01/16 Gizmo PMPS=229, +1=246, +2=205, +4=155, +5.5=158, +11=125

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Very Active Member
01/15

AMPS 257

SEB in AMPS meal. I don't think he was feeling good yesterday. May break out the blood meter for ketones and read what I need to do to calibrate (if necessary) and test a little later.

He ate yesterday but a couple of times would have not bothered had I not encouraged. Seems depressed. Maybe in a bit of pain (IDK).

Sure wish I would get a token green.

Have a great day.
 
Looks like today he could slide down for you with the +2 . Hope he starts feeling better, poor guy.

I don't remember having to calibrate the ketone meter ( I use Abbott Precision Xtra)
 
Ok, just tested Ketones using Nova Max Plus

0.3mmol/L - going to look at my notes now.

Ok, my notes states ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter - so he is good - correct?
 
Looks like this dose may have gone stale and you'll have to go back up to 1.25. Last time it looks like it took him 10 cycles before seeing green on the last increase which is 5 days. Only mentioning it because I assume you are going back to work and won't be able to monitor much. I might put "dose advise" in your title to get others opinions and in the meantime you have to decided if you're happy with the current nadirs or not.
 
Looks like this dose may have gone stale and you'll have to go back up to 1.25. Last time it looks like it took him 10 cycles before seeing green on the last increase which is 5 days. Only mentioning it because I assume you are going back to work and won't be able to monitor much. I might put "dose advise" in your title to get others opinions and in the meantime you have to decided if you're happy with the current nadirs or not.

I am not. Is he spending enough time in the healing numbers?

I was looking at his SS this morning.

So you think a full 0.25 increase?

I guess I will increase tonight. I just wish I had done it on Friday like I really wanted to. I really don't understand these flat yellow cycles (today a.m. and 01/14 p.m.).

For those offering dosing advise...
Please keep in mind that I work full time and am not home to test during the day.
 
If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you hold the dose as you are seeing nadirs under 150. If you had been following TR I would suggest you have room for an increase. But keep in mind that because it took him a certain number of cycles last time to see green, goesn't mean anything for this time. Cats like to do things on their own chedule.
 
I do think he needs the full .25 increase
If you are following SLGS as per your signature, you hold the dose as you are seeing nadirs under 150. If you had been following TR I would suggest you have room for an increase
I guess I am doing a conservative TR -

Actually, I am trying to do the best for Gizmo. As he gets lower numbers - when he is at higher numbers I can definitely tell he doesn't feel good on them (like last night/today).

Also, if you look at the 2017 spreadsheet as a whole - I can see that there is more and more yellow (especially at PS tests), less and much less green and the blue numbers seem to be going up gradually. I think if I hold this dose (per SLGS) it is just a matter of time before an increase.

One thing about the testing I have done - it shows that Gizmo really isn't an erratic numbers cat. For the most part he is (has been) pretty predictable since I have tightened up the schedule and started using the calipers for dosing (consistency).

I have five weeks of vacation. My boss is fully aware of what is going on and I have told him that it may require me to take a 1/2 day or full day of vacation at a moments notice (if I need to stay home because of dropping numbers).

Karen and I 'spoke' about dose decrease @ 70 (vs. 90 SLGS or 50 TR). I am not sure what to do as far as reductions right now - but it seems that he is not holding any (only 0.25 in three months if I go back to 1.25U today).

I am just putting my thoughts out there so you can see my thinking. Feed back?
 
If you are able to ad hoc the time off to monitor Gizmo if you need to and decide to follow TR, I would take the dose up to 1.25 even with those greens in there you have some head room to take him up, and you have held the dose fo 20 cycles so far, and he's not really getting into the range that we like to push them into when following TR.

Of course on SLGS we don't push them as low, so with those greens 5 days ago, in theory you would probably hold for another couple of days, though with all those yellows in there.....

