Update 11/1 4:00 PM ET: Luna bouncing back from DKA

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by For_Luna, Oct 26, 2019.

  1. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Luna was admitted this afternoon for DKA. She stopped eating late on Thursday 10/24. The morning was completely normal. By that night she was really lethargic. Took her to the ER and her blood work was normal except for slightly elevated bilirubin. Given anti-nausea injection and told to watch her.

    Yesterday morning she still wasn't eating so we took her to our regular vet. Did x-ray of abdomen and said she was constipated and given miralax and appetite stimulant.

    Late last night my wife (I was at a wedding for my family, she stayed back to watch Luna)took her to the ER again. She was really weak and still not eating. They gave her antibiotic more anti-nausea and did another x-ray.

    When I got home early this afternoon she looked really bad. Immediately took her to the ER where they did blood and urine test again. DKA. BG was 304 before we left. All of this happened in about 36 hours.

    I asked about DKA our first visit and they said the blood work and her BG in the 200s didn't indicate it. They said it could have been pancreatitis but again the tests didn't indicate that. They had us stop insulin because she wasn't eating..which probably made things worse.

    When she gets home, we will be getting a meter that can test for ketones (urine not an option).

    I'm mad that two vets didn't think to check for DKA in a diabetic cat that was in such a poor condition. I know her blood test was normal, but I feel like they should have checked out of caution. It's also our fault for not checking for ketones at home. I hope she'll be ok.
     
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I'm so sorry to read this about Luna! I certainly hope she'll be ok! Sending strong healing vines for her speedy recovery! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  3. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Dan, I am so sorry to hear this happened but I am relieved to hear Luna is home :bighug:.

    Do you know if they did the SNAP fPL? Just making sure they did the appropriate test for pancreatitis. Once it’s done then it should be sent out for an actual value (that test is fPLI)
    https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary/snap-tests/snap-fpl-test/

    FYI-One keto meter is the Abbott Precision Xtra. Doesn’t require a lot of blood.

    Sending healing thoughts your way!!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  4. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Tomlin likes this.
  5. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    She was just admitted a few hours ago. Sorry, I was rambling in my post.

    I don't know about the pancreatitis specific test. I think they were basing everything on imaging and the regular blood work. I'll ask when we check in
     
  6. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Totally understandable Dan :(. It’s an upsetting situation!

    Definitely ask for them to do the SNAP fPL which is a quick in office test to determine if Pancreatitis is probable-it’s a screening test. They then send it to IDEXX to run the actual Spec fPLI (if the SNAP is not normal) to determine the actual feline panreas specific lipase. While they are at it, they also have the option to ask for a full GI panel from the bloodwork. It’s being sent to IDEXX at TAMU, so may be worth just having them do a full panel while they are at it.

    Again, sending thoughts & prayers your way :bighug:
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Sorry to hear Luna is so ill. It does come in rapidly. I have nova max ketone/glucose meter. Takes small drop can be temperamental. Ketone strips are pricey and you only get 10 in a box. Getting urine from Ollie is impossible. Meter is more accurate. Good luck, keep us posted.
     
  8. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I don't mind the cost... especially considering what we paid for 3 ER visits and now hospitalization.

    I'm looking at the keto mojo meter. Strips are about $50 for 50. The Abbott Precision Xtra isn't terrible either.

    When we start testing, what can we do about ketones if we catch them? Just get her to the vet sooner?
     
  9. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I believe if reading on meter is over 2.45 then seeing vet is in order. Some have treated at home but it's tricky and serious. The electrolyte balance is off and needs to be monitored 24/7. To try to prevent it is to make sure they keep eating, give insulin, and find if it's from an infection somewhere and or pancreatitis. Having appt stimulant at home, meds for first sign of nausea, possibly even subq fluids to start right away if ketone meter starts showing elevated levels before it reaches the 2.45

    Maybe think about the TR dosing to get glucose lower faster. try to never miss insulin shot. Put DKA in your signature so everyone is aware it is an issue.

