02/22/20 Thomas J. AMPS 333, +5.5 203, PMPS 256 Not enough blood for testing tonight.

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/21/20
So stressed this morning, was about to start crying. He's being such a hellion this morning. Just starts attacking me right out of the gate when I pet him. I fought him for 35 minutes and got nowhere near poking him.
I don't understand how he can do a complete 360 all the time. One day he let's me pet, massage, and poke no problem at all then others he acts like I'm trying to murder him and attacks me the whole time. He was being good last night. This morning he hates me.
I think he was hungry but he had food left out all night that he didn't touch. Just really aggravates me. Typical cat I guess.
I gave him his breakfast which thankfully was enough to distract him and get a poke. Thank goodness I got enough blood. High number which I figured with all the stress.
Was upset about the injection too. He hated me lifting his skin. 15 minutes late today despite starting 10 minutes early. I actually got up before my alarm because he was scratching at my door.
To top it all off I've been having acid reflux all night that won't go away despite taking acid reducer every day and an extra one this morning. I've only gotten 2 1/2 hours of sleep. About to grab another 3 if possible but I have plans today already. Have to go pick up more cat food today so I can't put it off unfortunately.
I know there's people much worse off in the world. I'm very thankful for everything I have. I just feel crappy today though.
I hope everyone is doing well today. Let's all have a good weekend.
 
Last edited:
I was thinking about getting some methylcobalamin b12 and folic acid. I feel like the b12 may be a good vitamin for him since he's a senior cat with low energy. Thought maybe it could encourage more exercise so he can lose weight and build the muscle he recently lost.
I know it's usually used by kitties with kidney problems and neuropathy and he's not diagnosed with either. Although he started having the limping a few months back that comes and goes.
I was thinking of picking some up while I was out today. Do you think it's a good idea or not?
 
Hi Brittany,

Ugh, I'm so sorry you're having such a crappy time right now :( It's bad enough when our furbutts keep challenging us, to never mind ALSO feeling sick yourself. Definitely try to get a nap or two in there if you can.

One thing that is important, and honestly, this is more than likely going to aggravate your acid reflux by my even SAYING it (heehee) but it is SUPER important that WE are calm when "going in for the poke" (or whatever we're doing) Just like dogs, cats absolutely pick up on our feelings of anxiety. So ask yourself, were you approaching him with the feeling of total dread? Or were you feeling pretty positive that things will go well? (Again, I KNOW that sounds kind of judgemental . . . I TRULY don't mean for it to, but it is important!)

Does he like to be brushed? If so, would it help for you to approach him with a light brushing each time first? Once he's all gooey and happy, just put the brush down and grab the meter/lancet. Just a thought??

As for B12, personally I say go for it! But do wait for those with more experience to chime in. But I've used the injectable in the past and had no problem. I did find it helped.

Gotta run, have to get ready for work . . . but I'm going to post one of my absolute favourite memes for you ;) Hopefully it will at least give you a giggle!

Hang in there, you're doing great! *mwah*

Darcy
shaved-guinea-pig.jpg
 

Attachments

  • shaved-guinea-pig.jpg
    shaved-guinea-pig.jpg
    34.6 KB · Views: 257
Hi Brittany,

Ugh, I'm so sorry you're having such a crappy time right now :( It's bad enough when our furbutts keep challenging us, to never mind ALSO feeling sick yourself. Definitely try to get a nap or two in there if you can.

One thing that is important, and honestly, this is more than likely going to aggravate your acid reflux by my even SAYING it (heehee) but it is SUPER important that WE are calm when "going in for the poke" (or whatever we're doing) Just like dogs, cats absolutely pick up on our feelings of anxiety. So ask yourself, were you approaching him with the feeling of total dread? Or were you feeling pretty positive that things will go well? (Again, I KNOW that sounds kind of judgemental . . . I TRULY don't mean for it to, but it is important!)

Does he like to be brushed? If so, would it help for you to approach him with a light brushing each time first? Once he's all gooey and happy, just put the brush down and grab the meter/lancet. Just a thought??

