Walk me through hometesting for Phoebe please phase 4"

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by EricH., Aug 11, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Nice drop. Looking at her SS, I wonder if she didn't see a green today...
     
    EricH. likes this.
  2. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +3 197
     
  3. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +6 88
    Woo hoo!
     
    Sue and Oliver (GA) and Sharon14 like this.
  4. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Green!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  5. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes!
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  6. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 68
    Look at those numbers!!!
    :)
     
  7. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Beautiful! Go Phoebe!!!!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  8. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I LOVE IT !!!!! That's a really late nadir and she will likely bounce higher. You have shot a 188 on this dose so hope she gets to at least there for PMPS. Are you going to be able to monitor tonight?
     
    EricH. likes this.
  9. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    PMPS +78
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  10. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Ok I've never been 78 at PMPS what do l do?
     
  11. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Wow, okay, you are going to skip the PM dose. And tomorrow morning decrease her back to 2 Units. The idea is to get two shootable doses AM and PM. She will likely be higher in the AM because of this skipped dose so don't be surprised. Again skip tonight.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  12. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    That's good news l would think!?!
     
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    This is great that she is starting to respond to the insulin and the new lower carb food. Since you shot a 188 with the old dose of 2.25, maybe we can lower the no shot to around 150 IF you are able to monitor. Let's see what this dose does. I am very happy to see her progress. I was sort of expecting that she wasn't going to come up for you. Go ahead and feed her like normal and see you in the AM :cat:;):)

    The good news is you get a night off from testing and her little ears get a break. ;)
     
    EricH. and Sharon14 like this.
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Eric, put a NS in the box for the units so peeps will know that you did not shoot.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  15. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Woo Hoo Phoebe!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  16. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Do l do that on Phoebe's spread sheet?
     
  17. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Wow Phoebe! That's awesome!!!

    Yes, put NS in her SS. That way we know you didn't forget to put how many units you shot.
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  18. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Awwww...her poor little ears.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  19. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Have you tried Neosporin cream with pain reliever? I used that on Bubba's ears in the beginning then they just toughen up.
     
    EricH. likes this.
  20. Carol & Murphy (GA)

    Carol & Murphy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Wow Eric - she's really made progress but now when she starts getting into the greens, the nail biting can start. Bobbie, is right, you want to get two shootable numbers if at all possible - especially with her history of DKA It's good you are cutting back on the dose tomorrow morning
     
  21. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Ugly red this AM, but that's to be expected with no insulin last night. She'll get back on track. Maybe start another thread next time you post, this ones getting long.
    Try to get a ketone test in today
     
    EricH. likes this.
  22. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    @Sue and Oliver (GA) , considering Phoebe's DKA history, should I am had Eric shoot a BCS dose? I am second guessing myself now in retrospect.
     
  23. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good Morning Eric ~ just looked at your SS and it says you shot 2.25. Is that correct? She should have had a reduction down to 2 units since the 2.25 gave you an unshootable number last night. The idea is to have a dose that allows you to shoot AM and PM and the 2.25 did not.

    Can you test today? She was high this morning because of a skipped dose and lower numbers that she isn't used to being in. The bounce can take up to 3 days or 6 cycles to clear.
     
  24. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think this am was a bounce too, and yes, I would have reduced a bit. She didn't drop so low she "earned" a dose reduction (under 50) but that pmps was a clear indication of too much insulin, lasting too long.

    I hope you will be around today and keep an eye on her, Eric.

    It is much easier to figure out when she needs a dose increase than when she needs a reduction. I personally like to err on the side of caution, but, as always, it is not my cat. Today will let you know whether less is warranted, and you are great at testing, so you can stay on top of things. And it might be that, since the amps is higher than she has been running, the dose may be just what she needs.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  25. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Wow, I just now looked at the SS, what a nice green surf!
     
    EricH. likes this.
  26. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    @Sue and Oliver (GA) , was skipping last night the correct thing even in light of the recent DKA history? Or would a BCS dose have been okay?
     
  27. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I would have skipped. That number was too low. Even a drop could have sent her down into hypo territory
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  28. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    @Bobbie And Bubba what does BCS mean?
    And I'm with Sue on this one, that number was too low to give a drop.
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Thanks Sue, I think my Lantus brain was giving me doubt, LOL. @Ruby&Baco BCS Big Chicken S--t dose or a token dose, it's another one of the forums slangs.
     
    EricH. and Ruby&Baco like this.
  30. Ruby&Baco

    Ruby&Baco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA LOL! :woot: This word is making me laugh sooooooooooooo hard! BCS, HAHAHAHA
     
    EricH., Bobbie And Bubba and Sharon14 like this.
  31. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Interesting question Bobbie. A past DKA episode is always something I worry about when thinking about a dose skip.


    Totally agree with Sue, in spite of the past history of DKA.


    Perhaps with the DKA having been 1 1/2 months ago and no more occurrences since, as well as hitting better numbers it does not come into play as much??? Maybe a topic for the Think Tank ?????????
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That's a great idea ! The lower number concerned me as it wasn't clear whether she was going to continue to go lower or not since 68 and 78 are basically the same number. Then this AM I started second guessing the DKA part.
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  33. Tuxedo Mom

    Tuxedo Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Giving advice with a DKA kitty has always worried me.

    Would you like to start a topic in Think Tank. You word things much better than me :)
     
  34. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Your wording is perfect. I have to run some errands, so I will post on TT later.
     
    Tuxedo Mom likes this.
  35. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Before posting on TT, I did a search and it looks like you did post about DKA and here is the thread. I was glad to find it and look through it but still, there is not a "one size fits all " answer and most looked like it was geared to L & L. Most older experienced members all agree to shot even if it's a token dose.

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ka-prone-cats-having-low-hypo-numbers.154055/

    This is a good read, @EricH.

    ETA: Or another solution would be to stall shoot later after numbers have come up but that said, not always necessary to do when you work and you need to keep on your shooting schedule.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
    Reason for edit: ETA
    EricH. likes this.
  36. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    As always, most things boil down to "ECID". But I would not advise a cat on ProZinc to get a shot at 60 - ever - as one poster said. With the depot insulins, those options change.

    I like the idea that waiting is always an option. And I would say, the farther away from DKA the cat is, the easier it is to think about skipping.
     
    EricH. and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  37. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    +10 299
    I forgot to scale her dose back to 2.0 from 2.25. Should l shoot her again today at 2.25?
     
  38. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Since she isn't too low right now and I am assuming she won't be at PMPS, could you "skinny the dose "? Something in between of 2.o and 2.25.
     
    EricH. and Sue and Oliver (GA) like this.
  39. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Yes that won't be a problem.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  40. EricH.

    EricH. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    I'll be starting another thread when l post Phoebe's PMPS at 530pm central standard time.
     
    Sharon14 and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page