    DKA is from not enough insulin, not eating, and infection/inflammation somewhere. Those are the 3 things you need to address and stay on top of.
     
  10. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Oh Dan, so sorry to hear about Luna's DKA, I am no help at all but I just wanted to let you know I am thinking of you and Luna and I am sending tons of healing vines for your dear girl.

    I would find your vets really frustrating for not thinking of DKA as well.

    Feel better soon Luna :bighug:
     
  11. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Thank you. I even mentioned DKA because I read about it here. But because her numbers were in the 200s and her blood work was pretty normal, they thought it was unlikely.

    We're getting a meter now and won't let this sneak up on us again
     
    Tomlin and AmandaE like this.
  12. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Thanks for the info. We were following TR for the most part, though we were guilty of holding a dose for an extra day occasionally.

    We showed our vet the spreadsheet and she was concerned with the up and down of Luna's numbers and is constantly changing the dose. She wants us to hold .75 for 2 weeks before adjusting. To be honest, what we're doing isn't working, so I'll try just about anything.
     
  13. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    :(
    Dan, I have watched you really work your you know what off trying to get Luna regulated. Right now you have your hands full, but maybe give some serious thought to making the trip to Ryan Hospital’s Diabetes Center at UPenn &/or dropping a call to the Cornell Feline Consult line to discuss your situation. You are fortunate that you are not too far from a leading specialized center. Just a thought given how hard it has been to regulate Luna & now the DKA :(

    Again, my thoughts are with you & Luna :bighug:
     
  14. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    We were just talking about that today. We'll probably give them a call once Luna is home and things settle down
     
  15. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Just spoke to the overnight tech. It's only been 4 or 5 hours, so not much happening yet. They're still trying to feed her and she hasn't gone to the bathroom yet. Her numbers are slowly coming down; 270s now, 300s when we left her. Hopefully we'll see some progress by tomorrow afternoon when we visit
     
  16. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Dan I am so sorry this has happened.
    I am very surprised that the vets said to stop the insulin when Luna was not eating and then when they gave an antibiotic yesterday,
    That surely should have rung a bell for checking ketones. Ketones and DKA develop when there is not enough insulin, not enough food and an infection or inflammation present. So Luna had the perfect recipe .......and they didn't see it!
    This is not your fault......you pay the vets for treatment.

    Hopefully now Luna is on the mend. Please keep us updated and when she comes home we can help you with the care she will need until she has fully recovered.
     
  17. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    That is great news Dan...:any progress is welcome!

    Here is some contact info at Penn:

    Rebecka S. Hess, DVM, MSCE, Dipl. ACVIM
    Professor of Internal Medicine
    Chief, Section of Medicine
    Department of Clinical Sciences & Advanced Medicine
    School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
    Voice mail: (215) 898-9427Pharmacy: (215) 898-7881
    Appointment Desk: (215)-746-VETS Emergency Room:(215)-746-V911
    Fax:(215) 573-6050. E-mail:rhess@upenn.edu

    Dr Shea is collaborating with Dr Hess. I wouldn’t be afraid to drop an email to Dr Shea explaining your situation & inquiring about who will be available on clinics with respect to Diabetes specialization in the upcoming weeks/months. I believe they work their appts like some other universities where you are able to ask for specific vets clinical rotation time & then schedule the appt with the person you would like to see when they will be there. That is nice because there are some clinics where you don’t have the ability to do that—like at TAMU.

    I hope you are able to get some sleep tonight & tomorrow is a much better day for Luna!
     
  18. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    So sorry for little Luna :(. Vets did not do a great job.... a good thing you're there Dan!
    Keep posting ! We want good news of our Rocket Queen ! :bighug:
     
  19. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Do we need to tell them to syringe feed Luna or just let them follow their plan? It sounds like they're just putting food down and hoping she'll eat once she gets down to normal BG numbers. If not eating is part of what caused this, shouldn't they be getting food in her? I asked if they'll make her eat if she won't on her own, and they said that's for the doctor to decide.

