Urgent PMPS DOSAGE advise

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by 8catsplus2, Sep 2, 2020.

  1. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2020
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Yeah blues! We love seeing some blues.
    Reduced dose (10-25% of the current dose), if you are able to stall and not feed Lucy at PMPS and she has not come up yet.
    0.75 times 10% = 0.07 so less than the first line on the syringe.
    0.75 times 25% = 0.1875 so about 0.2U of insulin. Still quite a small dose, and hard to measure.

    Skip if the BG is <150 and does not come back up within 1 hour. You need to NOT feed and retest every 20 minutes, to see if the BG's come up to a safer level to shoot the regular 0.75U dose.

    The questions to ask yourself are can you stay up and test later if Lucy throws you low numbers? Do you know how to deal with low numbers and have your hypo toolkit ready to go?

    That information is in the Prozinc dosing protocol document.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  3. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I just tested her if she was 116. But unfortunately I already fed her. I got your message after I fed her. I was just going to skip Do you recommend that. Yes I can stay up all night and yes I have my hypo kit
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I'm sorry, I never got this tag. This site really needs to look into this bug. :(

    Did you decide to skip? That would have been the safe thing since you already fed.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  5. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yes I skipped..I will monitor her through the night
     
    Deb & Wink and Panic like this.
  6. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Did not get the tag either.

    Nice blues.

    Think you can give a snack and go to bed after +3 if number is similar or higher.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  7. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I just tested she was 148
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  8. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Nite to you.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  9. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Good night to you too.. Do you think if her # are still under 200 should I give her .50 or .75 at her AMPS
     
    Deb & Wink and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  10. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    If she's under 200 tomorrow remember to stall feeding and see if she hits 200 on her own.
    If she's still between 150 and 200 after stalling give her a reduced dose like Deb said above, 0.07 to 0.20 u.
    Under 150 skip.
     
  11. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks..
     
    Deb & Wink and Panic like this.
  12. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Panic how long is a stall
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  13. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Usually 20-30 minutes, then retest.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  14. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks how many times do I stall b4 I can feed her
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  15. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    If she's still not up after about an hour you can skip or token dose. Don't want to go too far from your schedule.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  16. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    She was 172 just now and 179 an hour ago
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  17. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay, I see you skipped but a token dose would have been alright. Nice job stalling today. :)
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  18. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I fill more comfortable skipping I also need to keep her shot time @ 7 am and 7 pm
     
    Panic likes this.
  19. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Gotta stay on schedule! :)
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  20. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yes Even though I hate getting up at 7:00 in the morning. I can't have it much later than that because if I have to go somewhere (doctor appointment for Mom or dad) I'd have to leave by 8:00 which would throw a monkey wrench into everything.
    Thanks for your help
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.

Share This Page