As for B12, personally I say go for it! But do wait for those with more experience to chime in. But I've used the injectable in the past and had no problem. I did find it helped.

Gotta run, have to get ready for work . . . but I'm going to post one of my absolute favourite memes for you ;) Hopefully it will at least give you a giggle!

Hang in there, you're doing great! *mwah*

Darcy View attachment 51448
Thank you for the morale boost! I was very positive when I went to test him this morning. After 15 minutes I started losing hope. I'm sure that didn't help. I've been brushing him a bit but he's been getting aggravated by it, like he knows it's a trick.
Have a great day at work!:bighug:
 
Brittany -

If it's a matter of giving Thomas a small amount of his LC meal so you (and your kitty) can get the testing taken care of without it becoming a battle, it should be fine. It takes at least 15 min for the food to have any effect. (It's not like your kitty takes a bite of food and his BG goes up instantaneously.) If he didn't eat all of his food overnight, it is likely that he's hungry and many cats will shun food that is not "fresh" (by their definition).

Keep in mind that methylcobalamin is a type of B-vitamin. I haven't a clue if it will help with Thomas' energy level. OTOH, as long as you don't give him a huge amount, it really can't hurt. You may need to look at what the amounts that are given in Zobaline as a guide for what a kitty dose is.
 
Brittany -

If it's a matter of giving Thomas a small amount of his LC meal so you (and your kitty) can get the testing taken care of without it becoming a battle, it should be fine. It takes at least 15 min for the food to have any effect. (It's not like your kitty takes a bite of food and his BG goes up instantaneously.) If he didn't eat all of his food overnight, it is likely that he's hungry and many cats will shun food that is not "fresh" (by their definition).

Keep in mind that methylcobalamin is a type of B-vitamin. I haven't a clue if it will help with Thomas' energy level. OTOH, as long as you don't give him a huge amount, it really can't hurt. You may need to look at what the amounts that are given in Zobaline as a guide for what a kitty dose is.
I agree with you. Thank you for the advice!
 
I think I'll wait to start B12 as he may have skin cancer on his ear and I read that B12 can cause faster cancer cell growth. Scheduling a vet appointment next week. We're thinking we may have to have his right ear removed. It's not getting worse but it doesn't seem to be improving either.:(
 
Brittany, you poor sweetie, I really feel for you. I agree with Sienne about feeding a tiny bit. There's no way Leo would put up with me fiddling with his ears and poking him when he's really hungry. I always feed him a tiny bit to take the edge off right before testing, then either a small piece of sardine or chicken or tuna right after the test to keep him occupied while I shoot.

I hope your tummy settles down soon and you can get a couple of cat naps in today. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Brittany, you poor sweetie, I really feel for you. I agree with Sienne about feeding a tiny bit. There's no way Leo would put up with me fiddling with his ears and poking him when he's really hungry. I always feed him a tiny bit to take the edge off right before testing, then either a small piece of sardine or chicken or tuna right after the test to keep him occupied while I shoot.

I hope your tummy settles down soon and you can get a couple of cat naps in today. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! He's usually fine as long as I give him some treats but I guess he was extra hungry this morning.
 
Pretty easy mid-day test thankfully. He refused his treats when offered multiple times however. Just gave him some extra love. Gave him his food, he only ate a little though. Not like him to refuse food.
He jumped on the couch and laid on the top cushion earlier. He hadn't done that in weeks.
20200222_110556.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200222_110556.jpg
    20200222_110556.jpg
    76.5 KB · Views: 224
I always say in cats over the age of 7 to look for sign of arthritis and joint pain. I feel like it is one of the major things we overlook in cats in general since they don't show pain in the same way that dogs do...but being temperamental about being handled and touched, not wanting to eat occasionally, exercising less/ having less energy and walking differently are all marker for inflammation and joint discomfort. My guy has showed slight signs since he was around 8 years old with hip pain caused by a femoral head impingement. I love B12 and B vits it helps with lots of things in animals, but the one for neuropathy is a bit different than the one you take for energy. Not saying don't look into the B vitamins, but don't overlook things like omega-3 fatty acids and glucosamine.
That's my little PSA on joint supplements...If I had it my way, everyone would take omega-3s. I'd slip into the water supplies if I could :)
 