    Our regular vet had us start syringe feeding. This is a separate hospital.

    Edit: my wife fed her 9ml at 1 PM today, so she had something. I'll bring it up when we go tomorrow.
     
  20. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm so sorry. DKA is nerve wracking. I went through it when Gabby was diagnosed. I suspect they caught it early if the initial bloodwork wasn't showing much of anything. Hopefully, the first set of labs they ran included electrolytes. Unfortunately, ketones can develop quickly. Please let us know if there's anything we can do.

    You may need to ask if they have her on a dextrose drip. Again, I'm assuming they do. Usually, they have dextrose running and use a short acting insulin to hammer the BG numbers down. The dextrose tempers the action of the insulin (typically either Humulin N or R). The sugar solution is a form of nutrition but as you suspect, food is better. They are likely going to get Luna on something for nausea and an appetite stimulant.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  21. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm so sorry. I hope Luna gets better quickly and will eat on her own soon. Sending prayers.
     
  22. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Ah, ok. They said she was on a fast acting insulin drip and I thought the vet mentioned glucose, but she could have said dextrose. Either way, I feel better that's at least some nutrition.

    They mentioned electrolytes and potassium were normal the first test. And I think we got it early, but it could have been sooner if they tested again at the ER when we were there at 2 AM.
     
  23. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I absolutely agree that they should have been getting labs. (Personally, I'd having a stern talk with whoever is in charge of the clinic and asking them to adjust the bill.) It frosts me that many professionals assume that we don't know what we're talking about even when we're right..

    They may use glucose or dextrose -- they are both simple sugars.
     
  24. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    They got labs our first visit, but we were back less than 24 hours later. I think they assumed not much could have changed. There probably needs to be different thinking for diabetics
     
  25. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Not to belabor the point, none of us here are vets. WE know how quickly ketones develop. And trust me, if it was a human who had back to back ER visits, as soon as they get you in. a room, they draw blood for labs. It should be no different for our kitties.
     
  26. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I am so sorry this is happening, Dan. I am so disappointed and saddened to hear how things transpired for you, Luna, and the family in the last few days. You did everything in your power to help Luna. I agree with Sienne: the vets/practice you saw over the last few days need a stern talking to.

    There was one time where a diabetic cat came in for inappetence and vomiting and we were attempting to get a urine sample but the kitty voided her bladder onto her towel and her bladder was empty. We desperately squeezed those droplets of pee out of that towel to try to get a ketone test and when that didn't work, we kept the kitty with us until she peed again. Her BG wasn't insanely high then but I'd be extremely disappointed in any vet if they didn't think to test for ketones with a diabetic patient that is not doing well.

    In regards to the snapFPL vs specFPL. To save on cost, since Luna is already hospitalized, I'd go for the specFPL. She's most likely already getting treatment for pancreatitis and the spec test is much more accurate.
     
  27. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Sending prayers for you all and Luna:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  28. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    I am so sorry this is happening. I can't offer any help except moral support and shared outrage that it seems this could have been prevented had your vet been more tuned in. :( Thinking of you and Luna.
     
  29. Jerry dutchboy

    Jerry dutchboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Oh poor little Luna and you as well. Thinking of you and healing vines being sent your way.:bighug:
     
  30. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Prayers for Luna and Dan and wife. Rooting hard for you Luna - we believe you'll get much better:bighug: You have great people and support, even if you, Dan have to lead the way. Be strong and know you aren't alone . . .
     
  31. Tina and Salem

    Tina and Salem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
     
  32. Tina and Salem

    Tina and Salem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    I hope your baby will be ok i had to admit salem to for dka hes gradually getting better i havent been aware too to check the ketones i will be checking his ketones too for now on . There is so much involved with these diabetic cats . Im so grateful for DCIN is helping salem . Hope your baby gets better . Salem did the same as your baby very weak and largethic . Also be aware they get very dehydrated too salem was severly dehydrated .
     
