jaybeth
Member Since 2021
Hi there, my Nick has been on 4 units of Lantus for a few weeks now. We started at 1 unit over a month ago and moved up slowly. I was finally able to start home testing last night and he tested at 309 preshot. I fed him FF and friskies pate (removed a small amount of C/D from his diet with this meal) and this morning his preshot was 166. I gave him 3.5 units and FF & friskies. At +1, he was at 229. He dropped to 62 and I immediately gave him FF gravy lovers and put honey on his gums. I am waiting to test again in about 5 mins. He is not symptomatic & he is active, strong, and eating. He is not dehydrated or shaky. How should I adjust his dose as needed? Clearly it needs to be reduced, is 2 units too high or low for tonight’s dose? His dose tonight is in 6 hours.