xpost-welcome ann and tess, vetsulin/lantus questionss

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Ann & Tess GA, Jan 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ann & Tess GA

Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

Hi, I'm a newbie here, Tess was just diagnosed yesterday, Guess what, my vet sent me hame with Vetsulin. That and a a couple other of his responses make me wonder if he's the right choice. She got her first dose this morning and then I came online to get more info. I'm calling the vet about it, what would you advise, try to have her switched right away or get her stabilized first? Anyone know any vets in the SLO County area of CA w/ good expierence with feline diabetes?

My other concerns were that he gave little or no response to home testing and said to keep her on Science diet Senior! Dry food w/ 32% carb???????

Before I saw the product warning I was going to go along as is, I understand not changing too many things at once and that the insulin dose is based upon her diet so I can't change that without the dose being altered as well. I'm feeling a bit at sea here, all advice welcome.

2. Sweetgrass & the Furries

Sweetgrass & the Furries Member

Re: Vetsulin Product Alert in Pennsylvania ??

Hello and welcome.

You are right to question your vet about this insulin in light of the FDA warning. Is it possible you could discuss lantus as an option instead?
    You may want to introduce yourself on the health forum where many eyes, both who use vetsulin and other insulin choices, can help answer your questions and make you feel more comfortable.( have crossposted you there )

Meanwhile vetsulin is what you have so a couple of questions to help us, to help you...

1-How much insulin are you giving and what were your directions around feeding times etc before the shot

2-What kind of syringes do you have? u40 is what I am thinking you would be sent home with.