03/10 Babulica AMPS 118 (+16.5) +4 125, +17 77

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by dinu55, Mar 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Babulica playing on slide.

    see post 199 for current info
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Whoa!!!! Did you test again to make sure it wasn't a meter error?????
     
  3. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    no, but I'll test now again
     
  4. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +10:10 62 . I give him some LC & MC food
     
  5. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Well, that was a speedy bounce-breaking, well-done Babulica!

    I wouldn't worry too much about managing the low at this point of the cycle-- at +10 he's not likely to drop into the danger zone, I don't think. Since it is +10, you probably don't want to feed too much more because you want the PMPS to not be food-influenced (of course, if you get another test and find that he has made me a liar by dropping much lower, this advice will change!).

    It's very good that you caught this number now, this way you'll be able to tell at PMPS if he's moving upwards.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  6. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I gave wet food 40g LC and MC. Blood test in 10 minutes
     
  7. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    arrrggghhh!!! no rest for Babulica's ears!. :mad:
     
  8. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +10:35 59
     
  9. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Test right before you shoot but before you feed. (so at +11:45) - post that number before you feed or shoot.

    ETA - tagging @Wendy&Neko for more experienced eyes.
     
  10. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    OK. Anyway I test again at +11
     
  11. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +11 61
     
  12. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Well, he's certainly got the surfing down-- yesterday blue, today green! He is really keeping you on your toes!
     
  13. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Just noticed something-- your signature says that you use a human meter for testing, is that correct? I ask because the color scheme on your spreadsheet corresponds to the AlphaTrak (pet meter) ranges. It's important because where Babulica is right now (low 60's) is fine for a human meter, but too low if you are using a pet meter.
     
  14. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Yes, I use human meter . I removed from my ss the AlpfaTrak row, 2 weeks ago. What else should I do?
     
  15. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Urgh.... depends how tech-savvy you are! The colors are done using conditional formatting, and the only ranges that change are the dark green vs. light green, with the number separating them being 50 for the human meter and 68 for the pet meter. So if you feel comfortable doing that kind of thing you can go in and change it yourself for the BG-input regions of the spreadsheet. If you aren't comfortable doing it yourself, then you can tag Marje+Gracie, who is our expert at doing these things.
     
  16. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    @Marje and Gracie may be able to fix it. For now, can you put a blank line in between the last day you used the AT and the first day you used the human meter and type in that you changed meters?
     
  17. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    OK. I have changed now
     
  18. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Ah, great! Now I don't get that "yikes!" feeling when I see today's numbers! ;)
     
  19. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I do not understand . From the beginning I used only human meter
     
  20. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    It's just a matter of which spreadsheet template you used initially. It may still need some tweaking from Marje (sorry Marje, I might have given bad advice)-- I just checked and the "World" readings aren't synced to the US measurements, not sure if what I told you to do messed that up or if it was always like that.
     
  21. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +11:45 69
     
  22. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Oh, I see, so you just accidentally used the SS for an AT. Marje could still fix it for you, I'm sure.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  23. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Goodness, Babulica is not fooling around!

    Tricia, I'm not experienced enough to give dose/shot advice in this situation--what do you think????
     
  24. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    If is wrong, there is no problem . I just changed 2 numbers . But I think you're not wrong :)
     
  25. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Should he shoot 1U? I don't feel comfortable giving advise on shooting that low of a number. But boy, what a drop from AMPS!
     
  26. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    it is better to wait half an hour, or an hour?, like I did yesterday morning
     
  27. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Maybe edit the subject to put a "?" tag and ask for dose advice, to get some more eyes?
     
  28. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    When did you feed last?
     
  29. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Well, I'd say definitely stall (don't feed) for a little while, until some experts stop by to help advise. How much monitoring do you think you can do tonight if you shoot?
     
  30. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    an hour and 45 minutes ago , 40g MC & LC
     
  31. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I can stay with him, no problem. ALL NIGHT if must.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  32. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Hopefully it won't come to that.

    I would say don't feed yet, and test again 30 minutes after the last test. If he is the same or higher, you can shoot. If lower, we'll re-evaluate.
     
  33. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Thank @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey :bighug:
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  34. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Ok. next measurement at +12:30
     
  35. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    In the case that BS is rising, what you say, to give it 0.75u as I gave yesterday morning?
     
  36. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Are you feeding any dry kibbles at all?
     
  37. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    NO , today no, yesterday I gave little , at morning(when was +1 98). I panicked a little because I gave the injection on descent.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  38. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Have you determined whether you are following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow? If you still give kibble, you need to follow SLGS, as TR does not allow dry food. So, under SLGS guidelines, Bubulica earned a reduction in dose to .75 with his drop under 90. You just took a reduction yesterday, so this one may not hold (you may have to increase the dose again soon), but if I were you, I would shoot the .75 tonight.
     
  39. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I have not yet chosen a method. These numbers not let me to choose now. I'll post the BG test at +12:30 and will see.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  40. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    The reason I ask is that for TR you wouldn't reduce the dose until he goes under 50, but with SLGS you reduce for anything under 90. At this point, since you are still giving some kibble, I suggest you follow the SLGS guidelines for reductions. You can always switch to TR later if you want to.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  41. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Babulica eat only wet food from a while. Just yesterday morning I gave a few grains
     
  42. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +12:30 92 .
     
