01/18 Walter AMPS 155 PMPS 541

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Zelda & Walter, Jan 18, 2020.

  1. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I’m glad to see he’s at least eating well... at least that’s a step forward.
     
    Zelda & Walter likes this.
  3. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Good morning Zelda, Thank goodness he's eating! I wonder what's up with our sweet Walter? Have you felt along his spine to see if there's any reaction? Arthritis? How's his pooing and peeing?
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  4. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Decreased pooping and peeing (but he hadn’t eaten or had anything to drink so I guess that makes sense). Just did the spine touch— nothing. I don’t think arthritis would come on so dramatically but—who knows? Yes, very relieved about the eating—even if it’s supercharged HC!
     
  5. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Freckles and I are glad to see you are eating better Walter. Wondering if his hind legs are stiff or he's walking kind of hunched over and making his back legs look stiff? His strides usual length?
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  6. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Since Walter got his shot 2 hrs later last night, are you working your way back to his regular shot times by 15mts per cycle (or by a half hour once per day) to get back to his regular shot time?
     
  7. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Good question-he definitely has a hunched over look. Strides are shorter then usual—
     
  8. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    My plan is to give him his shot now (8:45) since I gave it to him last night at 9.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  9. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    I'm glad Walter's home. I, too was worried he may have thrown a clot or slipped a disc. I wonder about neuroskeletal involvement...pinched nerve etc.
    Beautiful AMPS Mr. Walter! Please be on your best behavior for momma today. She(and us all) is very worried about you! Surf safely sweet one.
    Have a good day!
     
  10. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Perfect!
     
  11. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    But tonight, I have to leave at 6:45 and won’t be back until 10– I guess I need to give it to him before I leave?
     
  12. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Thanks— what’s a clot?
     
  13. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Blood clot. I'll try to find some good articles to link.

    ETA: LINK to article about blood clots. This is just one article. I don't mean to scare you with my thought processes. :bighug: Just trying to think of every "disorder" that coincide with his symptoms.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    Zelda & Walter likes this.
  14. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I doubt this is a clot. A blood clot can be very dangerous since is can move around and block an artery.

    Are you getting Walter in to see your regular vet? Did they do any X-rays at the ER? I'm wondering if Walter may have fallen and sprained something.
     
  15. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Tonight's shot should be at 8:30, working back 15mts at a time, if you shoot at 6:45, there will be an overlap of today's shot and tonight's shot so it would act like an increase. I think we need to get some more experienced people to weigh in on this. I'm thinking a reduced shot for tonight, but not sure by how much. How is Walter feeling now?

    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
    @Wendy&Neko
    @Sue and Luci
    @carfurby
     
  16. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    He’s alert but clearly is not comfortable ( seems creaky). I think he might have pain when he walks.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  17. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Waiting fir the Regular vet to call back and schedule me. I agree about the x-ray —they didn’t do it at the ER.
     
  18. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Ugh—just saw that the vet doesn’t open until 10am and snow is predicted to begin at 11
    He doesn’t want to walk—lies down when I put him on all fours.
     
  19. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Poor thing. I hope your vet can take you right away at 10. :bighug:
     
  20. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Sending vines for Walter to feel and walk better. I hope you can get him to the vet today. How far away is the vet? Can you get there by subway if the streets are too bad for driving? When we left the city for home yesterday they were only predicting 1-3 inches of snow in NYC today.
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Zelda & Walter and Sonia & Leo like this.
  21. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019

    My cats cervical / disc pain came on over the span of a day really- got worse overnight. I think cats in general don't read the rulebook on most things.
    I hope Walter is his normal, happy self soon and whatever it is resolves. Sorry you two are having such a time right now.
    :bighug:
     
  22. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Just got home from the vet— was hoping to return before the snow started but —too late. I don’t have a car so I take the subway— it’s about an hr but faster than a Lyft or Uber. The vet is mystified. He did a bunch of tests also an enema x-rays etc. etc. he did some basic bloodwork and some more extensive ones; the results from the latter will be ready next week. Meanwhile, Walter’s appetite is holding and he seems ok—except that he doesn’t want to walk and when he does, it’s painful to watch. :(
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  23. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    The funny thing was that when I called the vet at 10 (when he just opened)— The desk person said he had already scheduled an appointment for me at 11—so that was good!
     
