02/27/20 Thomas J. AMPS 338, +3 301, +6.5 154, +9 227, PMPS 390, +4 242, +7 295

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/26/20
A little upset about testing but he finally let me poke him, only one time at least. High numbers, looks like he bouncing from those greens last night.
He was glaring at me when I came over during his breakfast. Was not happy about his shot, he moved while I was poking twice so I didn't get to hold it there but a couple seconds. Didn't feel wet or smell like insulin though.
I'll see how the rest of the day goes of course but I'm able to increase tomorrow and Saturday possibly but again, I'm not available on Sundays to increase and if I increase Saturday it usually doesn't kick in until day 2 but I'm unable to monitor him Sunday.
This is my conundrum. I can't increase on the weekends so I end up holding the dose too long.
 
Last edited:
02/26/20
A little upset about testing but he finally let me poke him, only one time at least. High numbers, looks like he bouncing from those greens last night.
He was glaring at me when I came over during his breakfast. Was not happy about his shot, he moved while I was poking twice so I didn't get to hold it there but a couple seconds. Didn't feel wet or smell like insulin though.
I'll see how the rest of the day goes of course but I'm able to increase tomorrow and Saturday possibly but again, I'm not available on Sundays to increase and if I increase Saturday it usually doesn't kick in until day 2 but I'm unable to monitor him Sunday.
This is my conundrum. I can't increase on the weekends so I end up holding the dose too long.
Hi Brittany,

Our boys SS's are pretty similar in the sense I'm also just about to increase him by that .25. I feel your pain. But hang in there, see what this increase does.

Remember, better too high, than too low ;) You're doing great!

Darcy
 
From the TR guidelines:


Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
Oh, I'm definitely going to hold it for 5 days as suggested. I'm just bringing up the point that I'm told to increase it faster or was in the past but I just can't do that on the weekends so I have to hold longer. Just want it to be understood that I'm doing my best for him but working around my schedule as well. It's important to me to be able to monitor him especially when I'm starting to see lower numbers even if that means holding the dose an extra couple of days.
 
I solved the mystery of why I'm not getting up from my alarms. I'm not sleeping through them because it shows a missed alarm when I do, they're just not going off. They've been doing this for a while but I thought maybe I was turning them off on my sleep somehow but I rarely ever do that. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. Annoying. My +2 alarm didn't go off but I woke up 4 minutes until +3 so that's good at least.
 
He did well for his +3 and I gave him a snack in case he dips lower in the next 3 hours before lunch. Testing again +6, hopefully I'll see some blues at least.
 
They sure do like to keep us on our toes after nice normal green #s, don't they? I hope Thomas' bounce is quickly resolved.
 
Fingers cross for some better numbers today ... but he needs to clear that bounce first - might take a little time - just hang in there :)
 
Pretty good testing for +6.5, 154, at least it's a blue. He didn't eat the snack I left out so that became part of his lunch. He either eats what I leave out immediately or not at all. Sometimes he just steals Hidee's food instead. At least he has a good appetite.
 
PMPS went well although he's still bouncing. Wasn't happy about his injection again. Kept moving then walked away in the middle of eating. I went over to him and he let me inject him but then walked off abruptly right after I injected him and I felt the needle kind of pop out from and drag along the skin a bit since it was still inside. Didn't get to hold it there at all. I didn't smell or feel anything wet though. He doesn't eat the snacks I leave out for some reason.
 
Back
Top