? 02/17 Tinka 194 PMPS, 79 +3, 70 +3.75 (LC meal), 65 +4.5, 65 +5, 56 +5.5, 61 + 6, 70 +7

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, Tinka was pretty high at AMPS today at 279 likely a bounce from green values last night. She may well have dropped lower in the night too. She was very hungry this AM and really throughout the day. She was 121 +6, 191 +8 and +194 at PMPS. I had to wait to feed her as I couldn't shoot earlier as I already moved her shoot time by 30 mins this am. She was literally desperate for food and very hungry. She ate her dinner very fast. I shot and then she vomited it all up. This hasn't happened before. I then waited 10 mins and refed her and she ate it all and kept it down. I've taken her +3 about 20 mins ago and she has dropped quite a lot to 79. I'm really pleased to see green just not sure if she's dropping fast. She usually gets fed now at +3.5. Can I feed her or do I need to wait and retest to see if she's coming up or down?

If I feed now will I then have to get 3 more tests in before bed? 1 an hour after feeding, then 2 that are non food influenced to see if she's stabilising or going higher? If so its gona be another late one. I also don't want to keep her waiting long though as she's really hungry again and this is unsual behaviour must be from the up and down values today. Maybe I can wait another 5-10 mins and get another BG then feed? Thank you!

Here's my last condo from yesterday - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...24-8-122-9-148-pmps-126-2-95-3-92-4-5.173277/
 
I would definitely feed her. Then test in an hour. As to how many more tests that will depend on her numbers. If you don't feed her she will likely drop. I used to feed Max small amounts until +5 or 6 and of course later if he dropped under 50.
 
Hi Tanya.

First, you don't have to wait an hour to feed and test. It takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect the BG, so you can get another test now and see where she is. Then we'll take it from there. Deep breaths. This may not be a really late night, but we'll have to see.
 
Hi Tanya.

First, you don't have to wait an hour to feed and test. It takes 20-30 minutes for food to affect the BG, so you can get another test now and see where she is. Then we'll take it from there. Deep breaths. This may not be a really late night, but we'll have to see.
Thanks so much Tricia so I just got in an approx +3.5 about 20 mins ago. Then fed her straight after. She ate some then took a break and has just finished it now. I'll wait 20 mins then test again that'll be approx 4.5 and will post back. Quite an up and down cycle today. Could really do with an earlier night for the sake of my health but of course my priority is tinkas health and safety too. Hubby starts work later tmrw so I can always get him to take over if needed. But let's see how it goes maybe she won't want a pj party tonight ;)
 
Ok so I fed I just got in a +4.5 and she's dropped a bit to 65. Thought she would have gone up after 48g LC food. Its was about 45mins from the time I gave her the meal till when I did the +4.5. I can get in another test in 20mins which will be her +5?
 
I'm on my way to bed and can't stay. Did you feed at +4.5?
I fed her 48g, so a fairly big meal as that's what she usually gets, at +3.75 after I tested her BG which was 70. I waited 45mins till +4.5 and tested again and she was 65. I didn't feed her anything more then as I doubt she would have eaten anything as she barely finished her big meal. I'll get in a +5 now and report back. If she drop lower I'll try feed her some more LC. Should I add a drop honey?
 
Surfing is god. If it were me, I'd hold food for 30 minutes and test again.
Options:
If Tinka's numbers are holding (without food) or going up, feed LC and leave some out for the rest of the night just in case.
If her numbers are going down, feed LC and test in another 30 minutes.
If you can't stay up for health reasons (and don't want to worry), carb her up with food and a bit of honey.

It's hard to tell because her nadirs are all over the place.
 
Surfing is god. If it were me, I'd hold food for 30 minutes and test again.
Options:
If Tinka's numbers are holding (without food) or going up, feed LC and leave some out for the rest of the night just in case.
If her numbers are going down, feed LC and test in another 30 minutes.
If you can't stay up for health reasons (and don't want to worry), carb her up with food and a bit of honey.

It's hard to tell because her nadirs are all over the place.
Thank you for the info. How long does it typically take after feeding for the food to not influence the values? My understanding was that if you're having an active cycle it's best to get in 2 non food influenced tests, that are stable or going up, if possible before stopping monitoring. I fed Tinka at +3.75 and she prob finished all her food at +4.25. So how long after would food not be influencing a test? Then if I get two tests that are non food influenced can that be 30 mins apart or is an hour better?

Leaving food out is difficult as she's on a raw food diet so food can't be out longer than an hour. I could leave a few LC treats out but tbh she'll prob just eat them right away. I can stay awake another hour. It's 1:30am here now. If needed my hubby can stay up later tonight or set an alarm. I'll get a +5.5 now and post back.
 
The general consensus as I understand it, is 2 hours without feeding. The difficulty is that carbs wear off, and they are.

