Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe please phase 4"

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Aug 11, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 438
    After seeing all the beautiful blues l awoke to red.
     
  2. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    That's ok. She is bouncing, most cats will do that when they see numbers lower than they're used too. She will come back down, although bouncing can take 6 cycles (3days) to clear. Let's hope Phoebe clears it faster though! Go Phoebe!!!
     
    JeffJ and EricH. like this.
  3. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Bouncing happens! As Sharon said, she saw lower numbers than she's used to! It just means her body is trying to compensate..she will learn that those numbers are normal. The good thing is that she did get in the lower numbers so we know she CAN and we know that what we've been doing is working. I'm glad you stuck to the same dose! No need to increase for the bounce...we know 2 units worked well. :)
     
    JeffJ, AbyResq, EricH. and 1 other person like this.
  4. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +8.5 275
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  5. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Come on Phoebe, let's see some more blue!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  6. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Wow you finally had some blues! Way to go Eric and Phoebe!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  7. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 210
     
    Rachel and Sharon14 like this.
  8. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Big drop from her PS! Be sure to get another test in a couple hours. May see another blue-fingers and paws crossed!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  9. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 130
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you!!!
     
  11. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Back to blue!!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  12. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Very nice!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  13. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 425
    Another red morning. This is normal?
     
  14. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Yep. I was honestly expecting it. She's still bouncing. Basically, the body senses that the numbers are lower than usual. Even if they are in totally normal levels, the cat is used to the higher levels. So when the body feels those lower numbers, it releases extra glucose to try to compensate...which causes a sudden spike. Does that make sense?
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  15. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Good morning :coffee::coffee:

    Phoebe hit blue again last night which is a range she is not used to yet. If you look at her numbers on Aug 1o/11 this is another repeat of the same bouncing. Once her body gets "used' to the lower numbers she will slowly stop bouncing and hopefully settle into them.
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  16. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Unfortunately, yes it can be. As Rachel says, lots of cats bounce into higher numbers after hitting low ones. Also though, make sure there is no high carb food she could be getting into over night, just in case.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  17. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes it all makes since. Amazing how the body can anticipate it and then compensate for it. Phoebe's been doing wonderful with this all. She's happy, playing, and just being Phoebe again!
     
    Sharon14 and Tuxedo Mom like this.
  18. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Like everyone else said, bouncing isn't unusual. Tuck bounced a lot while he was on ProZinc. I like to joke that he bounced himself to remission. Oliver is doing a bit of bouncing himself these days. I'm so happy Phoebe is back to her old self :D.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  19. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Eric - Phoebe is looking so good - you are doing a great job
    All this blue, then a red, is very common
     
    EricH. likes this.
  20. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 433
    Thanks for the postive words. Question for the group. Is it normal too go 7 days without a red and now have 3 the last few days?
     
  21. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    The other thing you've seen in the last three days are blues. That's the bouncing, but you may need a dose adjustment. @Sue and Oliver (GA) or @Rachel can help with that. When did you switch her to Young Again?
     
  22. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I agree she is probably bouncing from those blues at night. There are 2 approaches - wait it out till she stops bouncing or up the dose a smidge. As she seems a little higher and flatter during the day and lower overnight, you might try upping the am dose to 2.25 and leaving the pm dose at 2 and see if that helps.

    No perfect answer - you have to try something different and see if it works. If that method doesn't work, then we try something else
     
    EricH. and JeffJ like this.
  23. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric will you be around to do some mid cycle tests this weekend?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  24. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 236
     
  25. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop! Now back to the blues Phoebe!
     
  26. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 274
     
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Eric, I think it is time to increase Phoebe's dose. She has not given you anything lower than a blue since you have been shooting 2.0. I like that she is in the yellow now but there is room for her to drop. How do you feel about increasing her to 2.25 tomorrow AMPS? Can you monitor her tomorrow?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  28. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Hi Eric, looks like Phoebe is still a little high. If you can monitor her tomorrow, maybe try the slight increase to 2.25 that Sue and Bobbie have suggested.
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  29. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 289
     
  30. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Nice! She's gently coming back down. I agree, I think an increase might be warranted. It could cause more bouncing...but could also help get her lower. What do you think?
     
  31. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 307
    I'm upping Phoebe too 2.25u
     
  32. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Good luck with the dose increase!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  33. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I was hoping I didn't have to. I kind of liked the nice round numbers.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  34. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good luck with the increase. It's important to not get married to a dose. We all resist taking them up in dose because we think that it is a step backwards but, in reality, it's a step forward to getting them in better healing numbers. She is doing super and has come so far from DKA to now. Keep up the good work! :cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  35. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thank you Bobbie! She hit blue again!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  36. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 130
     
    TempestsMum and Sharon14 like this.
  37. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Love it!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  38. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Heyyy!!! That's what I'm talking about! I know, the round numbers are nice...but it looks like this increase might do good things!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  39. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    WOO HOO- GO PHOEBE!!!!
     
    EricH. and TempestsMum like this.
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 83
    New territory for us!
     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) likes this.
  41. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Green!!!!!!!!
     
