Vacation issue

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Rascalsmom3, Jun 27, 2021.

1. Rascalsmom3

Rascalsmom3 Member

I hope it’s ok to ask. We were planning on bringing our 16yo make diabetic cat with us on our family road trip. The drive is approx 16-18hrs. Our mid stop cabin has fallen through last minute so it would be straight through. Unfortunately we can’t cancel the trip as it’s related to a possible move. He’s very temperamental (stresses very easily) and my husband would prefer to have a house sitter just check in on him. My issue is that no one else can get a BG reading on him or give insulin, as he tends to go into a feral like mode. I don’t feel comfortable with him not having lantus insulin for the 6 days we’d be gone. His numbers have been very sporadic to me as well but I’m still learning. He is like my child and I worry so much about him. I would appreciate any advice. So far most don’t understand how far I’m willing to go for my fur baby.

I do have his readings in my signature I hope.

2. Howiesmom

Howiesmom Member

Do you have a vet clinic that does boarding or lodging? Or can you ask them for some recommendations of really experienced folks who can help? Sometimes vet clinic staff will help out for cash on the side. It never hurts to ask before making him take such a long ride that would stress him and you out. I would also hate the thought of not getting him insulin for 6 days.

3. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Can you get a hotel room for the night? Many hotels are "pet friendly".

4. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator