Update - Remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.
3x per day is rarely a good idea, although I've seen a couple of owners try it with some success.

Sam's numbers are low enough that even in his high range, he's still in pretty decent numbers. He often hits nadir and then "surfs" through the middle of the cycle meaning that he stays in roughly the same range for several hours. The curve I did on 6/10 during the AM cycle shows what I mean. However, I am switching to Lantus soon in the hope that an insulin with longer duration will help him a bit more.

Having an early nadir can be because of too little insulin, too much insulin, not the right insulin for the cat, or just a quirk of the cat. Time and data can help you figure out which one it is.
Can I ask why you are switching to Lantus from Prozinc? I was thinking if I had to switch I would like to try Prozinc first?
 
so I'm going to try and measure 1/4 of that? 1/2 of .25? I can hardly see the lines:-) Thanks for the thread. I think I understand the "twist" but will need practice for sure. I just want to be sure that I understand... the .5 mark on the u-100 is equal to .2 on the u-40 syringe. I can read but will feel better with human confirmation:-)
 
Pretty much, just usually with U-40 syringes it's easier to measure in 0.25 increments, which is why it's easier to do smaller doses on U-100s since the dose can be done in 0.2 increments :)
 
Also if you look at the SS the 1+ is not such a dramatic drop. I didn't intentionally try to reduce the dose today but with the u-40 syringe there is much room for variance. The vetsulin vial is 28+ days not sure that is a factor but for today will not do the evening dose until I have practiced and intentionally try to give the .125 u. That is correct?
 
Also if you look at the SS the 1+ is not such a dramatic drop. I didn't intentionally try to reduce the dose today but with the u-40 syringe there is much room for variance. The vetsulin vial is 28+ days not sure that is a factor but for today will not do the evening dose until I have practiced and intentionally try to give the .125 u. That is correct?
the vial is good for at least 3 months as long as it's kept in the refridgerator.
 
Can I ask why you are switching to Lantus from Prozinc? I was thinking if I had to switch I would like to try Prozinc first?

I'm switching because we're almost at six months on Prozinc, and Sam's been "stuck" in the same numbers and dose for quite a long time now. I'm hoping that a longer duration insulin will help get rid of the blues and keep him more consistently in greens. He's doing qutie well on Prozinc, so it's really just trying to fine-tune things a bit.
 
Also if you look at the SS the 1+ is not such a dramatic drop. I didn't intentionally try to reduce the dose today but with the u-40 syringe there is much room for variance. The vetsulin vial is 28+ days not sure that is a factor but for today will not do the evening dose until I have practiced and intentionally try to give the .125 u. That is correct?
I wouldn't drive yourself crazy with getting that half .25 dose. If you do .25 and let out a drop or two you've got it.
 
Update. 6:30 I used the u-100 syringe and pulled to just above the .5 mark, could still see the bottom of the top .0 mark. The syringe seems much smaller than the U-40's and the plunger slides more freely. The label says they are for use with/ U-100 insulin for 30 units or less/ .3ml volume, 31 gauge, 5/16 needle length "super thin11 - comfort assured". I will test her in another 20 mins. but she almost acts like I gave her a larger dose than I have been. She was just sitting in her bed eyes a little dilated. It's very cool out so could be the arthritis. She's quite comfortable and sleeping well now so I'm not overly concerned but it's just barely 1+ so will watch.
 
If someone could please check the SS at 5+ Kitty's bg# is 253 at 5+. I don't think the 1/2 .25 cu is a good idea. I'm thinking she had settled into the .25 cu very well but her bg # had stayed in the upper blues. She seemed to being doing well even with the 1 shot a day. I'm more inclined to think that .25 cu 2x a day will be a better dose. I'll test again tonight before the PMPT and see where she is at that time.

To go back to the .25 cu do I go ahead and give the .125 cu tonight and then in the AM give the full .25 cu again? I am going to talk to the Vet about giving her an AM and PM dose of the .25 cu. I know this isn't enough time to see any real impact in the 2 doses but I could see the deteriorating in her behavior/condition in these 5+ hrs.

Any thoughts?
 
If it was my cat, I would do 0.25 BID (twice per day). However, only do the 0.25 tonight if you can monitor the cycle. Otherwise, go with the smaller dose and increase tomorrow. Also remember that I haven't been following your journey as closely as others, so if someone else gives a different suggestion, I would defer to them!
 
If it was my cat, I would do 0.25 BID (twice per day). However, only do the 0.25 tonight if you can monitor the cycle. Otherwise, go with the smaller dose and increase tomorrow. Also remember that I haven't been following your journey as closely as others, so if someone else gives a different suggestion, I would defer to them!
thank you. I'm thinking I should give the smaller dose tonight the same as I did this morning. That way her total for the day will be the same as she has been getting in the 1 dose prior. In the morning I'll give the normal .25 cu dose and discuss options with the vet. I was just looking at the SS and her morning #'s after the shot are not all that low and have been getting more consistent. Those numbers tend to then go up in the evening as the dose wears off. I will discuss this with the Vet at some point tomorrow and get her take on it. Any thoughts?

The other factor is that she had been outside and the temperature has been very chilly. Thinking maybe her arthritis caused some stress and could account for some of the higher 5+.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top