Started to home monitor today Feedback?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All, grateful for this forum and this particular group!
Today first day of testing but havent started spreadsheet yet.
Was hoping to get feedback/ advice on todays results.
I have read Beginners Guide to Vetsulin and plan on doing a a curve this weekend or soon.
Today was just hoping to learn how to use the meter and practice test/feed/insulin process
First test
BG 325 1pm 30 minutes after 1/4 portion of daily food
BG 401 4 hours later before last 1/4 portion of daily food portion

BG 375 2 Hours after 5 units Vetsulin
 
Congratulations on getting a meter and learning to use it!! :D Those are all high-ish numbers but you're just starting out. The dose you're giving is very high for a newly diagnosed cat. I'm glad you've begun to track BG levels. Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
It's hard to know right now if your kitty is on a dose that's too high or not. Sometimes too much insulin can look like too little because it can cause rebound hyperglycemia. Don't change anything yet. Get the testing routine and spreadsheet going and gather several days' data. That should help us sort it out.
 
Hi All, grateful for this forum and this particular group!
Today first day of testing but havent started spreadsheet yet.
Was hoping to get feedback/ advice on todays results.
I have read Beginners Guide to Vetsulin and plan on doing a a curve this weekend or soon.
Today was just hoping to learn how to use the meter and practice test/feed/insulin process
First test
BG 325 1pm 30 minutes after 1/4 portion of daily food
BG 401 4 hours later before last 1/4 portion of daily food portion

BG 375 2 Hours after 5 units Vetsulin
Her dose is 5 units? That is a huge amount. Sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough.
What food are you feeding?

If you could add some info to your signature that would be helpful so we don't have to ask you the same questions repeatedly. Please click on your name at the top right corner and choose signature. Add info such as your pets name, age, date diagnosed, insulin type and dose, food you're feeding, and any other health concerns and medications.
 
Her dose is 5 units? That is a huge amount. Sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough.
What food are you feeding?

If you could add some info to your signature that would be helpful so we don't have to ask you the same questions repeatedly. Please click on your name at the top right corner and choose signature. Add info such as your pets name, age, date diagnosed, insulin type and dose, food you're feeding, and any other health concerns and medications.
Hi Janet, I want to thank you for the FANTASTIC testing video! I"m testing with confidence thanks to you.
I have been using a human meter Assure Prism multi by arkray. The Alphatrak that I ordered was defective and I did not want to wait to return and receive another. I purchased one at a pharmacy. I plan on transferring the numbers I have manually recorded into the forums standard spreadsheet. Its comforting to see the results that food and insulin have on controlling Rusty's BG
 
Hi Janet, I want to thank you for the FANTASTIC testing video! I"m testing with confidence thanks to you.
I have been using a human meter Assure Prism multi by arkray. The Alphatrak that I ordered was defective and I did not want to wait to return and receive another. I purchased one at a pharmacy. I plan on transferring the numbers I have manually recorded into the forums standard spreadsheet. Its comforting to see the results that food and insulin have on controlling Rusty's BG
I am so glad you found the video helpful!
 
Hi Janet, I want to thank you for the FANTASTIC testing video! I"m testing with confidence thanks to you.
I have been using a human meter Assure Prism multi by arkray. The Alphatrak that I ordered was defective and I did not want to wait to return and receive another. I purchased one at a pharmacy. I plan on transferring the numbers I have manually recorded into the forums standard spreadsheet. Its comforting to see the results that food and insulin have on controlling Rusty's BG
Make sure your spreadsheet is set to shareable.
 
Ok, started the spreadsheet after a few mess ups trying to create my own and save. It looks like Rusty's numbers are all over the place which Im sure is common at this point for newbies.
He started on 5 units am pm then vet upped to 6 units and 7 units. This was before I started testing. Day I started, went back to 5 units am pm just to see
Well I did not like his numbers so on 3rd? 4th day? I started 6 units am This was the day he had 165! I did not give him a pm shot because it of this.
It seems like he starts the day with 300+ I feed him, wait 20 and give shot, then I test when I can anywhere from 2 to 9 hours
NOTE: I do feed Rusty 1/4 of his complete 6 oz of high protien/low carb moist feed through out the day. I use very low carb dry bits to distract him when I test. They are actually freeze dried meat.

Would love some feedback, eval, advice!
 
Good job getting the spreadsheet going!

The 165 is a better number. That's what you are looking for mid cycle. Do try to always get a preshot test. It's very possible that the day you got the 165, it was 300 by the time the next shot was due. Normal on a human meter is 50-120, so it's actually still high. I do think it's unwise to jump whole units in dosing. We always recommend raising doses in 0.25-0.5 increments.

@Kris & Teasel
 
Yes, the 165 is a good number. I agree that those pre shot tests are essential to know if the dose is safe to give. You can probably increase safewly by 0.5 u increments because you're at a relatively high dose. Once you see more blue on your SS you can increase by 0.25 u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top