? 02/21 Chase +11.5 115, amps @ +12 114, shot @ 12.5, +1 135, +2 112, +11.75 144, +1 186, +2 148, +3 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
Good Morning,

Are you here, Gil? Chase is low this morning, I think. I don't know if I should shoot, or if I should just try the .1 dose. I'm new to the human meter numbers. But Marje said 50 - 120 were good on those. I'm afraid if I shoot he could dip dangerously low. What do I do?
 
Can you stall without feeding breakfast and try another test in 20-30mins?
Hi Nan. Yes. I'll "stall". LOL. The website took about 10 minutes before I could get in. So I found my paperwork that Marge encouraged me to print out.
Shooting Low Numbers: Told me to stall. It didn't say how long, (or maybe it did and I just missed it) but I was going to do it for 30 minutes. I will sit here and have Chase screaming at me as I drink my teal LOL. He LOVES his food.

Will you be here for the next 20 minutes to help me decide... should his number not go up? I know it' s on the high side of being a "good" number, but Chase has been diving, lately, so I have to be really careful. I'm also brand new to human meter numbers. I'm charting the numbers, though.

Thank you, Nan... and Good Morning. :bighug:
 
Hi Sandi,
A 30 minute stall should give you good info to know how to proceed. The new lower numbers from the human meter are scary at first, especially when he's on the margin like this.
 
Good morning to you! Chase really does seem to be on a mission, doesn't he?

Yes, I'll be around-- I have to get ready for work myself but will be checking in around the next test time. There might be others around as well.

The 115 really is on the cusp-- I wouldn't be nervous about shooting the 0.1U if you were home, but with you being gone all day it gets trickier. The stall should give us an idea of whether he's on the way up or just kind of hovering at this level, which will influence the decision.

Hoping some of the pros will be here in 30 mins to advise!
 
Good job stalling. Many people who work will set an alarm for PM+11 for a bg test this way you know if the kitty is rising, falling or flat into AMPS making it easier to make a decision. Hopefully Chase will let you know what he wants you to do about his shot at the next test.
 
Good job stalling. Many people who work will set an alarm for PM+11 for a bg test this way you know if the kitty is rising, falling or flat into AMPS making it easier to make a decision. Hopefully Chase will let you know what he wants you to do about his shot at the next test.
Hi Karen. :) So that would have been 5:30 am. this morning? The +11? I almost made that. I tested at 6:00 a.m. I need to start getting up earlier, I guess. And I've been trying to stay up to test a +5 in the evening, but I keep falling asleep. And I REALLY should have done it last night since we are really working with Chase... with food and dose... to see what his going to get him to the best number. I am setting a PM alarm on my phone right now so that I don't forget this evening AND fall asleep. :(

Darn it. I'm kicking myself right now. I got a +7 last night, when I woke up in my chair. I did the SAME exact thing the night before. But I think I'm really supposed to getting that +5 - +6 number. :banghead:
 
Morning.
Let's see what he is doing, but just want to get this out there so it doesn't get missed.
If you shoot, regardless of dose, remember to feed the MC like you did last night.


As he was 155@+7 last night it does look like he dipped at some point question is,
Is he still dipping or is he back on his way up?
 
Morning.
Let's see what he is doing, but just want to get this out there so it doesn't get missed.
If you shoot, regardless of dose, remember to feed the MC like you did last night.


As he was 155@+7 last night it does look like he dipped at some point question is,
Is he still dipping or is he back on his way up?
I guess he is still dipping. 30 minutes after getting the 115 BG, I got a 114 BG. Should I wait 30 more minutes, test again to determine about shooting, and then feed? It is pushing my schedule back again, but 30 minutest is doable.
 
I guess he is still dipping. 30 minutes after getting the 115 BG, I got a 114 BG. Should I wait 30 more minutes, test again to determine about shooting, and then feed? It is pushing my schedule back again, but 30 minutest is doable.
He looks flat 113 and 114 are the same.
Remind me again when you have to leave?
 
I have to get into the shower. Should I just test at 7:00 again, before I shoot, or shoot and feed. Or feed while I'm in the shower and then shoot? And do I stick with the .25 since I can't be here? The longer I wait to shoot, the less time I can be here. However, I can come home in 3 -4 hours to test again, if I have to.
 
