02/10/20 Thomas J. AMPS 207, +3 233, +7 198, PMPS 277, +4 291 Staying lower today.

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/09/20
He's lower than normal this morning. Has me wondering what his numbers were last night. I didn't get a before bed test in because he was being too aggressive and not having it. I figured it would've been high like usual anyway. Should've just pressed on because it seems like it may have been lower than usual instead. I'll have to make it a priority to get a before bed test from now on as it's an important test, even if he's fighting me.
I decided to still increase the dose this morning to 0.75 unit to the best of my ability. I Couldn't quite finesse a perfect 0.75, maybe more of a 0.6. I reread the post about dosing with calipers, it makes me wonder if I may not have be giving him the correct dose since syringes can be so off. Might look at all my syringes later.
He's still eating well and always drinks all the water I put in his food bowl so I know he's well hydrated at least. Planning on doing a +3 and +6 to see where the dose is taking him.
I hope everyone is doing alright today.
 
That's a much better start!

I had the same issue with the calipers - but did finally get these from Harbor Freight:
https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html
upload_2020-2-10_7-1-22.png


It's important to get the calipers with the little screw on top so once you set your digital number you can lock it in place.

It's also important to set your calipers based on the type of syringes you're using. I use Relion syringes from Walmart so with some help from Marje (who is currently on vacation) I was able to get a list of all the numbers that correspond with the correct dose. If you look at Luci's SS - under the tab labeled 'Information' you'll see my list...

Look it over and see if it helps you understand. I saw a big difference in Luci's numbers after I started using calipers to help me get the dose consistent! I was using the lines on the syringe to measure and since the lines are different from one package to another heaven only knows what dose she was really getting. I couldn't do without my calipers now and use them every time I pull insulin into the syringe - it really helps with the odd numbers (like .75 or .25) and even smaller doses would be way too challenging for me without the calipers, although we've never really gotten any lower than .25...Luci needs more juice than that :)

Hope this is helpful :) Have a great day!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-2-10_7-1-22.png
    upload_2020-2-10_7-1-22.png
    113.8 KB · Views: 198
Trying to figure out if I should stay up and monitor him or if I can go back to sleep. He woke me up all last night and this morning asking for food. At least I know he was feeling up to bothering me. Which this was his normal routine with dry food as well so I don't think it indicates anything abnormal, he does this nearly every night. I even gave him a spoonful of food before bed because he was acting like he was starving yet he still woke me up.
 
That's a much better start!

I had the same issue with the calipers - but did finally get these from Harbor Freight:
https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html
View attachment 51161

It's important to get the calipers with the little screw on top so once you set your digital number you can lock it in place.

It's also important to set your calipers based on the type of syringes you're using. I use Relion syringes from Walmart so with some help from Marje (who is currently on vacation) I was able to get a list of all the numbers that correspond with the correct dose. If you look at Luci's SS - under the tab labeled 'Information' you'll see my list...

Look it over and see if it helps you understand. I saw a big difference in Luci's numbers after I started using calipers to help me get the dose consistent! I was using the lines on the syringe to measure and since the lines are different from one package to another heaven only knows what dose she was really getting. I couldn't do without my calipers now and use them every time I pull insulin into the syringe - it really helps with the odd numbers (like .75 or .25) and even smaller doses would be way too challenging for me without the calipers, although we've never really gotten any lower than .25...Luci needs more juice than that :)

Hope this is helpful :) Have a great day!
I don't have calipers yet but I assumed they'd be super expensive, that's not a bad price to me though. May pick these up. Think I'd feel more at ease having a more exact dosage.
 
Trying to figure out if I should stay up and monitor him or if I can go back to sleep. He woke me up all last night and this morning asking for food. At least I know he was feeling up to bothering me. Which this was his normal routine with dry food as well so I don't think it indicates anything abnormal, he does this nearly every night. I even gave him a spoonful of food before bed because he was acting like he was starving yet he still woke me up.

You can probably go back to bed for a couple of hours - are you able to set an alarm and get up in 2 or 3 hours? Lantus usually kicks in around 2+.
 
Nice start today. I hope he surfs safely for you. I use calipers and once you get the hang of them they're great and you'll wonder how you ever did without them.
 
I don't use any lancing device. I also use calipers for every shot. It makes dosing more consistent. Do you have a timed feeder you can use overnight? It really comes in handy.
 
I don't use any lancing device. I also use calipers for every shot. It makes dosing more consistent. Do you have a timed feeder you can use overnight? It really comes in handy.
I'm planning on buying calipers soon. I've thought even before he was diagnosed about buying a timed feeder, I should start saving up for one. Any recommendations?
 
Back
Top