Wendy does make a good point of Kitties changing their patterns though and surprising us, try to keep that at the back of your mind.
 
course on SLGS we don't push them as low, so with those greens 5 days ago, in theory you would probably hold for another couple of days, though with all those yellows in there.....
Thanks you. :bighug:

That is exactly the dilemma I am fighting in my brain. I keep thinking, ok, the next cycle he will give me a green or, maybe he wasn't feeling good and that is why he had a flat yellow cycle, but he just isn't getting there.

Hind site I don't think I have had good, solid numbers for reductions, which is understandable with my work schedule, my learning curve and my being scared of low(er) numbers.

I have contacted a couple of pet sitters to see if I can work with them to possibly get them to come and test for me (@AM+4, for example) and give food if too low and then I can go from there as far as what I should do (come home or decide if he will be ok). I need someone to be my back up anyway so I can get out a bit so I don't go stir crazy. :):confused:

Am I making any progress with him at all?
 
Am I making any progress with him at all?

I think so, just take a look at the colour of the 2016 ss, but he seems to have stalled a bit of late.

With SLGS the progress will be slower, making it hard to see the wood for the trees.
I know you've read the doing the TR on a full time job sticky before, might be worth revisiting.

I think its worth looking into a pet sitter for back up and for your sanity.

Hindsight is 20/20:rolleyes:
 
One thing about the testing I have done - it shows that Gizmo really isn't an erratic numbers cat. For the most part he is (has been) pretty predictable since I have tightened up the schedule and started using the calipers for dosing (consistency).
I agree - getting data on a what a kitty is likely to do (no guarantees of course), goes a long way to feeling more comfortable with them being at a dose that is seeing lower (but still safe) greens. And with being able to leave the house with the autofeeder set to help keep him safe. Remember that it's OK to give them higher carbs for a cycle than they need. The carbs will get out of the system quick enough and safety first.

I also found with Neko that I had to try to keep her at a dose where she was seeing nadirs in the 70's, or she would bounce more or the numbers start to "drift" up. You may be starting to see something similar with Gizmo.
 
Remember that it's OK to give them higher carbs for a cycle than they need.
I have a problem with finding foods with low potassium - any food, but especially low carb or med carb - Any suggestions on medium carb with low potassium?

Increasing to 1.25U tonight.

+11 229

Edit - ^^potassium should be phosphorus above^^
 
Last edited:
I used the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pouches. Pumpkin Lickin' Chicken (12% carbs) and Chick Magnet (16%) are both below 200 mg/phos per 100 cals. It definitely is hard to find the right combo. I also needed low salt and higher calorie later on, but was one of my reasons for going to home made raw.
 
I used the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pouches. Pumpkin Lickin' Chicken (12% carbs) and Chick Magnet (16%)
Ok, I had the pouches on my list for high carb (I think you had already given this to me) I added these two. Which is a good high carb?
 
Last edited:
The 16% is technically a high carb, but I also used the Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup (21%) on the rare occasions I needed something even higher. The other reason I went to the Weruva is that they don't have wheat in them and Neko's gut didn't like wheat.
 
@Doodles & Karen
You mentioned gravy pouches that you give Doodles- what do you Give?
Also, on the B-12, since I mix all his food up together for 24 hr period can I add a whole capsule to the 24hr "batch"?
 
You mentioned gravy pouches that you give
I use mostly Merrick Backcountry which are about 16%-18% carbs. Also have the Natural Balance pouches, they are about 22% carbs but have peas of course. The other options are Weruva Cats in the Kitchen pouches which are 12-18% carbs. None of these have wheat, corn or soy.

Also, on the B-12, since I mix all his food up together for 24 hr period can I add a whole capsule to the 24hr "batch
I see no problem with that.
 
I use mostly Merrick Backcountry which are about 16%-18% carbs. Also have the Natural Balance pouches, they are about 22% carbs but have peas of course. The other options are Weruva Cats in the Kitchen pouches which are 12-18% carbs. None of these have wheat, corn or soy.


I see no problem with that.
Thanks. Wasn't sure if you had straight "gravy" pouches :D. Those would be nice if they existed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top