What time do you normally give the shot? It's 11 hours from the time you give the PMPS. So if you gave the shot at 6:30pm last night then yes, 5:30am would be the PM +11.
OK... yes, I've been trying to stay on the 6:30 mark. However... now we are moving towards 7:00 and I haven't shot or fed yet. Don't know what to do. Maybe feed the MC and shoot .1? Since I can't be here. Tick tock, tick tock. I must make a decision.
 
Often when we shoot lower they stay flatter.

He will start to come up, as the insulin from last nights shot starts to 'wear off'.
It's your decision.
You have some options
1) shoot the 0.25u, he is high enough to shoot, this may or may not result in you having to stay and steer him with food, for longer.
2) shoot a reduced dose 0.1u, again the first part of the cycle may well play out like it would if you shot the 0.25.
3)skip, altogether (feed LC), this may see him run high by pmps

Last nights use of MC seemed to help him stay flat, so shooting and using that technique would be my prefered choice, if it were me.
shooting 0.1 would be a more conservative approach, given that you have to leave to go to work, but it's ultimately up to you.
 
Often when we shoot lower they stay flatter.

He will start to come up, as the insulin from last nights shot starts to 'wear off'.
It's your decision.
You have some options
1) shoot the 0.25u, he is high enough to shoot, this may or may not result in you having to stay and steer him with food, for longer.
2) shoot a reduced dose 0.1u, again the first part of the cycle may well play out like it would if you shot the 0.25.
3)skip, altogether (feed LC), this may see him run high by pmps

Last nights use of MC seemed to help him stay flat, so shooting and using that technique would be my prefered choice, if it were me.
shooting 0.1 would be a more conservative approach, given that you have to leave to go to work, but it's ultimately up to you.
 
You said... if it were you, "if it were me.
shooting 0.1 would be a more conservative approach, given that you have to leave to go to work, but it's ultimately up to you." But you didn't say you would use a conservative approach..LOL

If I can stay home until the +2, should I give the .25, or should I give the .1? That's what I'm not sure of.
 
Often when we shoot lower they stay flatter.

He will start to come up, as the insulin from last nights shot starts to 'wear off'.
It's your decision.
You have some options
1) shoot the 0.25u, he is high enough to shoot, this may or may not result in you having to stay and steer him with food, for longer.
2) shoot a reduced dose 0.1u, again the first part of the cycle may well play out like it would if you shot the 0.25.
3)skip, altogether (feed LC), this may see him run high by pmps

Last nights use of MC seemed to help him stay flat, so shooting and using that technique would be my prefered choice, if it were me.
shooting 0.1 would be a more conservative approach, given that you have to leave to go to work, but it's ultimately up to you.
Oh... I see where you said shoot reduced dose. I'm sorry. I missed that. Doing it now. :)
 
You said... if it were you, "if it were me.
shooting 0.1 would be a more conservative approach, given that you have to leave to go to work, but it's ultimately up to you." But you didn't say you would use a conservative approach..LOL

If I can stay home until the +2, should I give the .25, or should I give the .1? That's what I'm not sure of.
Very perceptive Sandi,
I would shoot the 0.25. I only stalled once with George and always gave the full dose, but by the time I got to this stage I had a few months of managing Georges numbers, and an autofeeder and a cat that would eat on command.
I have a feeling he will surf for you, but there are no guarantees, if he decides to drop, you would be able to keep him safe by managing his curve with food, but with work commitments, is this going to be possible/feasible?, it has to be your call.
Shooting the more conservative dose is a valid choice given the situation.
 
Just wanted to explain my post above, Sandi, because of the inherent inaccuracies of drawing doses, if you shoot 0.1 again because you are doubling the margin of error, it's possible that you end up shooting more that 0.25u.
So we don't recommend splitting doses like that.
 
+1 is 135 Maybe the MC is keeping a little level. I know that the +2 is the most telling test. He is only now finishing the one small can of FF MC. His diet calls for 4 cans a day, so I'm being conservative. If his number is still good at +2, I'm thinking I should leave some frozen LC down for the remainder of his day, until dinner. If his number is low, I will have to leave out wet MC or HC, depending. :)
 
The million dollar question...