02/21/20
So stressed this morning, was about to start crying. He's being such a hellion this morning. Just starts attacking me right out of the gate when I pet him. I fought him for 35 minutes and got nowhere near poking him.
I don't understand how he can do a complete 360 all the time. One day he let's me pet, massage, and poke no problem at all then others he acts like I'm trying to murder him and attacks me the whole time. He was being good last night. This morning he hates me.
I think he was hungry but he had food left out all night that he didn't touch. Just really aggravates me. Typical cat I guess.
I gave him his breakfast which thankfully was enough to distract him and get a poke. Thank goodness I got enough blood. High number which I figured with all the stress.
Was upset about the injection too. He hated me lifting his skin. 15 minutes late today despite starting 10 minutes early. I actually got up before my alarm because he was scratching at my door.
To top it all off I've been having acid reflux all night that won't go away despite taking acid reducer every day and an extra one this morning. I've only gotten 2 1/2 hours of sleep. About to grab another 3 if possible but I have plans today already. Have to go pick up more cat food today so I can't put it off unfortunately.
I know there's people much worse off in the world. I'm very thankful for everything I have. I just feel crappy today though.
I hope everyone is doing well today. Let's all have a good weekend.



Sorry you had a rough start- it is okay to take a break and delay the shot sometimes. I was an hour late one morning because I could not get it together- his values we so high it likely didn't even matter. You have to secure your own Oxygen masks before assisting others....

:bighug:
 
I always say in cats over the age of 7 to look for sign of arthritis and joint pain. I feel like it is one of the major things we overlook in cats in general since they don't show pain in the same way that dogs do...but being temperamental about being handled and touched, not wanting to eat occasionally, exercising less/ having less energy and walking differently are all marker for inflammation and joint discomfort. My guy has showed slight signs since he was around 8 years old with hip pain caused by a femoral head impingement. I love B12 and B vits it helps with lots of things in animals, but the one for neuropathy is a bit different than the one you take for energy. Not saying don't look into the B vitamins, but don't overlook things like omega-3 fatty acids and glucosamine.
That's my little PSA on joint supplements...If I had it my way, everyone would take omega-3s. I'd slip into the water supplies if I could :)
Thank you. I agree. I should do more research. I believe it's arthritis as it doesn't seem to impede on just the back legs or cause severe weakness in them. Just limping occasionally. Could you give me some recommendations on which products might be useful?
 
I bought more wet food to stockpile and some MC/HC wet food as well. Also, bought a calming spray but they were out of the one I wanted. I'm trying the thunderease brand calming spray, maybe it'll work. Even bought some different cat grasses to grow, he used to be an indoor/outdoor cat but when I moved last year he became an indoor cat, thought he may enjoy some grass as he loved to chew on it outside. He can't even be in direct sunlight anymore due to the solar dermatitis so he can't enjoy the outside much. Trying to give him some enrichment in his life somehow.
 
PMPS was easier. No fighting thankfully. Did a good job. Good appetite and easy injection.
I sprayed the calming spray all over the bathroom and he sniffed curiously but I'm not sure what he thinks. I sprayed it in his 2 current favorite sleeping spots and on the carpet near where he eats. He sniffed them all and walked away. He sniffed his bed and was going to lay down then redecided and went to the blanket and did lay there, both sprayed. I'll give it a few days to see if he likes it.
I'm wondering if this may help Hidee. She's always been terrified of everything for some unknown reason. Always runs away and hides if she doesn't feel safe, which is nearly always. Rarely lets people pet or pick her up. It takes a long time to earn her trust. I'll spray it in a few areas she goes to see if it helps.
 
Awww....what a way to start the day huh? I'm glad the PMPS was easier! Whew!

Keep doing what you're doing...I think you're certainly giving it your all. And you've gotten some great advice above...getting extra food to keep on hand is a great idea - don't want to have to be chasing down food when you're tired, etc.