  42. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Can you get a test @+7?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  43. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +7 79
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  44. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Absolutely beautiful!!!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  45. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    How is she acting, Eric?
    Get a +8 too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
    Carol & Murphy (GA) and EricH. like this.
  46. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    She's being her NORMAL self barking l mean meowing orders at me! Phoebe wants me to take her outside. Hahaha.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  47. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +8 122
     
    Carol & Murphy (GA) likes this.
  48. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    WOW! I love this!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  49. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Absolutely picture perfect cycle Congrats
     
    EricH. likes this.
  50. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    On her way back up, that's normal. Post her PMPS before you shoot. That's @5:30 central, correct? Remember to take the food away 2 hours before that test.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and EricH. like this.
  51. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Sharon l told Phoebe what you said about her food. She didn't seem too happy! Lol
     
    Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  52. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Tell her it's just for a short time and because I care:cat:
    Will you be able to test her tonight up to +6? Her numbers were beautiful today, and she may bounce again (let's hope not)

    @Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel will you be able to check in case Eric needs advice?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  53. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I can check up to about 8:30 or 9 CT (my time zone too!).
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  54. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Great. I was mostly concerned about shot time, 5:30, in case she hasn't come up enough. She has had DKA, so wouldn't want to skip. I should be home by 7 or so.
     
  55. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Oh okay! Yeah, I should be around. :)
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  56. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes l can test at +6
     
  57. AbyResq

    AbyResq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    WHOA look at those gorgeous GREENS
     
    EricH. likes this.
  58. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 399
     
  59. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Very nice! I think I'd go for the same dose tonight and grab a test in a couple hours like you usually do.
     
    Sharon14 and EricH. like this.
  60. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    That's exactly what l did. I'll check her at +2 , +4, and +6 for the night. Hopefully l see green again tonight.
     
  61. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I hope so too, but if she's bouncing and stays high, don't be discouraged. Will you be around tomorrow or do you have to work?
     
  62. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 262
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  63. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes I'll be working tomorrow.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  64. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  65. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 163
     
  66. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 159
     
  67. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Blues again!:cat:
     
    EricH. likes this.
  68. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 385
     
  69. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 182
     
  70. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 188
     
  71. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Beautiful! I see you shot. Are you able to monitor? Can you get a +2 to +3 to see how the cycle is going? I am so very excited to see her progress Eric! :cool:
     
  72. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Question? I know l've asked before and l've read it as well but l forgot what is the lowest number l'd want too shoot at?
     
  73. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes I'll be able too monitor her. Not a problem.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  74. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Now that you have data and are very confident about testing, I think you could lower the no shoot number from 200. Be sure the number is rising, not falling.

    Have you already shot? I'd go with 2 units.
     
  75. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Eric, what did you shoot? Make sure to get the +2 like Bobbie suggested.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  76. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    According to the SS he shot the 188 with 2.25. Way to go Eric and you get these for shooting your lowest number to date: The coveted balls of steel..

    upload_2016-8-15_20-7-35.png The first time someone posted these on my thread I was so proud. That 's the way to do it........gather info and slowly move you no shot number lower as long as you can monitor. Good job Eric!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  77. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 265
     
  78. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Hahaha! Oh my! Someone actually posted this on your page???
     
  79. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +2 265
     
  80. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Could be a bit of a food hike. If you could get a test in before you go to bed.
    yes they did and I was proud as could be!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  81. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow! Phoebe is looking great!
     
  82. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Not a problem! I always do. :)
     
  83. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    T
    Thank you Rachel! She's come along way hasn't she?!?
     
  84. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 263
     
  85. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 304
     
  86. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS 305
     
  87. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Tonight's cycle is cycle 6 after the 79 you got. It can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to clear. So, get a +2 tonight to see how active this cycle could be an then test more accordingly to that number. If she were to drop a lot at +2 then you will want to get a nadir to see how she is doing.

    She is doing good Eric! If you scroll through her SS you can see how she has ditched the reds and is in more yellows and blues and hit green! Love it!!
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  88. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3 232
     
  89. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I had a busy night and wasn't able to get +2 but l got a +3. I forgot too pick her food up 90 minutes before test.
     
  90. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    You only need to pick the food up 2 hours before the 2 PS tests, so that you don't dose a food influenced number. She's really looking good!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  91. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Thanks Sharon! Yes two hours! Yes she's definitely almost back to her old self. I wish she'd eat some wet food. I keep trying too introduce it but nothing.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  92. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    The Young Again is a good food. Maybe she will want the wet food in the future.
     
  93. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Sounds like Phoebe is doing well! YA is a great choice for dry...hopefully over time she'll get interested in wet food.
     
  94. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    AMPS 218
     
  95. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Much better!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  96. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Question? Has anyone dealt with this. When Phoebe was DKA three of her legs were shaved. Since then Phoebe seems to like pulling the fur from her hind leg as it grows back. :( She's always been quirky but come on.
     
  97. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    No, I haven't ever experience anything like that. Wonder if the hair growing back in itches and that is why she is pulling at it? I did notice that once Bubba was Diabetic, any shaved hair seemed like it took a long time to grow in.

    It might be worth a call to the vet to see if there is anything you can do to deter her.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  98. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 190
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  99. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Looking good!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  100. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +4 297
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page