? 02/02-Freckles/Judy - 304@PMPS, 271@+1 , 275@+2.75 - vomited supper

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's post

We are just finishing our 6th cycle on 7.5u of Lantus and should be looking to increase for tonights pm dose. But Freckles had some green time and some blue time on this dose and I'm just wondering if I should hold this dose for a few more cycles or give the increase as scheduled?

If @Wendy&Neko are around or other experienced people, I welcome your input.

Thanks in advance!
 
Ok, that's what I was thinking because we hit some greens at 6u and held the dose. I suppose Freckles may have had a longer stint of greens on Jan. 31 if I didn't have to leave that evening and fed her some MC food.

Thanks again Wendy!
 
Hi Judy, it looks like Freckles needs a nudge, technically those 104/103 numbers are blue ;). Seems to me there is room for an increase.
Thanks Christie. There is a bit more of a history to the 104/103/94 and dropping night. I had to leave that night and was unable to check for 4 hours so Freckles could have gone lower but I fed her some MC food to ensure safety.
 
304 @ +PMPS and Freckles did not have her normal voracious appetite. She only ate about 1/2 can of her FF for her supper (usually eats 1 1/8 can). She ate her breakfast like a trooper but as the morning unfolded she ate her FD chicken treat with her tests, but not as energetically as usual. She also had quite a high PMPS tonight. Not sure if the poor appetite caused the high BG or the other way around or if something else is going on. She did get her full 7.5 u dose of insulin though.
 
Last edited:
I should add that this is the first time since this FD journey started that her appetite was not voracious except for the time she scarfed and barfed. She's been sleeping most of the afternoon, but that is not abnormal.

Any suggestions to settle her stomach or encourage her to eat? I never thought I would have to ask for THIS type of advice! :banghead:
 
Last edited:
It may not be anything, sometimes even my civvie isn't interested in eating his meal completely. Keep an eye out, offer some smaller snacks during the evening, and hopefully she'll be back to her usual appy.
 
Thanks Christie. Freckles has an automatic feeder so she is all set for evening snacks - she is still lying in her bed with squinty eyes and no appetite. I tried Parmesan sprinkles on her food and still no interest. I hope that 1/2 can of FF will be enough to offset her insulin that she received tonight. I'll be checking frequently.
 
Hmm. I understand your concern, maybe try some of these other suggestions

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/

I've had to use a few of these, not recently but with my CRF kitty years ago. Some kitties react well to heating the food, about 5-10 seconds in the microwave, tuna water, chicken, crumbled treats over the food...let us know how things go tonight, hope everything is okay. Does she appear nauseated at all? Smelling the food and walking away?
 
Oh no, I'm sorry. Just food or with maybe some hair ball? Give her maybe 10-15minutes, let her tummy settle, then try and offer just a little amount of food or something bland like boiled chicken.
 
projectile vomit - no hairball. I just offered her some of her food with fortiflora and no interest. Will try chicken in a little while. Thanks Christie
 
Hmm. I understand your concern, maybe try some of these other suggestions

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/

I've had to use a few of these, not recently but with my CRF kitty years ago. Some kitties react well to heating the food, about 5-10 seconds in the microwave, tuna water, chicken, crumbled treats over the food...let us know how things go tonight, hope everything is okay. Does she appear nauseated at all? Smelling the food and walking away?
Thanks for the link. I knew it was here someplace, but couldn't find it.
 
275@+2.75 - This is the time that I hope her little body keeps resisting the insulin because she has no food in her system to counteract it. Could be a long night... At least her numbers were high to start with.
 
Okay...I've seen some members use the meat baby food from the list with success, not sure if you can zip out and get some. I'm worried for you. Hoping Freckles gets the appy back, but if not tonight, and if more vomiting occurs, a vetty visit tomorrow might be in order. :bighug:
 
Okay...I've seen some members use the meat baby food from the list with success, not sure if you can zip out and get some. I'm worried for you. Hoping Freckles gets the appy back, but if not tonight, and if more vomiting occurs, a vetty visit tomorrow might be in order. :bighug:
Thanks Christie. Don't have any all meat baby food... haven't been able to find that in the city. I am an hour away from the city so unfortunately there are no quick outings. I will be keeping a close eye on her tonight and tomorrow that's for sure.
 
Sorry, out for dinner so just a quick pop in. Purée some chicken or her FF with water? Warm it up? Luckily if tummy is upset, it can increase her numbers.

Feel better Freckles. :bighug:
 
Thanks Wendy. She's just having a little drink of water now so will offer her some food in a little bit when I check her numbers.

Hope your dinner is going well! Eat extra dessert for us!!:)
 
270 @+5 and still not interested in eating. Went back to laying down. I'm glad to see her drink some water. Hopefully she is feeling better in the morning.
 
Don't have any all meat baby food... haven't been able to find that in the city.
I haven't been able to find it anywhere in Vancouver. All of the options come with vegetables (carbs). I did at one point get some across the border, but it doesn't keep long. I had better luck making my own. Boil some chicken, purree meat and stock together.

Paws crossed this is just a blip and Freckles feels better tomorrow.
 
I haven't been able to find it anywhere in Vancouver. All of the options come with vegetables (carbs). I did at one point get some across the border, but it doesn't keep long. I had better luck making my own. Boil some chicken, purree meat and stock together.

Paws crossed this is just a blip and Freckles feels better tomorrow.
Thanks Wendy. Looks like Freckles is feeling better. Giving her breakfast in small amounts so she doesn't scarf n' barf it all up. :)
 
Back
Top