Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe , please phase 3"

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Jul 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you for helping Phoebe!
     
  2. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Another yellow! And early in the cycle, a definite improvement!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 307
     
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    The last 3 cycles she has gotten a yellow. That is progress. Keep going Phoebe.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe, Bobo, and I say thank you!
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  6. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    She's looking better! Her numbers are lower than they were..looks like you've hit this dose for a few cycles. I think I'd up to 2 units on a cycle where you can monitor. She's better, but we'd love to see her come down a bit more.

    Kristen made a good point in your other thread. Are you testing for ketones?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 373
     
  8. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Ok I'll up her to 2.0 units. I'm working on testing Phoebe for ketones. She's not the easiest getting a sample from.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  9. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Keep up the good work, Eric! I'm eager to see where 2u takes her.

    We all have our methods for getting a urine sample. I use a cheap ladle with a long handle. It allows me to step back a little so I'm not on top of the cat. I wait until the stream starts then I quickly put it under the cat.
     
    JeffJ and EricH. like this.
  10. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Colin suffered from several bouts of cystitis when he was younger, so he's used to me sticking a cup under him when he goes.:rolleyes::oops:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  11. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Aby and Sharon. Phoebe likes too bolt out of the box time to tine lf l get too close lol. Hopefully l can get her to cooperate.
     
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 381
    And this is after her 2 units bump.
     
  13. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    When do you feed her, and how often?
     
  14. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 307
     
  15. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Since she came home and it's been kind of an issue getting her to eat ie. wont eat canned food at all. And l thought it'd be important to get her too eat something I've been leaving her food out. Before she got severely ill she'd get 1/2 cup split in the a.m. and p.m. as prescribed by the vet. She's more of a grazer.
     
  16. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop, can you get at least one more test tonight?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  17. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 282
    Good night and thanks again everyone!
     
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 342
     
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 301
     
  20. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 244
     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) likes this.
  21. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +8 299
     
  22. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Eric! Glad to see this progress with Phoebe's numbers! Were you able to get a sample of YA from the company yet. If you have and I missed it I apologize, we just got in from MO this morning at 1:15 AM.

    I think I remember you were going to look into the Abbott Precision Xtra meter. That will make getting the ketones so much easier.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  23. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Great progress for Phoebe, Eric!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  24. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe tested negative on the ketone strip. I was able to catch her midstream. Also I just received samples of Young Again. I just gave Phoebe and Bobo some treats they sent me. Bobo loved them Phoebe sniffed them and walked away. She's difficult. Hahaha.
     
    AbyResq likes this.
  26. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Oh dear about Phoebe waling away - my cat is just like this all I can say is, he wouldn't eat it at 1st either, then one day he did
    great news about the negative ketones - keep checking once a day for a while if you can
     
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yeah on the ketone test! Both my cats love the treats! I get the one for dogs, cats and ferret and give to kitties and dogs. I will be interested to see if she like the YA. Fingers and Paws crossed. Hope she likes it because it is so much lower in carbs than the Curean you are feeding. And the average cat only need 1/3 of a cup a day and you can measure it out and let them free feed with it. As far as the free feeding with the Curean.......hmmm, I don't know the calorie count but you can easily figure it out. Here is the formula. 13.5 X the ideal weight of the cat plus 70. So as an example a 10 lb cat X 13.5 =135 +70=205. So the calories a day would be 205 and space those calories into several meals. The best would be for the AM and PM meals to be the most calories and 2 small snacks through out each cycle.

    And all this said, question: Is Phoebe the weight she should be. I don't know if she lost a lot of weight with the DKA. If she did and still isn't where she should be weight wise,use what IS the best weight for her to be in the above formula.

    To weigh her, just use your regular scales (digital is best) and hold her and weigh you and her together. Put her down and then weight just yourself and the subtract your weight from the total weight of her and you. If you need help spacing out her meals, let me know. I hope that she will like the YA and that will make it so much easier.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  28. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 381
     
  29. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Definite improvement, you must be happy. What did you shoot tonight? I see you completed 3 cycles at 2 units. Did you continue with 2 or increase? You're now seeing numbers where I think the U100 syringes would help you fine tune the dose. You could consistently shoot 2.4 units. With the U40's you will be guesstimating at 2.25 or 2.5.

    No ketones and yellow mid-cycle. Huge, huge progress.
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  30. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good point about the U100 syringes. You can get them cheap at Walmart. Relion brand. Here are the ones I like. 3/10 ML 30 gauge 8 mm length. They are about $13 dollars for a box of 100.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  31. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 253
     
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Eric that is a nice drop and could mean an active cycle so, can you monitor her tonight?
     
    EricH. and AbyResq like this.
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Aby! I'm happy because Phoebe's happy! She has also been giving me her 5a.m. wake up that she's known for lol! Also she's getting back into her routine.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  34. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes I can monitor her. Unfortunately l don't have any work tomorrow.
     
  35. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Okay good! Have you tried the YA food yet? Wondering if that was contributing to the drop.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Nope. Just feeding her less. Not starving her! I just don't have food all over the place as l did before when l was worried about her eating.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 228
     
    Sharon14 and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  38. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Wow! Her lowest number yet!!!
     
  39. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Phoebe may see blue tonight!
     
