Zelda & Walter
Member Since 2019
Yesterday /01-09-walter-amps-306-pmps-
Good! I should be able to do a curve on Sunday. I hope things settle down with him.I think Walter is starting to show signs of response! Great job on getting those tests at night! Will you be home this weekend? Can you possibly get a curve?
PMPS is 66. Do I shoot 2.5. Just gave him some food.
Ugh—just fed him. FF 1/2 can.HOLD - no food - test again in 20 minutes - we need to see which way he's headed...
Ugh—just fed him. FF 1/2 can.
And I see you're using the Alpha-Trak meter - so he's just earned a reduction I do believe...
@Crista & Ming - is that correct? Below 68 on the AT = reducie?
yes—beef pateWas it low carb?
Ok—thanks. I’ll wait another 10 minutes and then test. Can I feed him then—he’s less than happy that I pulled his food.ok, don't shoot at any rate - he's too close to the line with the AT. I'm not familiar with that meter - but I know that's low - you'll need to test again soon to see if you can tell if he's still dropping...before you decide about shooting.
Ugh—just fed him. FF 1/2 can
Ok—he’s at 96. I think it’s a food bump.That depends on what his next number is - if he got a food bump it's going to go up...if not, he may continue to slide down - if so, you'll need hold off on shooting until you can determine if he's really reached the end of his drop - if he's still dropping and you add insulin you'd be in for a long night - not what I'd want to do...try to hold him off with a freeze dried treat...
Next time you get a PS you're not sure about shooting, you should stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes.
Since you've fed now, we can't know if the number goes up from the food or because the insulin dose is actually wearing off.
Are you going to be able to test as long as might be necessary tonight? Got plenty of supplies like strips, HC food and Karo/honey/syrup?
No matter what, he's earned a reduction so back down to 2.25 he'll go (although tonight we may skip the dose completely and let his depot drain). I really wonder what his cycle looked like yesterday when he started in the 300's but was down to 143 by PMPS. He may have gone a lot lower and then bounced high again by AMPS
Next time you get a PS you're not sure about shooting, you should stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes.
Since you've fed now, we can't know if the number goes up from the food or because the insulin dose is actually wearing off.
Are you going to be able to test as long as might be necessary tonight? Got plenty of supplies like strips, HC food and Karo/honey/syrup?
No matter what, he's earned a reduction so back down to 2.25 he'll go (although tonight we may skip the dose completely and let his depot drain). I really wonder what his cycle looked like yesterday when he started in the 300's but was down to 143 by PMPS. He may have gone a lot lower and then bounced high again by AMPS
he’s at 96. I think it’s a food bump
Ok—I agree. I’ll feed him and then give 1U.I think it's probably best to give a reduced dose tonight (as long as you can test as long as necessary tonight)
How do you feel about shooting 1U? I'd get a +1 and +2 to get started.
Yes, you can feed him
Ok—I agree. I’ll feed him and then give 1U.
I haven’t given him his shot yet —he’s still eating. I need to step out for about an hour and am thinking that I should hold off the shot until I return. I was trying to figure out the schedule for tomorrow morning. If I shoot him two hours after schedule, I would shoot 2hrs later tomorrow?Zelda, since the injection was delayed tonight - I'm not sure by how much, you may need to delay in the morning as well - back up in 15 minute increments until you're back to your regular schedule.
If I shoot him two hours after schedule, I would shoot 2hrs later tomorrow?
Thank you! Have a good evening.You can work your way back to your chosen time by adjusting by 15 minutes per cycle or doing one 30 minute adjustment per day.
So tomorrow you'd Test/Feed/Shoot no sooner than +11.75
Just tested. He’s at 629. Still hold at 1U?You can work your way back to your chosen time by adjusting by 15 minutes per cycle or doing one 30 minute adjustment per day.
So tomorrow you'd Test/Feed/Shoot no sooner than +11.75
Thank you! So—I’ll decrease him back to 2.25 on the morning shot. Do we think he dropped so low because 2.5 was too high? Trying to get this leveled out since I have to be away in Feb for a three week work trip and am worried about someone else taking care of him.Sorry...my internet went down (big storm moving in)
I think you could have gone with the higher dose since he bounced so high. We sometimes do what we call "shooting through the bounce". That's when you give the same dose (2.5) ONE more time to help with the high bounce but then take the reduction the next cycle.
Since you stalled for 2 hours tonight, remember that you shouldn't shoot in the morning until it's been at least 11.5 hours since tonight's shot.
Don't worry....this too shall pass!