  33. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Prayers and love,light and healing:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  34. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Sending healing vibes to your sweet Luna.

    Testing is the first line of defense. Glad to hear you are getting a meter that checks for the presence of ketones. They were just coming onto the scene back in our day.
    Lunas experience highlights the fact that BG doesn’t not need to be crazy high for ketones to develop.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  35. Suzanne Burton

    Suzanne Burton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Your family is in my thoughts and prayers.
     
  36. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Prayers for Luna. :bighug:
     
  37. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Luna isn't doing well. Her BG is in the 180s, but the electrolyte and potassium supplementation isn't working. Both numbers came back low. They're afraid she won't make it through the night if the numbers don't improve. The next test is coming this hour, so we're waiting to hear.

    We just visited and spent an hour with her. She was holding her head up some and looking around, but she could barely stand and walk. We brought her favorite blanket...not sure that helps but she got on it when we were there.

    If she improves today, they're going to take a closer look at her abdomen when the specialist is there tomorrow.
     
  38. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Dan, many, many prayers for healing for Luna. Know that SO many are praying for her recovery. I’m sure it was helpful for her to see you & to get her favorite blanket to bring her comfort. Their blankets with familiar scents are very helpful especially in the hospital.
     
  39. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  40. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Max healing vines for sweet Luna, hang in there girl, you’ve got all of us sending healing vines and prayers your way :bighug:
     
  41. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Just heard from the vet. Electrolytes and potassium are still dropping, but it's slowed down. Hopefully that means the supplements are close to the proper dose. They're increasing and also increasing insulin since she's back up to 240. She was 220 at 11AM, and that 180 was from earlier.

    Next test is in 4 hours. We're probably going back to see her later before they switch to the overnight staff.
     
    Dyana, Karen&Rocket, Tomlin and 2 others like this.
  42. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    So glad Luna has a familiar blanket. We are all fighting hard for her with our thoughts, vines, and prayers.
     
    Tomlin and AmandaE like this.
  43. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Keeping Luna in my thoughts and prayers and sending healing vines. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  44. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Picture from just last week.

    It's sunny and the birds are outside her favorite window chirping. She likes days like today.
     

    Attached Files:

  45. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    We will be waiting (hopefully for any improvement) on next electrolyte and potassium test, and hoping for even better blood glucose with decreasing ketones. Fluids should be helping - sending more healing vines for little Luna - we love her through you.
    Visiting her, and bringing her favorite blanket, are most definitely little extra ways to help Luna. Continued prayers and don't think the worst. Think of all the things that do help, that she is getting.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  46. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Sending prayers for little Luna ! Waiting for the next hopefully good update!
    Nice that she has her blanket.
     
  47. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm glad she has her favorite blanket.
    The visits to her, help.
    Keep thinking positive thoughts.
    Prayers for your Luna to make it through.
     
  48. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Oh my gosh, Dan! My heart dropped on the floor as I was reading through this just now. I am SO sorry this is happening! I was just thinking of Luna today and wondering how she was before I read all this. I am sending tons of prayers, vines, support and comfort for you, your wife and your dear sweet, Luna. Please keep us posted and know that Team Luna is there for you.
     
  49. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Adding more healing vines to the pile Dan. You can never have enough. Many hugs for you and your wife. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  50. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Just heard from the vet. BG went up to 240s. Going to increase insulin if it gets over 250

    Potassium and Chloride (?) values stopped falling and increased by .1 each. Potassium was 2.2 and I'm not sure what the other was. I didn't have pen/paper nearby.

    She's no where close to being out of danger, but at least we're not falling anymore. Next electrolytes test is in 6hrs. The vet said we're already at a high but safe level of potassium, so she doesn't want to increase again yet.