At + 2 he is 112 on the Reli=On meter. do I leave food down? MC? LC? This is a good number, right? I really need to try and get out the door. Is anyone here for a quick response? :)
 
Hopefully you can, I think he will be ok, but leave some food out for him just in case.

I can read it fine, but it would make more sense to others to write
+11.5 115 amps@+12 114 shot at +12.5 ;) don't worry about it now, guess you are dashing to get to work.
I changed it. I want to be able to go back and look at it for the next time. :)
 
Or is that too big of a drop. Do I need to try and stay to get a +3? Work won't like it, but Chase's life is worth it.
IDK, it's a coin toss for me honestly. The +1 was a food spike and he came back down to about what his preshot was. If you feed him now and can come back for sure in a few hours think you can go and leave MC out.
 
I would leave out MC. Great job today!!

Personally, I would have shot 0.1u so you made a good decision. I'm glad the MC has helped him flatten out.

BTW, I know I said I don't change things on SSs unless asked but I did change 0.01u to 0.1u for what you shot today so no one would think you just shot a teeny, tiny bit of insulin. Like less than a drop :)

:bighug::bighug:
 
OK. I wish I could stay home, but I'm leaving. And since I'm getting to work so late I can't come home until the end of my day. I should be here by 6:16 and will test and get ready to shoot and feed, then. Thank you all so much.

Maybe the .01 Lantus and MC food will be the trick for this Cheeky Monkey. :) Have a great day, everyone.
 
Sandi

One thing we haven't told you yet since Chase has kept you busy and you had computer issues, is that we always link the previous day's condo in the current day. That way, if we need to very quickly read what someone told you the preceding days, it is fast.

Here is the link for Chase's 2/20 condo.

To link the previous day's condo, do this:
--open the previous day's condo
--copy the browser address and close that condo
--open a new condo and in the test box, type something like "Yesterday" or Chase's xx Condo" where xx is the date, etc. some get very creative.
--highlight what you just typed and then click on the hyperlink icon (looks like a paper clip....7th icon from your left) in the tool bar above the text box.
--a box will open and then you can paste the browser address you copied into the box and click "insert".

All done!! Have a great day!!!!
 
I would leave out MC. Great job today!!

Personally, I would have shot 0.1u so you made a good decision. I'm glad the MC has helped him flatten out.

BTW, I know I said I don't change things on SSs unless asked but I did change 0.01u to 0.1u for what you shot today so no one would think you just shot a teeny, tiny bit of insulin. Like less than a drop :)

:bighug::bighug:
Yay... oh Marje... I'm so glad to see you before I bolt out the door. And I'm so glad you agree with I did, as did others. I am going to leave the rest of his 1/2 day rations of food down. He will probably gobble all of down right away. Unfortunately, I can't come back home to test mid day. It will have to be this evening. And tonight... I have an alarm already set to be sure and get that +5.

:bighug: You can make changes on the SS anytime, as long as you remind me that you did so that I can see the correction. That's how I learn. :) From now on... 0.1u.
 
Sandi

One thing we haven't told you yet since Chase has kept you busy and you had computer issues, is that we always link the previous day's condo in the current day. That way, if we need to very quickly read what someone told you the preceding days, it is fast.

Here is the link for Chase's 2/20 condo.

To link the previous day's condo, do this:
--open the previous day's condo
--copy the browser address and close that condo
--open a new condo and in the test box, type something like "Yesterday" or Chase's xx Condo" where xx is the date, etc. some get very creative.
--highlight what you just typed and then click on the hyperlink icon (looks like a paper clip....7th icon from your left) in the tool bar above the text box.
--a box will open and then you can paste the browser address you copied into the box and click "insert".

All done!! Have a great day!!!!
Thank you. Wish I could print this out now. LOL. Everyone... please stop posting so that I can easily find Marje's instructions easily. OR.... Marje, you could message me the instructions?

Ok... gotta run. Byeeeee
 
0.1 this evening... right Marje?

Oh heck... I'm still here and ready to bolt but I may as well get a 2.75. I'll post and run and will try to check in at work at some point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top