Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe , please phase 3"

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Jul 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 260

    This has been her best PMPS ever. And without YA.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  2. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice number! Go Phoebe!!!!!
     
  3. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    that's great - Eric. When she's on Young Again, her number may get even better
    Are you thinking about raising her insulin a little? Maybe Rachel or Sue can weigh in
     
  4. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I want to see how she does on the YA first before l change her doses. Also it'll be hard too monitor her for the next few days. Is that bad?
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  5. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I would suggest waiting to change the insulin until you know how the YA affects her. I'm a proponent of changing one thing at a time to make sure no super low numbers show up suddenly. Plus, that way y ou know for sure how the food affects her. :)
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  6. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I know last week when l got the samples she really enjoyed them. But I've heard and read that it's better to gradually introduce them to YA. I made a 60/40 mix of YA for her evening meal and she's fine with it. So soon she'll be 100% YA.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +5 291
     
  8. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    You're getting there. No blacks for 6 days, and some good yellows. If you can't monitor, it is good to err on the side of caution.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  9. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep, for their digestion it's best to introduce new foods slowly. I'm guessing she will still need an increase, but hopefully the YA will bring her numbers down further so the insulin can do it's thing more effectively!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 283
     
  11. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    We'll see how the new food sits for awhile. Those numbers are not horrible. And if you stand back from the spreadsheet, there is a lot of yellow in the recent week, versus the pink and red from previous weeks.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 272
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Eric! Love seeing a yellow pre-shot and so glad that she likes the YA. I am hopefully that she is going to come down more after she is completely off the other dry food which might even be now?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  14. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +8 249
    :)
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  15. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Looking a lot better! Will you have a day coming up soon that you can get some test in more around nadir so you can see how low the dose is taking Phoebe? Also, is Phoebe on YA completely yet?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Phoebe and Bobo went on YA completely as of yesterday. Also I'll be getting more numbers in today but this weekend I'll do more around the clock checks. Her poor ears.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  17. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I know about the poor ears.......look at Bubba's SS prior to his OTJ trial. Do you use Neosporin with pain reliever? That does help when they get to chewed up looking to help heal and to take away any discomfort.
     
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 264
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  19. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    No neosporin. Her ears are fine. I just feel bad poking her that's all. She's really good about it!
     
  20. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Bubba growls at me now and he is only getting two a day! He's so done!
     
  21. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Another pretty yellow PS! Yay Phoebe!!!
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  22. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Nice!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  23. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 188
    Phoebe's best too date!
     
  24. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That is awesome! Since it is lower than the PMPS, can you get a +2 to see where this cycle will go as the +2 being lower than the PMPS indicates that it could be an active cycle. ;)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  25. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Bobbie did you mean a +4 since l already got a +2 which was 188.
     
  26. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Woo HOO a BLUE!!!!!
     
  27. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Screenshot_2016-08-10-19-40-49-1.png
    Awww...Phoebe's feeling great! Thanks to all of you guys!!!
     
    Carol & Murphy (GA) and Sharon14 like this.
  28. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Eric, I am sorry, I misread that 188 as a +2. :banghead: Never mind. Just get a test before you go to bed just to have peace of mind before you go to bed and for data sakes. I love the picture you just posted!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I just looked at the SS and the 188 is under the +2. Is it a +4 or +2?
     
  30. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    188 was at +2. Her PMPS was taken at 530pm central. +2 was at 730pm. I plan on getting +4 or +5 reading before bedtime. Thanks for liking the picture of Phoebe! Thank you for helping me keep her around so l could take that picture! Means alot!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  31. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Eric - we are all SO thrilled about Phoebe -
    Look at that - she's on Young Again, getting blue readings - what a long way she's come since July 4th -only 5 weeks ago
    She is one gorgeous little girl!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  32. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Carol & Murphy! It started July 2nd and you and Sharon have been there since then! I was a mess that Saturday! That Holiday Weekend to be exact! And you two got me through it! From the syringe feedings too now! I can't believe how much I've learned from everyone that's helped us. I'll always remain vigilant to Phoebe. Thank you! :bighug::rb_icon:
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2016
    Carol & Murphy (GA) and Sharon14 like this.
  33. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    It's a whole lot to dal with You are doing a super great job
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  34. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    I meant deal with (hate typing on iPad)
     
    EricH. likes this.
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4.5 118
    Yeah!!!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  36. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Eric - clearly the Young again is working - you haven't seen numbers like these before - what do you think about getting another test in tonight - also maybe you should post her amps tomorrow before you shoot as it may be lower than you are used to
     
    EricH. likes this.
  37. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Yes and let's start a new thread in the AM with these pretty new numbers- this ones getting long!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  38. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    What's the lowest l can shoot at again?
     
  39. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    usually 200 is the no shoot number, but with DKA hx, you want to do everything you can to give insulin
    It may be that you will want to give a lower dose - hopefully @Sue and Oliver (GA) and/or @Rachel can give guidance
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  40. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Try to start a new post early in the AM maybe Rachel will be on. How much will you be able to monitor tomorrow? It's possible she will bounce into higher numbers because she's not used to these numbers. How does she feel?
     
  41. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Sharon's right - I forgot about bouncing
    What we are saying is not to be surprised if her amps is either lower or higher than what you are used to
    I'm going to bed, but please get another test in tonight just to make sure she isn't dropping too low (with the new Young Again- her numbers will be changing)
     
  42. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +5.5 124
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  43. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Whoa - some nice blues there. And a cuteness overload on the extreme closeup!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  44. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Started new thread. Phase 4.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page