    If she's ok through the night, they want to do a more in depth scan to see if they can find what triggered this. I'll ask about the pancreatitis test tonight, but they seem to think something else is going on. After that we're going to discuss a feeding tube. She said they need to sedate, so she wants her electrolytes better before we consider.

    We're going back soon to visit. They keep saying "if she makes it through the night"...I know I can't, but I want to stay with her in case things take a turn. A scary cage surrounded by strangers is not what I want for her in the end
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  51. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    When you go back, bring food she's used to. See if she'll eat for you. The noise from other animals, strangers, feeling lousy all may effect whether Luna eats. She may be willing to eat, even if you have to feed by hand (or spoon) for you.

    Dan -- when Gabby was diagnosed, I went through much the same thing. I had 2 vets try to prepare me for losing Gabby. She fought to come back and we had 6.5. years. Talk to your kitty. You know her. Cats tell us what they want and when it's time. We just need to be smart enough to listen. That said, this Board seems by work its magic in surprising ways. People are sending all sorts of good mojo Luna's way. The power of the paw does seem to help.
     
  52. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    She has to go on the right side, we love her!
    As Sienne said, if you can try to get her eating her food. The more she'll feel at home, the better!
    I keep thinking of her and sending all my positive vines and all my energy for your lovely sweetie.
     
  53. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Dan

    I’m so sorry to hear about Luna’s DKA. Pancreatitis is more an inflammation than infection and so I wonder if this is infection going on and if they should have her on a broad spectrum antibiotic?

    Depending on the type of fluids they use (e.g. lactated Ringers), there might also be potassium in them which can help. Keep an eye on her liver enzymes and always question them what they are. You do not want to deal with hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver) on top of this; she would need a feeding tube to get through that so if you are able to get food into her yourself, it would be best.

    In all the cats we’ve had that have had to go to the ER, it’s been my experience they don’t try to feed. They put food down and if it’s eaten, great. If not, whatever. I always insist on being allowed to feed my cats when in hospital.

    Many healing vines.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2019
  54. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Sending vines and praying she turns it around.
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  55. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    If you are also able to bring something like a T shirt that you’ve worn with your scent on it, that is often comforting for them as well.

    I’m not sure if they have a place for you to stay but I once stayed in my car in the parking lot of an emergency clinic due to a similar situation. I would go in & check on things every few hours. Whatever it is that gives you peace, do it. Just follow your gut & try not to overthink it. It is also ok to go home. There is no right or wrong thing to do.

    Much love & prayers your way and more Healing vines to Luna.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  56. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Adding to the pile of get better vines headed towards Luna. :bighug: :bighug:These are for you.

    I like the idea of taking her own food in. Often we hear from people who say kitty eats for them in ER. When Neko was in our local ER, they encouraged caregivers to come and spend time with and feed, as they knew animals are more likely to eat with their people.
     
  57. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Oh Dan,
    I agree with everyone -- you may be able to get her to eat when nobody else can. Continued prayers and vines.
     
  58. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Dan, I’m so very sorry for what you and your wife are going through with your precious little Luna. Please stay positive, she will make it through this.

    Tons of prayers and vines and positive thoughts sent your way.
     
  59. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Just got back from visiting. She's really tired and didn't move much. I took some of the glycobalance we use for when her BG is low because she likes the gravy, but she barely sniffed it.

    Tomorrow they're going to do a deeper scan of her organs to see if they can figure out what triggered this. She's first up when the specialist gets there in the morning. But she has been getting antibiotics since being admitted.

    They want to do a feeding tube, but they're concerned about her electrolytes first. They want them up if possible before sedating to put in the tube. Could happen tomorrow if things look better. They also mentioned getting a nutritionist to help because of her probable fish allergy and being diabetic.

    Next update from the vet is in about 2.5 hrs.
     
