01/28 Willow PMPS 97 /+2 90/+3 88/+4 90/+9 90

nslade001

Member Since 2018
yesterday

Hello everyone, after a bluish-green run in the day, Willow had a fairly active cycle last night; although she still hasn't earned a reduction she's doing so well :) Thanks to those who stayed up and checked in on us; it is a such a comfort to know you all are there. I don't know what I'd do without this board, so thank you all!! Wishing you and your kitties all a day of safe surfing, with love, Nikki
ETA: question re using caliper with bd syringes in comments, thanks :)

AMPS 6.2 (112)
1.25 U Lantus
+3 5.0 (90)
+6 5.0 (90)
+9 4.8 (86)
PMPS 5.4 (97)
1.25 U Lantus
+2 5.0 (90)
+3 4.9 (88)
+4 5.0 (90)
+9 5.0 (90)
 
Last edited:
Generally we stick to one post a day. Your other post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-on-tr-protocol-re-dose-increases.210046/

The goal of Tight Regulation is to get cats numbers to be tightly regulated, which is primarily below 100, and preferably in the 50-80 range. It’s possible you might get Willow there if you were to increase. Maybe you could try a dose part way between 1.25 and 1.5 units. Normally suggest going up a full 0.25 unit amounts, but all you really want to do is tweak this dose a bit. I am also hoping that by threatening an increase, Willow will respond appropriately. ;) Cats that get into tight regulation sooner were shown to have better chances of remission. Having said that, Willow’s numbers are quite nice and many would kill for a spreadsheet like that.

Did you ever see China’s spreadsheet? @Chris & China did an awesome job getting her regulated and would increase if blues started appearing.
 
Generally we stick to one post a day. Your other post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-on-tr-protocol-re-dose-increases.210046/

The goal of Tight Regulation is to get cats numbers to be tightly regulated, which is primarily below 100, and preferably in the 50-80 range. It’s possible you might get Willow there if you were to increase. Maybe you could try a dose part way between 1.25 and 1.5 units. Normally suggest going up a full 0.25 unit amounts, but all you really want to do is tweak this dose a bit. I am also hoping that by threatening an increase, Willow will respond appropriately. ;) Cats that get into tight regulation sooner were shown to have better chances of remission. Having said that, Willow’s numbers are quite nice and many would kill for a spreadsheet like that.

Did you ever see China’s spreadsheet? @Chris & China did an awesome job getting her regulated and would increase if blues started appearing.
Thank you, Wendy. Maybe I should be considering calipers, to tweak the dose or at least ensure that it is as accurate as possible. I'll look for some info on that, I'm pretty sure I saw a sticky. Or maybe an insulin ruler would be sufficient?
Yes, it's funny how she seems to respond to the threat, sometimes. I must not threaten her enough lol.
Her numbers are (in my eyes) beautiful, and I'm so grateful for that...I honestly am awed at how others handle those high, bouncy numbers. We do what we have to.
Thanks so much for responding, with love, Nikki
ps edited to add I'll definitely check out China's SS, thanks for mentioning it.
 
The BD syringe markings are horrible with inconsistent zero lines. I figured doses could be out be as much as a third if a unit. You could try the insulin ruler though I think yo7 have to print on A4 paper. Calipers you can get on line or at you local hardware or metal/woodworking shop. If you do that look for ones with the ability to lock a measurement in, and for smaller inwards measuring arms. That’s what are easiest for using calipers with the ring around the BD’s.
 
The BD syringe markings are horrible with inconsistent zero lines. I figured doses could be out be as much as a third if a unit. You could try the insulin ruler though I think yo7 have to print on A4 paper. Calipers you can get on line or at you local hardware or metal/woodworking shop. If you do that look for ones with the ability to lock a measurement in, and for smaller inwards measuring arms. That’s what are easiest for using calipers with the ring around the BD’s.
Thanks, I had no idea BDs were so inaccurate. I was seriously thinking of switching syringes at the end of this box, because I've had issues with *many* syringes having too much lubricant, and I've had to toss them. Would you mind telling me which syringes you used (I think you're in Canada too).
Thanks again, with love, Nikki
 
In Canada you have a choice of BD or BD. One member found some Monojects at a mom and pop pharmacy, but said they hurt her kitty (bigger needles), so went back to BD. I have heard of people getting a different brand from the vet,
 
Thanks yet again, Wendy.

Could anyone tell me how to use calipers with BD syringes? I've spent a long time googling youtube etc and simply don't know how to adjust for the little ridge on BD syringes...the small arms are "supposed" to be used for inside measurements, and I don't see how to use them otherwise. Even a pic of the calipers held on the syringe might help lol.

I don't need help on measuring with them (yet!) as the video and article in the sticky are awesome and I think I can work that out; it's just I can't visualize how to work the little arm under the ridge.

Thanks yet again, with love, Nikki
 
Your numbers are much beautifuller than mine, Nikki, but Wendy similarly suggested I could try nudging them the rest of the way down to normal with tiny dose increases. I suspect I'm fooling myself to think I can eyeball a "fat" 0.25u, so today I picked up a pair of the recommended 4" calipers at Harbor Freight.

The Calipers tab on my spreadsheet works out some settings for a Monoject syringe. (I switched to Monojects because BD doesn't have a syringe with half-unit markings and a 1/2" needle. I do remember one of my BDs having lines that were actually crooked.)
 
Your numbers are much beautifuller than mine, Nikki, but Wendy similarly suggested I could try nudging them the rest of the way down to normal with tiny dose increases. I suspect I'm fooling myself to think I can eyeball a "fat" 0.25u, so today I picked up a pair of the recommended 4" calipers at Harbor Freight.

The Calipers tab on my spreadsheet works out some settings for a Monoject syringe. (I switched to Monojects because BD doesn't have a syringe with half-unit markings and a 1/2" needle. I do remember one of my BDs having lines that were actually crooked.)
Thank you; Thomas's SS is lovely, look at that low dose! If I manage to find any monojects, that will be very useful :) I use the BD syringe with 5/16 needle. With love, Nikki
 
I used the little arms on the calipers. First push the syringe plunger to see where the real zero line is on your syringes. That is where you put the outside of one of the little arms. Then the insulin gets measured to the outside of the other little arm. I used the little arms because the ring on the BD's got in the way of the bigger arms. My DH picked up a pair of calipers for me at favourite tool store.

To find "your" measurement on the BD's, set aside a good syringe. Then measure ten units and determine how many mm that is. Divide by 10, that is your one unit measurement. For me, that was 1.5 mm. For 1.25 units, I would set the calipers to 1.88 (rounded from 1.875). That is the measurement from the outside of one little arm to the other. Remember, it's not so important that your measurement be the same as mine, but rather all future measurements on a dose by you will have the same amount of insulin in the syringe.

Tonight is what we want to see, hopefully a sea of green. :D
 
I used the little arms on the calipers. First push the syringe plunger to see where the real zero line is on your syringes. That is where you put the outside of one of the little arms. Then the insulin gets measured to the outside of the other little arm.
Thank you so much! So from the outside of each of the little arms :)
I'm loving the greens, but my she's incredibly flat today lol!
with love, Nikki
 
Back
Top