Thoughts again

Hi Dinah, its very nice that you created a new thread for a new day and put a link for the previous thread :) here is a link with instructions how to post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

in short, we are all asked to format the post title in a certain way: date/ name of kitty and AMPS or PMPS value

the reason for this is that there are a lot of kitties on the forum and the people that are helping are checking the links based on the kitty name. If you have a question you can chose the question mark for people to check look at it

black values sting :( so sorry you are seeing them
If it was our Chico i would be asking if it is not time for a dose increase. Wish i could give dosing advice but i cannot, let me tag some more experienced people for help @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
Good luck :bighug:
 
Have you selected a dosing method? If SLGS with nadirs in blue you would hold this dose. With TR you could increase to 1.75. Your kitty is bouncing from the blues which is common at first. You test enough for TR.
 
Your subject line should look something like "4/29 Shai AMPS 542 +2 331 +3 239 +5 182 +6 324". If you have specific question, you can summarize after that on the subject line. That will help draw people who can answer, such as dosing or a specific other question on medications, food, etc. You can update the subject line with new data as time goes on during the day, or if you have new questions. To update your subject line, go to the first post of the day, on the top right is a drop down menu called Thread Tools and you can select the Edit Thread option.

Regarding today's numbers, what is your regular feeding pattern? That jump from 182 to 324 seems out of place. But he also did a lot of steep drops in the early part of the cycles, both AM and PM. Steep drops can cause bounces and sometimes you can use food at appropriate times to slow those drops down enough that it doesn't cause another bounce. I'm also worried that there aren't later tests in some PM cycles. It's possible he went quite a bit lower the night of the 28th. If you cannot stay up late, leaving food out is how you can help keep him safe.
 
I agree that I would have tested again after that 128 last night (4/28). I would have needed to see if he was dropping even further after that since it was a pretty good drop to 128. I almost don't trust that 182 number -- or I don't trust the 324 number that came after it. It's a good idea if you ever get a number that seems really out of place to retest and make sure you haven't just had a bad test strip. It does happen. If Shai were my cat, I would increase to 1.75.
 
Hi Dinah, its very nice that you created a new thread for a new day and put a link for the previous thread :) here is a link with instructions how to post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

in short, we are all asked to format the post title in a certain way: date/ name of kitty and AMPS or PMPS value

the reason for this is that there are a lot of kitties on the forum and the people that are helping are checking the links based on the kitty name. If you have a question you can chose the question mark for people to check look at it

black values sting :( so sorry you are seeing them
If it was our Chico i would be asking if it is not time for a dose increase. Wish i could give dosing advice but i cannot, let me tag some more experienced people for help @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
Good luck :bighug:
Thanks for all the help
 
Have you selected a dosing method? If SLGS with nadirs in blue you would hold this dose. With TR you could increase to 1.75. Your kitty is bouncing from the blues which is common at first. You test enough for TR.
Thanks am on TR
 
Your subject line should look something like "4/29 Shai AMPS 542 +2 331 +3 239 +5 182 +6 324". If you have specific question, you can summarize after that on the subject line. That will help draw people who can answer, such as dosing or a specific other question on medications, food, etc. You can update the subject line with new data as time goes on during the day, or if you have new questions. To update your subject line, go to the first post of the day, on the top right is a drop down menu called Thread Tools and you can select the Edit Thread option.

Regarding today's numbers, what is your regular feeding pattern? That jump from 182 to 324 seems out of place. But he also did a lot of steep drops in the early part of the cycles, both AM and PM. Steep drops can cause bounces and sometimes you can use food at appropriate times to slow those drops down enough that it doesn't cause another bounce. I'm also worried that there aren't later tests in some PM cycles. It's possible he went quite a bit lower the night of the 28th. If you cannot stay up late, leaving food out is how you can help keep him safe.
Thanks am staying up to 3am most days sleeping til 6am to give him a spoon then sleep til 9am preshot time…
He gets a full meal usually a can & 1/4 fills him up of FF
Then a spoon at +1 & +2 if he wants which he usually does…
Then it’s another spoon around +5 & +8

last night I decided that I will only do +1 +2 at night then a spoon at + 7 cause am drained & unwell myself
 
I agree that I would have tested again after that 128 last night (4/28). I would have needed to see if he was dropping even further after that since it was a pretty good drop to 128. I almost don't trust that 182 number -- or I don't trust the 324 number that came after it. It's a good idea if you ever get a number that seems really out of place to retest and make sure you haven't just had a bad test strip. It does happen. If Shai were my cat, I would increase to 1.75.
Sorry had to go to bed after 3am & testing him between 3 & 9am wasn’t possible as I was unwell myself but doubt he dropped cause of how he behaved for the spoon he got at 5am
 
I agree that I would have tested again after that 128 last night (4/28). I would have needed to see if he was dropping even further after that since it was a pretty good drop to 128. I almost don't trust that 182 number -- or I don't trust the 324 number that came after it. It's a good idea if you ever get a number that seems really out of place to retest and make sure you haven't just had a bad test strip. It does happen. If Shai were my cat, I would increase to 1.75.
I always retest with too high or low numbers the amount of strips am using is insane you’d be shocked
 
Back
Top