Vet just tried to fire us as patients

Dexter & I are on our 4th vet since his diagnosis. I just had an intro w her last month & prior to that a different vet took him off insulin for a week & the one before that was even worse. So last I saw her she wanted to keep him on .25 for 2 weeks & for me to send him a curve & discuss dosing. Meanwhile…I was fast tracking him & got him in good #s thanks to the board. So I never sent her a curve & we had a phone consult scheduled that I had canceled.

I made an appt w her this week bc Dex was running high a few days (500 consistently)

So she gets in the office with us this morning & is basically like “I don’t know if I’m going to be able to help you since we had a plan and I don’t know what happened”. She wouldn’t even look @ my spreadsheet even though she did last time.

I started crying bc I still wanted him checked out and I also still need the pzi rx. She felt bad & decided to still look @ him. He gained 2 lbs. (up to 14 from 12) She didn’t think anything was wrong for real, said his teeth still looked good. A little tartar but no bad ones. I got him full bloodwork up & urinalysis. We only did liver & kidneys last time @ a prior vet. I will post results here when I have them. And now she wants me to call her when it’s been 2 weeks on 1.75U & send her a curve.

Today AMPS 341; 108 @ +6

Happy Friday! 😻
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0374.jpeg
    IMG_0374.jpeg
    4.6 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0380.jpeg
    IMG_0380.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 16
She was definitely ego trippin a lil & I get where she’s coming from but she was so impressed w the spreadsheet last time and today “it wouldn’t help”. But yeah I really wanted him checked out
 
What was the "plan" the vet recommended?

This kind of nonsense with vets drives me crazy. Many years ago when Gabby was first diagnosed, I had a great vet. She did get a bit flustered with me when I mentioned that I was getting advice from this Board. She started lecturing about listening to the crazy people on the internet. My response was to ask her for her cell phone number. I pointed out that unless she was going to be available 24/7, I was going to get support and instructions on how to manage low numbers from people who knew a good deal about feline diabetes. (I also pointed out that I had handed her the research articles on the use of Lantus and the Tight Regulation Protocol which she was unfamiliar with. I reminded her that I have access to medical and veterinary libraries.)
 
Exactly!! Her plan was for me to email her the curve after he had been back on .25U for 2 weeks. .25U wasn’t touching him after not having had any medicine for a week so I was listening to @Suzanne & Darcy on a fast track (not waiting full two weeks) to get him to good #s. So by the time I was supposed to email her we were already over .25 & she still would’ve been annoyed bc she wanted to be in charge of dosing. I had a phone consult scheduled (that would’ve cost $45 to get her on the phone) and I canceled that bc he was doing ok & I didn’t need any advice.

So when I saw her yesterday it was basically like a “where u been” bc last she knew he was on .25U & she doesn’t think I know what I was doing. I told her I did the dosing myself bc the last vet said “the board is bullshit & those ppl could be anybody”. I feel like I can’t win & the thought of going to yet another vet was so daunting bc I actually liked this one during our intro. The prior vets have been of so little help that I basically was kinda like “I got this” (w the help of the board) and it’s not like she is available at my shot times anyway.

I forgot to mention that yes sometimes I do need advice at 6:30am & 6:30pm for shot times w #s im not used to.

Whole thing is frustrating
 
And I wonder if the vet realized that most humans are not calling their primary care doctor or endocrinologist every time they want to change their insulin dose. They learn to make dose adjustments on their own. If the vet had a child with diabetes, wanna bet that she would be making dose adjustments without calling the pediatrician?
 
Personally, i would have emailed the fast track information for their files so when yo needed to come in, she had ample time to review history. My vet loves that i email ahead, it allows our conversations to be focused on next steps and not my "long winded emotional recount" of the last few days, because i can get to the point in writing way better than when I am blabbering :) It's a tough road. Good luck to you and your kitty
 
Back
Top