? Started Lantus, should I Increase, Probably Started too Low

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
So I started Xena on Lantus today, and my vet advised 1 unit, and because my last cat fell from 421 to 65 on his first 1 unit dose, I was just scared to start higher, but I gave her shot at 10 AM, and her #'s are higher than usual. I know you are usually supposed to hold the initial dose fro 5-7 days, but I asked another member and she suggested posting here to see if you guys thought that I should maybe increase it a little for her next shot. Which of course is soon. Maybe 1.5 or 2? Her #'s aren't crazy, but they are a bit higher than they were on the Vetsulin.
So... increase the starting dose, or ride out the 1 unit?

Xena's Spreadsheet
 
Ok. When switching from Vetsulin to lantus you usually keep the same dose or perhaps slightly lower. I think you could start on 3 units but you could try 2.5. Xenia has not gone low on Vetsulin.

It takes 5-7 days for the depot to build. So it could take that long to see whether the starting dose is good. If there’s a bg under 90 you would reduce though.
 
Last edited:
Ok. When switching from Vetsulin to lantus you usually keep the same dose or perhaps slightly lower. I think you could start on 3 units but you could try 2.5. Xenia has not gone low on Vetsulin.

It takes 5-7 days for the depot to build. So it could take that long to see whether the starting g dose is good. If there’s a bg under 90 you would reduce though.

So I gave her 1 unit this Morning and tonight. Should wait the 5-7 days, or should i increase it tomorrow morning because I started too low?.... Oh, and THANK YOU for the advice. I appreciate it.
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Back
Top