  60. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Dan praying for your precious baby to get better, Luna come on sweetie you can do this. Like others have said maybe you can get her to eat for you. Keeping Luna in my prayers
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  61. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Hang in there Dan. Continued thoughts, love & prayers to you, Luna & family ❤️
     
    AmandaE likes this.
  62. Mariella & Simba

    Mariella & Simba Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018
    Sending prayers for little Luna, and you both as well. Good she has her own blanket. I use an animal communicator who once told me my hospitalized kitty "wants a pink blanket". She survived, and was surrounded by pink blankets until she died at 20.5yo this year.
     
  63. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Dan, my heart is with you & your wife and beautiful Luna. I pray that she starts to feel better very, very soon. FYI, I had a cat with a feeding tube in the past. It sounds scary, but it's really not that difficult. Thanks for the updates.
     
  64. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Sending many get better vines to Luna. And hugs to you.
    We are all hoping to hear some good news.
    Bron
     
  65. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Yes, Team Luna is hoping and praying and sending even more vines!
     
  66. Margie and Jackson

    Margie and Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Sending prayers, vines and love to precious Luna!
     
  67. Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA)

    Sandi&Maxine&Whispy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    When our first diabetic cat was in ICU at our local vet school, they made this fort inside of his cage. Almost everyone else in there was a dog, and they knew it was discomforting for him. It was just an upside down cardboard box, but they created flap doors on the front that they could open to see him and treat him. Not sure if they'd allow that, but you could ask.

    Also, they had a "quiet room". When we came during ICU visiting hours, as long as he wasn't actively getting any treatments or in oxygen, they let us take him into the quiet room, which was just a glass room within the ICU so that they could still see us and vice versa if needed, but it cut down on the volume, and we were able to just lay on the small couch with him on our chests. You might ask if they have any kind of quiet place that you could take her to for a little while if you aren't able to do that already.

    My heart and my hopes are all with you. She's a very beautiful little girl.
     
  68. Stressedcatmom

    Stressedcatmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Prayers for Luna :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  69. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Just heard from overnight vet. Slight improvement in numbers. Potassium is 2.4 up from 2.2. Chloride and sodium also very small improvements. Next update tomorrow by 9 AM after another round of electrolyte test and then the abdomen ultrasound. Said she's still very sick, but this is two tests in a row that her numbers are getting better. I'm still very worried, but at least I can go to sleep knowing things are improving and not getting worse.
     
  70. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Please try to get some rest. Thinking of you all. Thanks so much for the update. :bighug:
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  71. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    That's really encouraging news Dan. I hope you and your wife get a good nights rest.
    Please feel better Luna, our thoughts and prayers are with you. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  72. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That is encouraging. :bighug:
    Thinking of you Luna and sending positive thoughts
     
  73. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Good to hear that there is a slight improvement, praying for some good news tomorrow, come on baby girl we are all praying for you.
     
  74. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    It's encouraging that her numbers are improving.
    Sending more vines
     
  75. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Sending more prayers and healing vines for Luna, big HUGS Dan, sorry you are going through all this
     
  76. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Prayers for continued improvement!
     
  77. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Sending tons of prayers and love for sweet Luna! I am so sorry you have to deal with DKA. But I know Luna can do this, she is a strong little lady and soon DKA will be just a bad memory . :bighug:
     
    AmandaE likes this.
  78. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Love,Light and Healing being sent:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  79. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    All the best of luck this morning Dan. :bighug:
     
  80. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Spoke to the morning vet, whose bedside manner wasn't the greatest. Luna's potassium was up to 2.6, and her Chloride and sodium also slightly increased. I don't think this vet was aware of the other lower tests, because he said she "tanked" even though her numbers have been increasing.

    They're worried about fatty liver, so putting in a feeding tube in the next hour. Hopefully getting some food will help. They'll call to update after the procedure
     
  81. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
  82. Jerry dutchboy

    Jerry dutchboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Big hugs to you both and major healing vines to little Luna. Hope with food on board she will feel a lot better.
     
  83. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    That sounds good Dan...:.more progress ! Food should help Luna.

