Thinking of having Bubba tested 6 units and still high numbers

Discussion in 'Acromegaly / IAA / Cushings Cats' started by BubbasMama, May 10, 2020.

1. BubbasMama

BubbasMama New Member

Bubba is up to 6 units of Lantis a day. Think about having him tested. What is the cost of the blood tests? I've already blown out my $3,000 pet insurance limit on his diabetes. He is 16 going on 17, so I would never put him through surgery or radiation at this point. Having his teeth done a few years back was super traumatic for him and the pain meds made his so sick. His back legs are getting weaker and he has this wheezy rumbling thing going on with his breathing, especially when he is resting, so I want to get his BG down asap. Is that even possible with an acro cat? I appreciate all the information here. Its been wonderful. Obviously I'm still learning. Sending his spreadsheet to this vet tomorrow. Doing another curve today. Any thoughts?

2. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Absolutely possible. Each acrocat needs varying degrees of insulin, some higher than others. A few examples of nicely regulated acros, click on the link to see their spreadsheets: Amethyst, Freckles, Crystal. Neko got there eventually too. One of the things you will notice in all of those spreadsheets is that those caregivers tested a lot more than you do.