  43. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Well, then, it's up to you whether you want to reduce the dose or not. I will say that it is best if you pick a dose and stick to it for at least six cycles (unless he goes low again). So if you want to shoot .75 tonight, that should be your new regular dose and you should continue shooting that amount until the BG numbers tell you otherwise.

    I would say you should go ahead and feed and give insulin now.
     
  44. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I give 0.75u
     
  45. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    So that is your new dose amount, and you should shoot that same amount tomorrow morning.
     
  46. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    No more kibbles! Wet LC unless he needs MC/HC wet for low BG numbers! :smuggrin:

    Surf it Babulica! Surf it.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  47. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    ok. next test +2 or +1?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  48. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I will follow these general guidelines again


    The + 2 test can give you an idea of what might happen in the cycle:
    1. If the +2 is quite a bit lower you might have an "active" cycle where you should monitor more.
    2. If it's about the same as the pre shot the cycle should be "normal" - not too much excitement.
    3. If it's higher than pre shot there might be some bouncing starting and you won't have to test much.
     
  49. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Sorry. I had workmen here and had to go talk to them. Yes, a +2 would be good.
     
  50. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
  51. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Nice.
     
  52. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +3 132
     
  53. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Looking good!!!
     
  54. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    next test +5
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  55. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    We're watching.
     
    LizzieInTexas and dinu55 like this.
  56. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Very nice so far.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  57. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +5 120
     
  58. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  59. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    decreased slightly. what to do, to give him something to eat?
     
  60. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Does he normally eat about now? If so, yes, go ahead. If you're concerned about his dropping lower, he's in safe numbers now and I don't think he'll drop a lot more
     
    dinu55 and LizzieInTexas like this.
  61. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    No. Usually Babulica not eat at these hours. He's sleeping now . So I do not give food.
     
  62. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    next test +7
     
  63. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I want to ask you: with these bounce, the liver does not have too much stress?
     
  64. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +7 118
     
  65. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    next test +10
     
  66. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Pretty flat low blue:cool:. Keep up the good work. Get some rest :)
     
  67. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    No it doesn't. Not something to worry about. We've had cats that bounced for years before with no discernable damage.

    I think you can leave some food out and go to bed. Nice work!
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  68. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I woke up and I took BG at +9 97
     
  69. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +9 97 I gave him a little wet food LC
     
  70. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Although it's a drop, it's not a big drop. Nice catch.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  71. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +11 91 within an hour I must give the injection
     
  72. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    How much will you be able to monitor today?
     
  73. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    We can monitor him. If not me, then someone else. But I'll try to stay with him
     
  74. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Well, let's see where he is at shot time. It would be nice to be able to shoot a lower number like that and see how he does I'd hate to see him lose momentum after the great numbers he's been having.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  75. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Ok, I'll post here the +12 numbers .
     
  76. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +12 78
     
  77. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    ARGH. This is a tough one. If you were following TR and could monitor, I'd tell you to go ahead and shoot. If you were following SLGS, you would skip the shot, because you don't shoot anything under 90.

    I think you are going to have to make this decision, based on your ability to monitor (or have someone else monitor), your confidence that Bubulica will eat, and what your goals are.

    You could, if your schedule allows, stall for 30 minutes (WITHOUT FEEDING) and test again to see if Bubulica comes up on his own.
     
  78. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Ok. I'll do like we did last night. I Wait another half hour
     
  79. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Okay. I'll check back to see where you are.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  80. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +12:30 69
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  81. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I'll wait another half hour :confused: as I did the other day
     
  82. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    :facepalm::banghead:

    Babulica, what game are you playing???
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  83. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    What you say, there is too much 0.75u?
     
  84. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Not necessarily. The depot from the previous 1.0 dose could still be affecting the numbers. Once that is adjusted to the new dose, .75 could turn out to be just right.

    It just makes it harder to determine what to do when Babulica is dropping at shot time.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  85. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +13 67
     
  86. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    What do you want to do? Shoot, stall more or skip?
     
  87. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    ... probably in an hour to begin to rise
     
  88. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Stall more, i test again in 30 min
     
  89. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Just remember that, whatever time you do shoot (if you shoot), your next shot needs to be no less than 11.5 later.
     
  90. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    OK. I'll keep that in mind. But as Bubulica go, i think his cycle's are going to be over 12 - 13 - 14 hours
     
  91. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    That is possible, although unusual. If your schedule is flexible enough to accommodate that, it's wonderful.

    Are you comfortable handling this by yourself? I have to get up early in the morning and really need to get to bed. But I will stay with you if you need me to.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  92. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Good . Thanks for the help . I'll wait until I am are sure that BG climb, and then I give the shot. I'll test again in 15 minutes. If you're still here, write me. If not - Good night. :bighug:
     
  93. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Okay. I have my tablet in my room, so I'll probably check in one more time before I crawl in bed.

    Babulica, be a good kitty, please!
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  94. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    +13:30 64
     
  95. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    It looks like the dropping has slowed down quite a bit.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  96. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    I check again at +14:30, I hope to climb in one hour. But if passes under 50 then i give to eat.
     
  97. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Okay. I'm sorry I can't stay with you longer but if you have questions, add the ? and something like "Should I shoot?" to your subject line and hopefully someone will be around to see it.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  98. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Thank you for the help . Good night and sweet dreams :cat::):cat:
     
  99. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I am up. But have way less experience. Let's hope he is in the rise.
     
    dinu55 likes this.
  100. dinu55

    dinu55 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Hi. Now is playing. In 25 minutes new test.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page