03/15/18 Texas Gizmo PMPS=125, +2=141 (Ket 0.3), +4=153, +11=148

Status
Not open for further replies.
More appy prayers coming to sweet Gizmo :bighug: When mine go off their food it can take quite a while to get them back on track ( and MANY partial cans of kitty food :banghead:) Hang in there , Lizzie :bighug:
 
BCP's web page mentions compounding enrofloxacin into a transdermal gel. I phoned them about compounding some heart meds into transdermal gels. They said absorption can vary with transdermal gels, so they only recommend them as a last resort.
Wedgewoodpetrx.com also compounds meds into transdermal gels.
Is Gizmo still on antibiotics?
 
PMPS=125

History:
AMPS=165, +1.5=159

I just want to cry. I am completely at a loss. I don't know what to do. Nothing is working. NOTHING.
 
Ugh......I did not get the tag on the labs. I’m so sorry and I’m glad you PMd me.

WOW!!!! Girl!!! You have made some significant progress with the anemia and the phosphorus!! Jeepers am I happy for you!!!!!! His labs look so much better just in those two areas. He’s certainly not wanting that potassium up, though, is he? So you are giving him the Potassium chews and lactated ringers? LRS has potassium in it and with the chews, I just can’t figure out why that boy’s K is still so low and it makes me wonder if there is some other med or supplement that you are giving him that is working against it. To some degree, it can be insulin as insulin will cause the uptake of K from the blood into the cells. But, even in FDs who are not CKD, I don’t usually see K levels that low. They might be 3.8 or 3.9 but usually come up.

You gotta be happy with these labs!! BTW, polychromasia has to do with the anemia so don’t worry about that. You are already addressing it. They are just telling you that it might be regenerative anemia. What does the vet say about the Epogen now (I didn’t read back through all the condos).

On the A/B and the upset tummy. Will your vet not try another a/b? I would really try and push on that. If an a/b makes my cat that sick, my vet switches it up. The inappetence that comes with some a/bs is just heartbreaking.

I read back a few days and saw some folks had recommended different probiotics. The ProB is one that has been recommended lately for cats with IBD/lymphoma. It isn’t the same as the Saccharomyces boulardi that you linked so I’m not sure which one you have.

The Renew Life Ultimate Flora 15b is the one I use daily but if I give antibiotics, i up the game to the really high CFUs found in the Extra Care. The link you posted the other day for the Saccharomyces (Jarrows) with MOS is really the best for soft poo. Did you start giving it to him? I saw a link on your condo for the probiotics info from ibdkitties and I would use the emergency stop directions for the Jarrows S boulardi with MOS that you have. The emergency stop directions are:

Jarrow Brand S. Boulardii is the most commonly locally available S. Boulardii supplement (in the U.S.). It is usually sold as S. Boulardii + MOS. “MOS” are mannan-oligosaccharides, a medium that promotes utilization of the probiotic in the intestines. It seems the MOS makes the product bitter, as most kitties will eat “plain” S. boulardii (Nutricology, A.O.R. and Renew Life brands listed here) when sprinkled on or mixed into foods – but not the S. Boulardii with MOS. This is not to say this product cannot be used, it can, but it usually needs to be syringed or pilled into the cat. If you can find an S. boulardii supplement at 5 billion CFU without MOS (there are plenty of other brand options, at least online), you may find it easier to use if your cat is not inappetent. Jarrow does have a product available in premeasured packets rather than capsules. If available, these packets will make it a little easier to use for emergency treatment if you have or can purchase small (size 3) empty capsules. Some cats eat the Jarrow S boulardii mixed into a bit of Beechnut baby food and fed as a “treat.”

For emergency “stop diarrhea” use, it is recommended to purchase size 3 empty capsules. Fill 10 or so of these, and administer them to your cat every 2 hours. This often stops diarrhea within 24 – 48 hours, other than when diarrhea is caused by another disease that requires treatment (low B12, exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, hyperthyroidism, as examples). This “loading dose” can be continued for three to four days if necessary. It is NOT necessary to use this approach, it can be given at “therapeutic” doses twice a day (and doubled if you see improvement in stool but diarrhea or soft cow patty stools have not resolved).

NOTE: IF USE OF S BOULARDII MAKES DIARRHEA WORSE, STOP. Give kitty a break for 3 days, and start over at a MUCH smaller amount, and very slowly work up to the therapeutic dose. If even the small amount makes diarrhea worse, your cat is likely sensitive to yeasts and this cannot be given.

When the diarrhea has resolved with use of the emergency stop treatment protocol, begin use of S. boulardii at the therapeutic dose level (2.5 billion CFU twice daily) and continue for at least one week and up to one month; then adjust dose to the maintenance level (half that), or use the Nexabiotic 21-strain probiotic for maintenance. If stools soften, resume use of S. boulardii at the therapeutic dose as needed. Given its role in improving performance of bacterial probiotics and its anti-inflammatory properties, the use of S boulardii at maintenance levels can be continued indefinitely along with a bacterial probiotic.

The only issue with S boulardi is that if the B12 levels are low, it’s not going to help. I know you are giving him MethylB12 and Jarrows B Right for the anemia and that should help his B12 levels although the cyanocobalamin shots are usually more effective.

Sending you a ton of hugs, Lizzie, and eating vines for Gizmo. Is there anything at all I can help you with? My heart is just breaking for you as I know too well the stress from your baby not eating. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I replied to your PM so I will just copy it here...

He isn't doing well at all. He had all but quit eating hence the lab work. With the WBC count he was put on Veraflox (AB). I voiced my concern about possible kidney infection and we agreed to give an extended cycle of the AB. We made it 7 days and that was with Cerenia, Ondan and Mirtz to get him to eat anything. Then on day 8 the diarrhea started and he threw up a bit of food sometime during the day. I discontinued the ABs.

The Epogen was put on hold until the month of AB was completed and we were going to do a full blood panel then to see where we were. Vet said the level could RBC count could be a bit exaggerated if he was dehydrated.

Monday PM was his last AB but his appy has yet to improve. His BG #'s are weird. He is down to 0.25U and holding pretty steady in the low blues with the occasional spike to yellow which is fine with me with the questionable appy.

We are being very, very conservative with the fluids because he has not had the heart enzyme blood test. The vet office does not have an account with IDEXX (I told them I would call them and arrange to pay direct if they could send the blood but they didn't even have the correct vile to submit the blood in). Then we got the BW back and we thought the infection was the cause of the off-appy.

He got fluids at the vets on 03/05 and I gave him 40(?) of fluids last Saturday and I gave 40-50(?) tonight. He acts nauseated but the Cerenia and Ondan are not addressing it if that is the case.

I absolutely love this new vet. She is wonderful and so willing to work with me. Very impressed with the FD control and managing the Panc flares with the meds and at home. She calls often (or a tech does) just to check on him. She is on vacation this week but called to tell me that one of the other vets was completely up to speed with Gizmo's case and to call or email if I needed anything - which I did today with an update.

I am just at a loss on what to do with his not eating. Hubby said to leave him be. As long as he was eating something (which he is with a struggle) and his numbers are ok (safe) - let's just see what happens - so that is kinda where we are tonight.

I am concerned this is cancer (Gussie comes to mind). Would anything in the BW give any hint that might be the case? I am almost ready to do another US - I just need to spend my $$ wisely so hesitate if that is the best thing to do right now.

Sorry for the novel - lol. I just feel so helpless. Thank you so much for your attention and help. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Lizzie, sending many heartfelt prayers and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: You are an unbelievable momma bean with bulldog determination . Please take care of yourself :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top