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 261
     
  41. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 399
     
  42. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good Morning Eric ~ looks like she is bouncing from those beautiful yellows last night. No worries, it's all part of the dance. Let's see what another day on this dose can do for her.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  43. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Such a pretty yellow cycle last night! Like Bobbie said, since she's not used to being yellow for so long, she may bounce today and run a little higher(let's hope not) don't let that worry you.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  44. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3 256
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  45. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I like these yellows and that they are coming earlier in the cycle. She is improving daily!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  46. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +5 356
     
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +7 456

    Not sure why her numbers are spiking up compared to yesterday?
     
  48. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hmm. Me neither. I was thinking she'd drop lower today since she started out well. One number, one cycle. She'll get back on track.
     
  49. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Maybe the big grasshopper that she was playing with made her amp up?
     
  50. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That could be. Seeing a squirrel outside the window could do it. It's like Sue said, one number, one cycle.
     
  51. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +9 536
     
  52. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Perhaps theses high numbers are the bounce Bobbie mentioned. Have you tried the Young Again food yet?
     
  53. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Deep breath and check for ketones. With her history you can't skip the ketone test :(

    Could be a bounce, maybe you gave a partial fur shot, maybe she's getting a UTI. Definitely test for ketones and reassess the situation during tonight's cycle.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  54. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    She's eating young again today.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  55. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I did earlier and the reading came up negative. And l wasn'thappy with the execution of the test and will be trying again. Soon.
     
    AbyResq likes this.
  56. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 427
     
  57. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Strange cycle. Hope the next one is more normal.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 358
    At least she's trending down.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  59. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 294
    Best AMPS yet.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  60. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Great!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  61. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    What a nice way to start the day!
     
  62. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'm almost out of my Arkray test strips. Would it be a bad idea to switch over too my ReliOn Glucometer or will there be a severe variant in the readings?
     
  63. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    The next test you get, have both meters ready with a strip and use the same sample of blood for both meters. Then you will have an idea of the variance and can go from there.
     
  64. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    292 @ +10.75
     
  65. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    How is she feeling today, Eric? Does she like the Young Again?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  66. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes she likes the young again samples I've received. Phoebe and Bobo not liking the young again treats. I'll be ordering it soon.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  67. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3 275
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  68. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    She's definitely improving...slowly but surely. :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  69. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes she has. She's been acting like her old self. I just ordered Young Again for her. She really liked the samples and like everyone that told me on here it's great stuff.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  70. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Part of the battle is getting her away from the dry. She still won't eat wet. I've been trying to introduce it gradually and not be intrusive. Bobo loves it though because he's getting her leftovers.
     
  71. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    So glad she liked it and I am very optimistic that you will see her numbers come down once she is eating only that. Donate the higher carb dry to a shelter :cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 452
    Not liking these numbers. Hopefully get her back on track.
     
  73. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Which food did she eat today? The Curean or the YA? Just curious.
     
  74. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Curean. Has l stated before l only had the 2 samples. YA shipped today.
     
  75. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Oh that's right, you should get the YA in the next two days. I can't wait to see the numbers when you do the food switch. It is what it is right now so don't sweat it. She will get there. :bighug:
     
  76. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 299
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  77. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Nice drop from the AM and she possibly went lower through the cycle. Could you get a reading at about +5 or so tonight to see how low this dose is taking her? She looks like she needs more insulin but when you start the YA you will need to monitor her because I think her numbers are going to go down.

    @Rachel and @Sue and Oliver (GA) think he should go up to 2.25?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  78. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I agree she has room to drop so an increase might be a good idea, on a cycle you can monitor. Yes, if you start the lower carb dry, be sure you can monitor for the next few cycles in case the food brings her down.
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  79. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I was actually thinking today that it might be time for a small increase. :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  80. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Well everyone I'd do that except for tomorrow I'll be out of the house at 6am till 1pm and l wont be here to monitor the change. Also her numbers were really good when she had 2 days of Young Again samples. Her Young Again will arrive tomorrow.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  81. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 252
    Her best yet!
     
    Rachel and Sharon14 like this.
  82. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Loving it!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  83. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    WooHoo!
     
  84. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric, how's Phoebe today?
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 292
    Phoebe's doing great! Playing with her little mice toys! Enjoying her pettings and asking outside! YG didn't arrive. Be here Monday. Phoebe's still being a dry food junkie. I keep trying! Bobo loves it! The leftovers.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2016
  86. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Glad they're both happy!:cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  87. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    She's looking good! I'm very interested to see how the YA affects her. :)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 286
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  89. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    290 @ +3.5
     
  90. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Some nice yellows over the past few days. Could be the start of a good trend!
     
  91. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 267
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  92. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Nice numbers today !
     
    EricH. likes this.
  93. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks. Trying too get her dialed in. Soon.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  94. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Hopefully you will soon Eric! it's looking nice
     
    EricH. likes this.
  95. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    You are getting this and doing a great job, Eric
    She's come a long way - good luck with the Young Again - remember you have to start slowly with the Young Again or Phoebe will get tummy troubles
     
    Ruby&Baco likes this.
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Ok l just got Young Again this afternoon. I'll be switching Phoebe too it at 530pm. Anything l should be ready for?
     
  97. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Ruby&Baco!
     
  98. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    How much do you recommend?
     
  99. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Great you got the YA! As Carol mentioned, you should transition her to it slowly over a few days as it could cause stomach upset. Just mix some in with her usual meal and then decrease the old food as you increase the YA. If you see signs of digestive upset, back up a bit and go more slowly.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  100. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    There should be instructions that came with the Young Again - expect a little loose and smelly stools at first - but slow transition is the key to decrease this
    good luck
     
    EricH. likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page