Feed LC with a drop of honey. A couple of drops if you can't stay up. Get your husband to check in 30 minutes and in 60 minutes.

I myself can't stay up much longer. It's almost 4 a.m.
 
The general consensus as I understand it, is 2 hours without feeding. The difficulty is that carbs wear off, and they are.

Feed LC with a drop of honey. A couple of drops if you can't stay up. Get your husband to check in 30 minutes and in 60 minutes.

I myself can't stay up much longer. It's almost 4 a.m.
Thanks so much! Can I feed just LC and see if that curbs her or is it better to just do a drop honey and LC now? She's 3.1 / 56. Sorry it's so late for you we should be ok on our own hopefully someone else will come on soon.
 
Thanks so much! Can I feed just LC and see if that curbs her or is it better to just do a drop honey and LC now? She's 3.1 / 56. Sorry it's so late for you we should be ok on our own hopefully someone else will come on soon.
You want to edit your post to read 3.1/56?
I'm accustomed to both sets of numbers.
If you are looking for the drop under 50 and the reduction, don't feed for 30 minutes. If you want to go to bed, feed LC with a drop of honey and have your husband get a couple of tests in.
 
You want to edit your post to read 3.1/56?
I'm accustomed to both sets of numbers.
If you are looking for the drop under 50 and the reduction, don't feed for 30 minutes. If you want to go to bed, feed LC with a drop of honey and have your husband get a couple of tests in.
Thank you that makes sense. Hard to know which to do not sure if I should just let her earn a reduction or curb her. I think I'll stay up either way.
 
Thank you that makes sense. Hard to know which to do not sure if I should just let her earn a reduction or curb her. I think I'll stay up either way.
I'd ask in the morning when people experienced with pred and insulin are online. It looks to me like Tinka has been looking for a reduction. But you have to take into account the pred (something I've never dealt with personally).
 
Ok so I think we'll wait a little longer so 30 mins from last test, in about 10 mins time and test again and see if she warms a reduction then give her LC 2 tsp with a drop of honey. I hand never done that before having her go below 50 but maybe that's best to not intervene with honey till she earns it. An earned reduction may be helpful in the long run.
 
I'd ask in the morning when people experienced with pred and insulin are online. It looks to me like Tinka has been looking for a reduction. But you have to take into account the pred (something I've never dealt with personally).
Thank you I agree and I may well be reducing the pred it time too. The monitoring this past week has been exhausting so I'll see if she drops below and earns the reduction then intervene. What is the protocol thereafter for tonight? Just keeping feeding LC or LC with a drop of honey till she comes up then get in a a few tests thereafter?
 
Ok so I think we'll wait a little longer so 30 mins from last test, in about 10 mins time and test again and see if she warms a reduction then give her LC 2 tsp with a drop of honey. I hand never done that before having her go below 50 but maybe that's best to not intervene with honey till she earns it. An earned reduction may be helpful in the long run.
I think if she goes below 50, it won't be much below 50. If she does go below, then it is definitely time to get the honey out.

You are doing a fantastic job. I don't know how you manage this on so little sleep.

I'm off to bed. Holler if need be. I hope you get some sleep.
 
Thank you I agree and I may well be reducing the pred it time too. The monitoring this past week has been exhausting so I'll see if she drops below and earns the reduction then intervene. What is the protocol thereafter for tonight? Just keeping feeding LC or LC with a drop of honey till she comes up then get in a a few tests thereafter?
We cross posted. Yes to honey and LC under 50. Once a cat is under 50, the reduction has been earned and there is no need to try to continue the surf. I'd carb her up just because of how late at night it is.
 
We cross posted. Yes to honey and LC under 50. Once a cat is under 50, the reduction has been earned and there is no need to try to continue the surf. I'd carb her up just because of how late at night it is.
Great thank you sorry to ask questions when it's so late but it's he first time iv had this. So if she doesn't increase with 1 drop honey I feed her more honey and LC then shortly after? What numbers would she need to be in before its "safe" to stop monitoring?
 
Great thank you sorry to ask questions when it's so late but it's he first time iv had this. So if she doesn't increase with 1 drop honey I feed her more honey and LC then shortly after? What numbers would she need to be in before its "safe" to stop monitoring?
Feed her LC and honey. I can't say how much honey because I don't know what the next number is going to be. I'd be inclined to go with a couple of drops if the number has fallen drastically.

Honey (carbs) do wear off. If you could set an alarm or get your husband to do a couple of tests.
 
Feed her LC and honey. I can't say how much honey because I don't know what the next number is going to be. I'd be inclined to go with a couple of drops if the number has fallen drastically.