    I’m sorry you had to deal with poor bedside manner- totally unacceptable, especially given the situation is already stressful enough for you. Hopefully the vet will adjust their attitude! If not, & if you don’t feel comfortable with them from a treatment perspective, don’t hesitate to politely ask for another one (if there is another vet there). It’s important that you are able to communicate & trust who you are working with.

    Continued thoughts & healing vibes being sent your way :bighug:
     
  84. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    More in depth ultrasound showed nothing except for fatty liver. So it's still a mystery what triggered this. I asked about pancreatitis and they said the imaging and blood tests didn't really indicate that but they were treating anyway. I was too overwhelmed to ask about the specific test.

    How long will pancreatitis show up on the test if we get them to do it later? And even if they don't test, is there any specific treatment for pancreatitis that we need to do moving forward?
     
  85. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Your last two updates are so promising Dan! I really believe Luna is fighting to get better and I’m sure she will :)

    I’m keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers... get better soon Luna!
     
  86. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hoping getting food on board will help that sweet girl. She is a fighter
     
  87. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    I wish I could answer your questions, but I'm so glad to hear Luna is improving. There is no excuse for anything less than compassion and patience from vets when a person is trying everything to help their furry friend. I am so sorry you had to deal with someone who had bad cat-side manner. Come on Luna --- get some food in you & get better so you can come home! Team Luna is rooting for you!
     
    Sonia & Leo and Suzanne Burton like this.
  88. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Hi Dan :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    I’m glad Luna’s numbers are going up.

    Was the ultrasound done with a radiologist? Ultrasounds is a good way to check for pancreatitis. But normal blood labs won’t be able to tell you it there’s pancreatitis (you can guess but usually the most definitive answer is the specific snapFPL or specFPL test and ultrasound).

    But they’re already probably treating for pancreatitis hopefully. The biggest component is getting ahead of pain and nausea so I’d ask about that. In desperate cases, drugs for inflammation is next and the most effective choice is probably a steroid. When Ming was in DKA with pancreatitis (they saw necrotic cysts in his ultrasound), my vet asked if I was open to giving a dexamethasone shot. It’s not the first choice especially because of the diabetes. But it did the trick for Ming.

    Are they checking ketones regularly?

    I’m glad Luna is getting a feeding tube in. Food is so important when treating all the suspected issues she’s been diagnosed with.
     
    Sonia & Leo, Tomlin and AmandaE like this.
  89. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The in-house test for pancreatitis is a Snap fPL. It reads like a pregnancy test -- either a + or a -. For actual numbers, they vet needs to send out the blood for a Spec fPL. This is a link to the Primer on Pancreatits that Marje (Marje and Gracie) put together.

    When Gabby was diagnosed with DKA, she also had pancreatitis and fatty liver. Like I said previously, she overcame those obstacles.
     
    Sonia & Leo, Tomlin and AmandaE like this.
  90. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Hi Dan, I am very sorry to hear what you, your wife, and dear Luna have been going through. Lots of healing vines and good thoughts for a swift recovery are heading your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
    Back in the "old days" there was a Yahoo assisted feeding group, but Yahoo no longer supports it's former groups and I could not find if it has moved to another server. Another of the Yahoo groups, the highly regarded Feline Pancreatitis support group, has just moved its site to a new server: https://groups.io/g/FelinePancreatitisSupport.

    Has anyone given you the recipe for the "Liver Shake for Sick Cats"? Might be worth a try:

    "THE '~LIVER SHAKE~' FOR SICK CATS

    This liquid food is appropriate for cats suffering from conditions where they are eating very little or not at all such as anemias, leukemias, deficiency states with symptoms of lethargy, listlessness, and weakness.