Hang in there...we all have bad days sometimes :)
 
Pretty easy mid-day test thankfully. He refused his treats when offered multiple times however. Just gave him some extra love. Gave him his food, he only ate a little though. Not like him to refuse food.
He jumped on the couch and laid on the top cushion earlier. He hadn't done that in weeks.
View attachment 51456

Beautiful kitty btw! Nice that he's back to a familiar perch :)
 
Thank you. I agree. I should do more research. I believe it's arthritis as it doesn't seem to impede on just the back legs or cause severe weakness in them. Just limping occasionally. Could you give me some recommendations on which products might be useful?

I like Cosequin for cats- they also make other products for osteoarthritis.
https://www.nutramaxlabs.com/media-center/item/40-good-news-for-diabetic-cats

Fish oil/ an omega 3 fatty acid supplement is always good. Healthy heart, joints and can be food for reducing inflammation in our kidney cats too. Adequan is sort of the gold standard if you talk to a Surgical Veterinarian, but I would consider that pulling out the big guns if you are just dealing with some mild discomfort or inflammation.

Some other posts have mentioned a product called jointguard which I am not familiar with but I will include the link :)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...sequin-or-other-arthritis-supplements.134129/

I also has recently started my guy on a CBD/Hemp oil and was pretty impressed. He has hip joint issues, spondylosis, cervical pain and feline hyperesthesia. The CBD oil has helped a lot with the over grooming and itch-like twitching that the hyperesthesia causes ( it's like a pins and needles feeling along the spine through the tail in cats- a nerve oversensitivity) His spondylosis seems to bother him less and he wants to jump on things more... so I am not sure if that is just feeling better since his BG numbers were more controlled or if that can be attributed to the CBD oil. CBD oil has also helped some cats with anxiety- I was thinking of your Hidee who hides ( that made me giggle at her name a bit)
 
Pretty easy mid-day test thankfully. He refused his treats when offered multiple times however. Just gave him some extra love. Gave him his food, he only ate a little though. Not like him to refuse food.
He jumped on the couch and laid on the top cushion earlier. He hadn't done that in weeks.
View attachment 51456
Awwww, I LOVE the photo of him on the back of the couch! He is gorgeous :joyful:

I'm sorry to hear about his issues with the ear! Oh man, can't catch a break :( But, it's possible they may take just a portion of the ear, if they have to. Unless it has fully spread throughout the entire ear, I can't see them taking the whole thing. My Vinnie Van Gogh, who was a former street cat, lost half an ear due to frostbite. He says ears are overrated ;) LOL
 
Awwww, I LOVE the photo of him on the back of the couch! He is gorgeous :joyful:

I'm sorry to hear about his issues with the ear! Oh man, can't catch a break :( But, it's possible they may take just a portion of the ear, if they have to. Unless it has fully spread throughout the entire ear, I can't see them taking the whole thing. My Vinnie Van Gogh, who was a former street cat, lost half an ear due to frostbite. He says ears are overrated ;) LOL
Thank you! He seemed to enjoy lounging. Perhaps they can save some of it, he'll just have a tiny little ear. As long as it gets rid of the cancer that's all that matters.
 
I like Cosequin for cats- they also make other products for osteoarthritis.
https://www.nutramaxlabs.com/media-center/item/40-good-news-for-diabetic-cats

Fish oil/ an omega 3 fatty acid supplement is always good. Healthy heart, joints and can be food for reducing inflammation in our kidney cats too. Adequan is sort of the gold standard if you talk to a Surgical Veterinarian, but I would consider that pulling out the big guns if you are just dealing with some mild discomfort or inflammation.