Honey (carbs) do wear off. If you could set an alarm or get your husband to do a couple of tests.
Thanks so much really appreciate your help! She's 3.4 / 63 now. Not sure if she's gona drop will wait another 30 mins. She seems really hungry though but I'll wait a bit longer. Sorry it's so late for you hope you sleep well. It's so quite on the forum tonight. Hopefully others will emerge soon. Thanks again sleep well!
 
Tanya, I dozed off about an hour ago. :oops: But, you are right that you want two tests rising with no food influence. She's essentially been flat the last couple of hours, which is great. When did you last feed her?
 
Was the 3.1 / 56 not a drop then?
Yes and no. :p There is a 20% meter variance allowance that we always have to take into consideration. That essentially means that 65, 56 and 61 are pretty much the same number. She is surfing. That is a good thing, albeit a little unnerving. We'd rather she surfed in the 70s or 80s, to be safe, but this is fine.
 
Yes and no. :p There is a 20% meter variance allowance that we always have to take into consideration. That essentially means that 65, 56 and 61 are pretty much the same number. She is surfing. That is a good thing, albeit a little unnerving. We'd rather she surfed in the 70s or 80s, to be safe, but this is fine.
Thank you for the info that's helpful:) So should I get another test in now and if she's the round same or higher feed her some LC and head to bed? Or test again later? Or I can wait a bit longer then test and feed? It's almost +7 now.
 
The last time you fed her was +4? If that's correct, she's looking good. I would get a +7, and if that's higher than the last test (61@+6?), I'd give her some LC and go to bed. I'll check back, and if you'll post the +7, I'll weigh in on my thoughts about whether or not it's safe to call it a night.

I just want to say that Tinka is really making great progress, and your dedication is making a difference for her. :) It's too bad for you that she likes to do her lagoon surfing at night, but those numbers are very healthy and healing.:D
 
The last time you fed her was +4? If that's correct, she's looking good. I would get a +7, and if that's higher than the last test (61@+6?), I'd give her some LC and go to bed. I'll check back, and if you'll post the +7, I'll weigh in on my thoughts about whether or not it's safe to call it a night.

I just want to say that Tinka is really making great progress, and your dedication is making a difference for her. :) It's too bad for you that she likes to do her lagoon surfing at night, but those numbers are very healthy and healing.:D
Thanks SO much Tricia that's really encouraging to here about tinkas progress it makes it all worth it!! Yes that's correct she was last fed around +4 and not since. Hubby will get in a +7 now and I'll post it on here to let you know what it is. Hopefully it'll be higher so we can head to bed soon! It's been quite the week of pj parties for us! She does seem to enjoy lagoon surfing late at night ;)
 
t's been quite the week of pj parties for us! She does seem to enjoy lagoon surfing late at night
Well, we all know that cats are nocturnal animals, so I guess we shouldn't be surprised that they are most active at night. I think we thought that meant playing, prowling, etc., but in L&L Land, that means lagoon action! :rolleyes:
 
Well, we all know that cats are nocturnal animals, so I guess we shouldn't be surprised that they are most active at night. I think we thought that meant playing, prowling, etc., but in L&L Land, that means lagoon action! :rolleyes:
Ha ha indeed! I can be a night owl myself but not quite this much! Hopefully it'll settle down soon so mama can get in some healing sleep too! Ok so she was now 3.9 / 70 at +7. Gone up a little. Should I feed some LC and head to bed?
 
Yup. Give her as much food as you think she'll eat and call it a night. Good work. I know it's been tough, but honestly, it's worth it in the long run. This is very encouraging.
 
Yup. Give her as much food as you think she'll eat and call it a night. Good work. I know it's been tough, but honestly, it's worth it in the long run. This is very encouraging.
Yah best news for the night! Bed here I come lol ;) I shall feed her a good portion and that should hopefully help her surf the night! Thanks so so much I know it's really late for you too so I so appreciate all your time, advise and encouragement! You're a star!!! :) Hope you sleep well too!
 
No worries. I'm a night owl. Plus, I really hate to see people on the Board looking for help when there aren't many veterans around. I remember what it felt like to need help.

Sleep tight. Surf safely, Tinka!
 
No worries. I'm a night owl. Plus, I really hate to see people on the Board looking for help when there aren't many veterans around. I remember what it felt like to need help.

Sleep tight. Surf safely, Tinka!
Thats so wonderful that you are helping others and giving back on the group its such a blessing! Hopefully one day I can offer some experienced help to others too. Tinka is a bit confused about the late night dinner but pretty happy about it! She's eaten a fair amount so we can head to bed now. 4am seems to be our new bedtime. Sleep well too :)
 
Thats so wonderful that you are helping others and giving back on the group its such a blessing! Hopefully one day I can offer some experienced help to others too.
It's no exaggeration to say that the people here that helped me, saved Cinco's life and my sanity. They helped me with Harvey and with my civvies, too. I can never repay it, but I'll keep trying. This is what keeps this Board going. We're all in the same boat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top