01.24 Nelli (+8) 77; (PMPS) 65; (+3.5) 62

Sending vetty vines. I'd wait and see what Nell's number is tonight and then decide. Keep in mind an early shot acts like an increase.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...25-81-6-62-11-94-pmps-99.209812/#post-2324000
Dr. Nina @ 2p. Didn’t want D. lamb for brkf. Gave Farmina Quinoa Dig. kibble (unkn. Carb count), about 1oz...1/4c.?
I need to shoot Nelli early tonight. About 45 minutes early. Would you shoot 3u instead of 3.25? Thanks
Shooting 45 minutes early is not the issue. Whether you shoot 3u or 3.25u or even a skinny3, the cycle will likely be the same at least until potentially the end where you “might” see numbers rise a bit if you shoot 3u or less. I’d suggest you see if she earns a reduction today and if she does, reduce the dose tonight. But I’d still feed her a high LC or a MC food after her shot and be sure to leave plenty of food out.

If you are worried she is too low to shoot at shot time for your comfort in being gone, you could skip but still leave food out for her.

Good luck at the vet today. I hope she has some answers for you.
 
If you were going to (had to) shoot an hour early at PM today, by how much would you reduce a 3.25?
shoot 3u or 3.25u or even a skinny3, the cycle will likely be the same at least until potentially the end where you “might” see numbers rise a bit if you shoot 3u or less.
I am not following this o_O
 
Thank to all, for checking in :bighug:
Did they test Nells?
Senior Profile/CBC (TT,LTT,UA) was done minus the UA.
GI panel with Spec fPL could not be drawn bc needs a firm 12 hour fast. Nelli had eaten, 10 hours earlier.
A Urine Culture and MIC -Ultrasound (cystocentesis) in addition to Urinalysis (UA) was not done because I wanted to wait on 1/2 of (urine culture).
What did vet say
Very concerned with the looks of Nelli SS. Unstable, too many ups and downs... very concerned about her low numbers; lower than 80. Im sorry, Im so tired and spent- there were other questionable (idiotic?) statements she made- you will hear them, I promise... hopefully by end of day tomorrow :)
I hope the vet was able to help.
Me too. I think all is going to be good :)
 
I clearly expressed this, thanks I feel better hearing you say this.
Nelli eats 3-4 times a day... has for a year plus.
I was actually :eek: having a convo w vet tech about how to do this as there h.o.o are 8-5... So, answer was I need not to feed her anything after 8p, get her in right at 8a.... bring her home and then let her eat
 
Olive has had 3 since October and has not fasted for any of them. Maybe they still have blood and you can call and ask them to do it anyway.
 
I hope the vet was able to help.
@Bronx's dad, I think we crossed post above. Hadnt seen your post when I started my (takes me forever to type!) replys...
Thanks for checking in
Olive has had 3 since October and has not fasted for any of them. Maybe they still have blood and you can call and ask them to do it anyway.
they were the ones telling me couldn’t be done, needed 12 hr. fast?
How could this be so? Olive has had three done with not req a fast.
Further, deeper confused.
 
What I will do as soon as I can determine how many hours before, Ill bring her in and (just) say... yes, shes been fasting for 12 hours
Sound ok?
Exactly what I would suggest. If you search the articles on pancreatitis you will find ideally a 12 hour fast is best but not for a diabetic. My vet is an internal med vet and he never had he fast Max.
The stress of vet visits often caused Max to gave a flare of his chronic panc. I’m so angry that you have to make another trip there for this. Grrr!
 
Nelli had a very, close to ‘ole Nelli day. This afternoon was feelin* good. Ate good (holding out for the kibble Farmina :-l
We are spent, I know I am, and gonna hit the rack.
Muah,
Nelli and Krystina
 
We did a 6 hour fast with the blessing of the vet for Spots GI panel. 12 hours is just mean. Spot would be throwing up clear little puddles all over the place. No thanks!
 
You don't need to fast for spec fpl??? I'll ask my vet tech coworkers but I have never heard of this. Idexx doesn't need you to fast unless they're planning to sedate your cat to draw blood but that makes no sense because if Nelli is hard to take blood from, you can do things like give gabapentin or torb WITHOUT fasting
 
You don't need to fast for spec fpl??? I'll ask my vet tech coworkers but I have never heard of this. Idexx doesn't need you to fast unless they're planning to sedate your cat to draw blood but that makes no sense because if Nelli is hard to take blood from, you can do things like give gabapentin or torb WITHOUT fasting
Thanks Crista :bighug:
 
We did a 6 hour fast with the blessing of the vet for Spots GI panel. 12 hours is just mean. Spot would be throwing up clear little puddles all over the place. No thanks!
I’m going to feed her last at 10:30ish this morning and then bring her in at 4:30ish for dang test :woot:!!!
 
FWIW - Teasel had two IDEXX SpecfL tests done in early summer. He wasn't fasted 12 hours for either. I think the 12 hour fast might be ideal to get accurate levels from the test but it's done without too. Also, neither the Snap nor Spec tests are 100% reliable.
 
Back
Top