to maintain the current level.
I feed Ducia just over 5oz/24 hours in small portions throughout the day - but she is a petite kitty and sleeps most of the day. I would not mind if she looses a few oz.
 
Yes, 297 was at +7.75 - just it recorded in his SS :)

Yes, absolutely. Low carbs wet will reduce his insulin needs - most likely it will. I would not wait 7 hours to take a test - if is on LC food and insulin onsets - begin to work- 2 or hours after the shot - I would make sure take these tests as well as mid cycle - like +6. I see Kris already posted about it :)

Depends on the cat and whether you feed him to gain weight or to maintain the current level.
I feed Ducia just over 5oz/24 hours in small portions throughout the day - but she is a petite kitty and sleeps most of the day. I would not mind if she looses a few oz.
I wanted to get a amps this morning at +2 but he scooted under the bed from 9a-1p so I missed my window, tomorrow I plan to test more frequently
 
Yes, 297 was at +7.75 - just it recorded in his SS :)

Yes, absolutely. Low carbs wet will reduce his insulin needs - most likely it will. I would not wait 7 hours to take a test - if is on LC food and insulin onsets - begin to work- 2 or hours after the shot - I would make sure take these tests as well as mid cycle - like +6. I see Kris already posted about it :)

Depends on the cat and whether you feed him to gain weight or to maintain the current level.
I feed Ducia just over 5oz/24 hours in small portions throughout the day - but she is a petite kitty and sleeps most of the day. I would not mind if she looses a few oz.
I just want him to maintain until we get a better picture but on the other hand it probably wouldn’t hurt for him to lose a pound

Should I keep him at 1.5 until I can do more testing this weekend given numbers on SS keeping in mind that I started the fancy feast at the AMPS?
 
I just want him to maintain until we get a better picture but on the other hand it probably wouldn’t hurt for him to lose a pound
ECID but eating around 200 calories per 24 hours could help you with that.
The FF on average is 85-90 Kcal per 2.8 oz can - so he'll need 2 and a quarter cans - divide it accordingly to your schedule but most cats do better with smaller portions thru the day v. 2 large meals a day. It is ok to leave the wet food out for many hours - just add some water to it.
This is my idea on feeding - I hope some more people will stop by to comment. If Marmalade maintains weight on this ratio - good! - if he looses too much - increase the portions. It;s sort of learning by experimenting and observing - every cat's digestion is different and depends on so many factors - you'll know the answers with time.
Unless someone corrects my idea about feeding 2 1/4 cans FF a day - start with it if you like.
ETA:If he'll think it is not enough I am sure he'll tell you!;)
 
ECID but eating around 200 calories per 24 hours could help you with that.
The FF on average is 85-90 Kcal per 2.8 oz can - so he'll need 2 and a quarter cans - divide it accordingly to your schedule but most cats do better with smaller portions thru the day v. 2 large meals a day. It is ok to leave the wet food out for many hours - just add some water to it.
This is my idea on feeding - I hope some more people will stop by to comment. If Marmalade maintains weight on this ratio - good! - if he looses too much - increase the portions. It;s sort of learning by experimenting and observing - every cat's digestion is different and depends on so many factors - you'll know the answers with time.
Unless someone corrects my idea about feeding 2 1/4 cans FF a day - start with it if you like.
ETA:If he'll think it is not enough I am sure he'll tell you!;)
What is ECID?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top