Switch from prozinc to levemir

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by SashaV, Jan 25, 2021.

1. SashaV

SashaV Well-Known Member

Hi guys!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/mauer.241074/
    My thread in the prozinc forum.

I'm thinking about switching to levemir. I have two pens in the fridge, they've been stored there since April or May last year in the fridge door, so hopefully they're still good.

When I was a newbie Mauer was on levemir witch didn't go well. She stopped eating, was vomiting and nauseous. Ended up in the ER twice. She was on caninsulin first - witch my spreadsheet doesn't show, then levemir, back to caninsulin for a week until we started prozinc.

ECID is very relevant, Mauer usually does the opposite of what's expected. Just when I think we're on the right track she climbs back up and starts to bounce.

The reason I'm considering switching is because - to be honest... I don't have a life.
    I'm afraid to sleep through the night without testing. I can't be away from home more than 5 hours, and still I'm nervous about what's going on at home. Even when her BG seems safe when I leave, it might not be when I get home. She drops lower at night even at a high PMPS so it never feels safe. I can't see into the future of course, neither can you, but I think levemir would give her a more steady curve. Hopefully without the fear of leaving, sleeping and simply living.

I absolutely hate shooting on lower numbers and my biggest fear about levemir is the depot. And also the reason I want to switch and why I haven't. Gosh it's confusing...
    I like on prozinc that we almost start from scratch on every shot, but that's what causing my fears..

I want to have a life, I want to be able to sleep through once a awhile, I want to be able to leave home knowing she's keeping steady. Can I get that on levemir? Am I unrealistic?
    If not, what dose would be appropriate for Mauer?