03.09.18, Porto, AMPS 231, +5,5 127, +7 116, PMPS 227, +4 275, +11 270

Manu & Porto

Member Since 2018
yesterday

Porto was busy yesterday, pooing a lot! :banghead: Maybe it just a flare up, which could also explain the high BG. Or it couldve been the SEB, which I stopped giving. Either way, I hope he gets back to those nice, hard poos that brought so much tranquility to us.

This morning we went for our usual walk, momma bean feels so tired lately and wanted some extra bed time but he decided no and kept coming, hitting me with his big head so I finally got up. Once outside, he walked 2 meters total, couldnt get him off the ground, he was happy eating grass and watching the birds. Im happy if he is happy but after 1 hour of him sitting and me standing by his side, still half asleep, I picked him up, ignoring the vocal complains, and back home we came. He was quite hungry when we got back, he had a nice, generous meal and is now sleeping.
His BG is high but doesnt seem to bother about it. I keep telling him we should go to the lagoon and join the other kitties but he is being stubborn.

Uploading one photo taken today with Porto and his precious grass.

Hope everybody has a great start of the week, sending healing vines to all the kitties in need and their hero mommas! :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • 1B3CE71E-2B51-44EB-8458-8C1A5399D3B6.jpeg
    1B3CE71E-2B51-44EB-8458-8C1A5399D3B6.jpeg
    105.2 KB · Views: 97
Thank you! He always liked it outdoors and I used to take him at times, whenever I could, but the thing is he wouldnt want to comeback inside, ever. And once inside he would cry by the door at all hours, stressing a lot and driving us crazy. So we stopped and he forgot about it, with time. he would still go at the door and cry, now and then, but not so insisting.
Now we can finally put his outdoors thing to good use and he gets to move a little and workout. It has become a daily routine, not sure how we will do it during cold weather, we´ll just have to plan something for then.
 
What a fabulous photo! And I too love that he will walk with you harnessed! A long time ago, I had a Siamese named Cecil and he would take walks with me in the neighborhood that I lived in San Jose, CA. unleashed! He would just stay by my side the whole time. Gosh, I miss that cat.

This looks like he is trying to bring it down. Come on Porto!
 
He looks so cute in that photo with his harness on. My 3 cats love to go outside also. I'm fortunate to have a 6 Ft high wood fence around my yard. When the cats were young they would climb over the fence,I was constantly looking for them in the neighbors yards.
Now that they're 16 yrs old (all from the same litter) they don't climb the fence anymore but I need to be with them because we have coyotes here now. I had one in my yard one morning so I need to be careful.:eek:
What is your weather like there in the winter?

I'm curious,why did you decrease his dose on 8/30?
 
Last edited:
What a fabulous photo! And I too love that he will walk with you harnessed! A long time ago, I had a Siamese named Cecil and he would take walks with me in the neighborhood that I lived in San Jose, CA. unleashed! He would just stay by my side the whole time. Gosh, I miss that cat.

This looks like he is trying to bring it down. Come on Porto!

Cecil sounds like a cool, collected cat! Was he used to noises in the street? That is the issue, for an indoor cat, I think. Not to be scared and run panicked when a big car drives by or someone passes jogging. Porto still gets scared by sudden, unknown or loud noises but he handles it pretty well, most times. Sometimes I would just pick him up and hold him close when a noisy car would pass close by and then release and he would be ok.

He is having semi nice poo, its been a couple of days so far, not sure what is going on. I think after this poo episode, he will come down, will check in a bit.
 
He looks so cute in that photo with his harness on. My 3 cats love to go outside also. I'm fortunate to have a 6 Ft high wood fence around my yard. When the cats were young they would climb over the fence,I was constantly looking for them in the neighbors yards.
Now that they're 16 yrs old (all from the same litter) they don't climb the fence anymore but I need to be with them because we have coyotes here now. I had one in my yard one morning so I need to be careful.:eek:
What is your weather like there in the winter?

I'm curious,why did you decrease his dose on 8/30?

So nice for them to have that yard closed up so they can enjoy the outdoors! Id love to have that for him.
Coyotes sounds so scary! Can coyotes jump that fence?? That is crazy! I would be so scared. Pardon my ignorance, but are they agressive if confronted? DO they run? Maybe you could complete the fence with some wire or something so they wont try getting inside?
The winters here are not so cold, maybe between -2,-3 as low and + 10 - degrees high in celcius. Not sure in how much that means in fahrenheit. He usually spends winters stuck to the radiator so outdoors cold may not be of his liking. We will try tho.

As for the reduction, he came down the previous night, I am following SLGS so when beneath 90, he gets a reduction.
 
Cecil sounds like a cool, collected cat!
Cecil was the coolest cat I have ever had. When we moved back to the East coast from CA to an apartment we secured , no animals were allowed . I had to adopt him out. An older couple adopted him and loved him so much. I think he even had his own raft to float in their pool. Even though I knew he was going to a great home, it broke my heart. I was a young mother and newly wed then and it was the one and only time I had to give up an animal. He used to retrieve like a dog! Sponges, pens, toys, anything that you would throw he would run and get it and bring it back. We would tire before he would. I think that in some ways I pay homage to Cecil going above and beyond with my animals now. I promised it would never happen again. sigh.......

I'll have to go find a photo of him. He was a handsome Seal Point Siamese.
 
Cecil was the coolest cat I have ever had. When we moved back to the East coast from CA to an apartment we secured , no animals were allowed . I had to adopt him out. An older couple adopted him and loved him so much. I think he even had his own raft to float in their pool. Even though I knew he was going to a great home, it broke my heart. I was a young mother and newly wed then and it was the one and only time I had to give up an animal. He used to retrieve like a dog! Sponges, pens, toys, anything that you would throw he would run and get it and bring it back. We would tire before he would. I think that in some ways I pay homage to Cecil going above and beyond with my animals now. I promised it would never happen again. sigh.......

I'll have to go find a photo of him. He was a handsome Seal Point Siamese.

Sounds like Cecil was a very smart cat with skills! The only cats Ive met that carried around toys in their mouth (although not retrieving) were stray cats, maybe because they need to carry things in their mouth, like prey or kitty babies :woot: . I also fostered a siamese once, she was very witty and so sweet.
Sometimes if we want their best, we have to give them up. Ive been in your shoes, also had to adopt out a cat, when younger. Hardest thing but it was for the best in the end. Im sure Cecil lived his life spoiled and loved to the max, you did good, Bobbie! :bighug:
Whenever you find that photo, Id love to see him!
 
Back
Top