    Sonia & Leo and Briere Fur Mom like this.
  24. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019

    Did he mention FCE or send the xrays out for interpretation by a specialist - or did he give you meds and suggest rest and a recheck?

    Such a stressful Saturday for you guys. :bighug:
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  25. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    No meds or mention of FCE or sending xrays out.
    Yes—definitely stressful.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  26. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope they can figure out what is going on with Walter. I'm glad he is eating for you. I would not shoot 2 hours early tonight since you will be leaving. That's dangerous since it acts like an increase. If you think you'll have trouble getting back on track with your normal shot time by Monday when you have to go back to work, you can skip tonight and then shoot at your normal time tomorrow morning.
     
  27. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Does Walter seem comfortable when he is laying down? Is he "meat loafing"?
    Sending vines!
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  28. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Wondering if you are able to video him walking? Posting that video clip on here, with all of these experienced cat people, may be helpful.
     
  29. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    I’m off on Monday (MLK) so I’ll be home most of the day. So, I should skip tonight and go back to the original time tomorrow am?
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  30. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Hi Judy— not sure what you mean by “meat loafing”?
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  31. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Let me see if I can find a picture.
     
  32. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Hmmm-I’m a Luddite with all of this—can barely figure out the blog. :woot: I’ll try noodling with my phone which has the video feature on it.
     
  33. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Doesn't necessarily mean the kitty isn't feeling well....some cats just like to lay like this.
     

    Attached Files:

    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  34. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Thank you!
    How are you doing?
     
  35. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019

    If they have digital xrays, they can usually send them out for a second option by a DVM who specializes in either Radiology or Internal medicine. It's Idexx Telemedicine Consult . If you are worried you could ask, but it depends on the type of radiographs they use , plus kitties don't always take purrfect pictures when they don't feel so good. I know if can be frustrating to feel like you did all the things and go no real answers.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Zelda & Walter like this.
  36. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Hi Zelda, how are you and Walter doing?
     
  37. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Well—doing ok. At least Walter is holding his head up which he hadn’t been doing last night. His back leg still seem to be hurting him and I’m wondering if I should get some Zobaline. The vet wasn’t confident that Walter has diabetic neuropathy— but when I watch him struggling to drink water because his haunches don’t seem to support him—I’m thinking that it is a possibility that it is dn. On another topic I think I might give Walter a small dose of insulin tonight depending on his numbers before I step out even though it’s before schedule. Just tested at 541
     
    Sonia & Leo and Si am cat mom like this.
  38. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    That's a bit better news. Did you see the video that Judy posted in your "Yesterday" thread? Every cat is different, this could be Walter's form of neuropathy. Leo was in really bad shape, regulation and Zobaline were a miracle fix for us.
     
    Zelda & Walter likes this.
  39. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Skipping tonight is just an option if you want to get back on track tomorrow morning. Or you can give a small dose tonight.
     
    Zelda & Walter and Sonia & Leo like this.
  40. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Usually, neuropathy doesn't happen all of a sudden though. But it would certainly be worth trying Zobaline, it's a good B vitamin, Leo's still on it.
     
  41. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    His behavior had changed the past few weeks a little bit in that he was lying down more but I thought it was just age— maybe it was because his legs hurt? At any rate, I’ll order the Zobaline tonight.
     
  42. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    Thanks everyone for all your support—I’m very grateful!
     
  43. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    I'm doing ok but I miss my baby boy.
     
  44. Zelda & Walter

    Zelda & Walter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2019
    I’m so sorry for you. You must feel awful. But you did the right thing. I had a little guy, Scout, who I had to put to rest last August. It broke my heart-still hurts.
    Thinking of you.
     
  45. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     

Share This Page