01/18 Ivana AMPS=439, +2=434, +5=382, +10.5=414, PMPS=376 Not pooping... again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's 18 hr cycles post

I'm going to call the 2x18hr cycles a success. Reason is that although she was high for both the cycles (bouncing), the first shot she had at the 18hr mark was given when her PS was the highest it's ever been. I would have hated to have waited an extra 6hrs if I'd decided to just skipped the previous shot. So I know that it can be done, which is great. How much of an effect it's had on her remains to be seen, but it was the best I could do at the time.

Ivana has not pooped on her own since the enema on Saturday morning (it's now Monday morning). Obviously she got completely cleaned out and I suppose tubes need to refill first, though I'm not sure how long I'm supposed to wait for a 'present'. We're doing the Miralax twice a day, Laxapet once a day, pumpkin (when she'll eat it), and extra water in her food (when she'll eat it).

2.15am this morning and she woke me up with heaving but no actual vomit, so not sure what that was all about. She didn't seem sick and was not acting strange afterwards, so perhaps it was just a bit of fur stuck in her throat (we're combing her daily now so there may have been a loose bit of fluff).

Re yesterday's experiment of adding water to the fresh roo strips. She drank the extra water which had blood in it from soaking, but did not eat any of the actual meat. She even did that thing where they sit infront of their bowl and look longingly at it hoping for the contents to change, but I figured that she loves roo and will eat it eventually, but no go. Maybe because all the blood had already seeped out. I will try some extra water with the mince today and see how she goes. I did add a small amount to the Wellness pate she had for breakfast and she ate that no problem, so that's something at least. She is a fussy bugger!
 
I hope Ivana's system resets itself and she starts pooing for you again. Good luck with the food experiment.
I'm making up some slippery elm bar powder for her at the moment - another experiment! Surely *something* will make help get her GIT back to normal.
 
Still waiting for Ivana to poop again, this is getting ridiculous. Tried adding slippery elm bark powder slurry (thanks for the recipe Bron) to her dinner tonight - she ate some, but wasn't real keen. She'd eat a nibble, then look at it, then eat a nibble, then look at us. She ended up eating a bit less than half of her dinner, which is about normal. We're still doing the Miralax, Laxapet, pumpkin. Can't get her to have oil.

If we end up having to take her to the vet again for yet another enema, we will be asking for a more thorough investigation this time as there is obviously something more going on and we can't just take her to the vet every week for pooping. Wondering if there might be something nervy going on that's making her not feel that she has to go, or something like that. In any case, I will continue stalking her litter tray every hour for 'presents'.
 
One things I found helpful for constipation was psyllium powder with no added fillers. I buy it in capsules form and give 1/8 teaspoon (about 1/2 capsule) Tuxie gets homemade pumpkin or squash but occasionally has some trouble so I will add psyllium to his food. I t can take a day or two to see "good" results and you have to make sure there is adequate water intake. Any of the additives like psyllium, slippery elm bark etc require extra fluids since they absorb fluids in the intestines and if there is not enough extra fluid it can actually make the constipation worse.

Good luck with Ivana and sending lots of good poop vines
 
5 mL mixed into her dinner. She's eaten pretty much all of it now.
Yes that is the amount I give Sheba. I'm surprised Ivana could taste it if it was in her whole dinner. I usually mix it with 10 mls broth and a couple tiny pieces chicken and Sheba eats it, but she is a really good eater.....normally.
Hope it works for Ivana.
I think you are wise to ask for more investigation if she doesn't poop.....you can't keep going like this.
 
Yeah, no good on needing constant enema's as I think it can 'mess up' the gut flora and intestinal track. Sending lots of vines her system starts working normal again. Doodles is a super picky eater and now if I add anything to his food he barley eats it. This means he's not getting any good probiotic supplements, SEB, Pumpkin regularly anymore but luckily he seems to be managing on his own for now. Many :bighug::bighug: for you all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top