Weird values this morning...

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by abrudney, Nov 1, 2019.

1. abrudney

abrudney New Member

A little background.... Cherokee has been bouncing around. I had been lowering his insulin but he felt so poorly, that I went back up (per my vet) and am modifying his food/feeding schedule to see if I can get him to stop dropping so dramatically. Thinking perhaps he is digesting raw food too quickly causing the dramatic low values.

Last night his PMPS was 688. gave 1U. +4 was 475. AMPS was 173. fed. test about 20 min after he finished eating 140. waited 30 min. tested again. 259. Still have not given insulin knowing that he has a tendancy to bouce, I don't want to take a chance of him going to low. He is still very thirsty.

Any thoughts on this? How late is too late to give insulin after a meal?

Thanks

2. Karen&Rocket

Karen&Rocket Member

Sorry the forum is quiet this morning. I’m not a ProZinc user anymore, so I’ll tag @MrWorfMen's Mom - hopefully she or another experienced PZ person can help.

3. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

Cherokee is having a lot of huge drops in BG are setting off bouncing. There are times when duration of the insulin appears to be short and yet others when it appears to be quite long, like this morning with the lower AMPS.

I'm really wondering if it might be worth considering trying a gentler longer lasting insulin like Lantus or Levemir. It might help decrease those massive drops and what appear to be short cycles and just generally even things out a bit more.

ProZinc will generally last 10 to 12 hours but in some cases it's action continues for about 14 hours. It appears that the 1u dose given last night may have dropped BG down lower than the 173 at AMPS.