Some other posts have mentioned a product called jointguard which I am not familiar with but I will include the link :)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...sequin-or-other-arthritis-supplements.134129/

I also has recently started my guy on a CBD/Hemp oil and was pretty impressed. He has hip joint issues, spondylosis, cervical pain and feline hyperesthesia. The CBD oil has helped a lot with the over grooming and itch-like twitching that the hyperesthesia causes ( it's like a pins and needles feeling along the spine through the tail in cats- a nerve oversensitivity) His spondylosis seems to bother him less and he wants to jump on things more... so I am not sure if that is just feeling better since his BG numbers were more controlled or if that can be attributed to the CBD oil. CBD oil has also helped some cats with anxiety- I was thinking of your Hidee who hides ( that made me giggle at her name a bit)
Thank you for the recommendations! That reminds me that Thomas J. has this twitching of his skin whenever we pet his back, he's had it for years but I've never known what it is. It doesn't seem to cause him discomfort that I know of though. I should ask my new vet their thoughts about it. Definitely will look more into the supplements and CBD oil. Yes, precisely why she's named Hidee haha. We adopted her from another family when she was a year old and if I remember correctly her original name was Myrtle.
 
The hyperesthesia isn't known to be painful per se...mostly irritating. Some vets have likened it to a possible form a seizure activity but there's a fair amount of debate on that. Some cats will actually self mutilate and chew their tails- very painful. Others over groom and get the zoomies ( running like they are being chased around). Makoto has never loved getting his back scratched but would become aggressive if I tried to handle him too much or touch his spine in the wrong places. It's much better now. He does occasional twiching down his spine and he will look like he is trying to bite at it, but he's easily redirected now. Cat nip helped a bit too but that faded.

Ellevet is the company I use, they did a study with Cornell University on CBD oil that showed some promise. I showed my vet to get the okay for the CBD oil- if you need more information.

Myrtle....oh my ? :rolleyes::smuggrin:
 
The hyperesthesia isn't known to be painful per se...mostly irritating. Some vets have likened it to a possible form a seizure activity but there's a fair amount of debate on that. Some cats will actually self mutilate and chew their tails- very painful. Others over groom and get the zoomies ( running like they are being chased around). Makoto has never loved getting his back scratched but would become aggressive if I tried to handle him too much or touch his spine in the wrong places. It's much better now. He does occasional twiching down his spine and he will look like he is trying to bite at it, but he's easily redirected now. Cat nip helped a bit too but that faded.

Ellevet is the company I use, they did a study with Cornell University on CBD oil that showed some promise. I showed my vet to get the okay for the CBD oil- if you need more information.

Myrtle....oh my ? :rolleyes::smuggrin:
He did have seizures when he was a kitten due to an accidental overdose of flea medicine. I wonder if it's linked? Thankfully I don't really see him bite at himself or his tail really ever, only to bathe. He doesn't seem to over groom either. I only see him get the zoomies after a number 2 and recently due to his bad ear being itchy or painful when bumped or touched. Perhaps it's something else or maybe he just has a mild form if any. Thank you for all of the info!
 
Awww....what a way to start the day huh? I'm glad the PMPS was easier! Whew!

Keep doing what you're doing...I think you're certainly giving it your all. And you've gotten some great advice above...getting extra food to keep on hand is a great idea - don't want to have to be chasing down food when you're tired, etc.

Hang in there...we all have bad days sometimes :)
Thank you! I appreciate all of the encouragement and support!:bighug:
 
Well, Thomas was extra patient but I just couldn't get enough blood for a test, half the time I got no blood on the poke.
When I did get blood it was pooling into his fur and I couldn't grab enough for a test. I poked so many times. He pushed my hand away a few times but was still letting me poke him. My poor baby. I gave up, not worth all those pokes on Thomas just to get nothing.
I think there was too much ointment residue interfering but I wiped it off plenty. I tested not warming his ear this week and I got enough blood half the time. Going back to warming it up with the rice sock, perhaps that was some of the issue tonight as well.
Since it's day 6 of this dose I don't think he'll be getting much lower tonight for me to worry. I hate not getting a test before bed though.
He was a patient boy. He got plenty of chicken treats and a nice dinner. Gave a bunch of pets and love too.
 
Also, might not be home Monday for part of the day. I don't know when to increase now. Tomorrow I'll be out as well. I want to be home to monitor him since he had lower 100s with this week's dose.
 
Back
Top