    1 cup RAW LIVER (BEEF, or CHICKEN)

    1 cup FRESH CARROT JUICE or V-8, or Tomatoe Juice

    1/4 cup *FRESH FILTERED WATER

    1 RAW EGG YOLK

    1 tsp.KELP POWDER OR SPIRULINA



    COMBINE AND MIX IN A BLENDER UNTIL LIQUEFIED. (Note: it will be frothy)


    Dosage:


    Administer 10cc daily 3-6 times a day. (6Occ per day max)


    Some cats will need to be force-fed with a syringe, while others will drink it out of a bowl.


    This food has a sweet and salty taste, and the energetic properties of tonifying (energy boosting), warming and stimulating and supports the kidneys, spleen, liver and stomach.


    This drink is a complete dinner for a sick cat until they feel good enough to eat by themselves again.


    *Substitute rice water if the cat has diarrhea. Rice water

    is made by boiling white rice (2 Tbsp) with water (1cup) for 30 minutes.

    This liquid aids digestion and assimilation and inhibits the symptoms of diarrhea."


    I hope that today will be a good day for Luna.
     
  91. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Dan,

    My boy has chronic pancreatitis & has had a history of the liver becoming inflamed as well. Pain management is crucial, fluids & sometimes there is also a need for antibiotics in addition to a steroid. The Spec fPLI is important not only for diagnosis but also to be able to check on the pancreatic lipase level later. Does the problem resolve & the numbers return to normal? If so it is hopefully an acute case. If the cat continues to have issues & the vet repeats the Spec fPLI, they are able to get an idea of if the problem is staying the same or worsening. Having this test repeated at different points in time is helpful & is an important additional piece of information that can be used to help with treatment decisions down the road if pancreatitis is the issue for Luna. In addition to the Spec fPLI, a full GI panel can be ordered & that will check folate, cobalamin, TLI. All of these help with determining if there is potentially some IBD involved-specifically Folate & Cobalamin. However, you will most likely be told that without more invasive studies to do biopsies, a definitive diagnosis of IBD is unable to be made. The TLI level determines if there is any Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency occurring which is a when the pancreas fails to produce enough digestive enzymes. Recent studies have shown that pancreatitis is generally associated with other inflammatory conditions, particularly IBD, so hopefully, if the vets are going down the pancreatitis path, they are also looking for the other issues as well.

    Happy to hear there is continued progress!
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  92. For_Luna

    For_Luna Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    We got a call this morning that she crashed after they brought her out of anesthesia. We told them to continue CPR until we got there. We prepared for the worst but she was awake on the table when we got there. Next few hours are critical. If everything is quiet, the plan is to feed tonight after consult with nutritionist. It's been a tough few days but she's not ready yet. We're not leaving here anytime soon
     
  93. Tomlin

    Tomlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Dan I just posted & then saw this latest update. My heart sank. I am so sorry to hear this happened but relieved to hear she is awake. Prayers to you & Luna. I am sure she is happy you are there.
     
  94. J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

    J.J. and Phoebe Squeak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Oh Dan! My heart was on the floor reading your update. So glad you are there with her at this critical time. She does not want to leave you!! Sending more prayers & vines!
     
  95. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Luna, you are so strong. Dan, I am so sorry this is happening. You know what's best for Luna and it's clear she is still fighting to stay with you and your family. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  96. Sanda Elena

    Sanda Elena Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Oh Luna! I have a pain chest after reading your update. I am so relieved she is awake. Yes she is critical but she is a fighter. Sending more prayers.
     
  97. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Please, please pull through Luna!! You can do this sweetie!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  98. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Luna is a fighter! I agree Dan, she isn’t done yet!!

    come on Luna Girl, you’re doing great, let’s see you get through this!

    healing thoughts vines and extra prayers for sweet Luna, I believe you can pull through this Luna! We’re cheering you on!!

    Hang in there Dan, you’re doing a great job being there for your girl :bighug:
     
    Tomlin likes this.
  99. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sending all sorts of good thoughts Luna's way.
     
  100. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    There is an entire forum with members from all over the world standing there in spirit with you and your wife.
     

Share This Page