03/22 AMPS 276, +4 205, PMPS 325 - opinions please

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Amanda & Shmee, Mar 22, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...stions-links-do-not-work.192956/#post-2154995

    Hello,
    Jill (Jill & Alex, GA) thought I should ask the group about their opinions on my Shmee's spreadsheet. She thinks he should be getting more insulin but I am following the TR protocol so I am increasing by .25.

    I just started TR 03/18. The vet increased his dose from 1 to 2, then she advised to go from 2 to 3, but I talked to her about starting TR and she was on board, so the next increase I did was 2 to 2.25, and now today to 2.5. Side note - please see my notes and lab work; he has a slightly enlarged liver with high liver values, but his numbers have gone down since (with only a food change) and now he is on Denamarin so I am hoping his numbers will go down again on his next test. His appetite isn't the greatest and every 4-6 days I give him a 1/4 pill of Mirztapine appetite stimulant. I am really hoping this is due to his high BG numbers and not that something worse is wrong with his liver. My vet said if his appetite doesn't come back and his liver values don't go down again I will have to go to a specialist an hour away to get an ultrasound...

    It's hard for me to figure out his patterns... maybe I just still need more data. Is it normal for his numbers to be so high still? I am hoping my vet starting him at 1 and then moving him right up to 2 didn't bypass his right "match"..

    I was going to set an alarm for a +7 and +8 tonight, or maybe a +7 tonight and a +8 tomorrow. Unless there are any other suggestions I am all ears and would love to learn as much as I can.

    Thank you
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2018
  2. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Hi Amanda,

    I'm sorry you haven't gotten any feedback this evening. Looking at your SS, I'd say you were correct to increase to 2.5. The TR protocol says to increase by .25 after 6 cycles if nadirs are over 200 but under 300, which is the case with Schmee. I think what Jill meant was that you will probably have to increase some more (following protocol) before you get to the right dose. It's important not to move too quickly, though, because you need the depot to adjust to each change.

    Yes, it is normal for his numbers to still be high. He is coming down a little, but it will take time to get him where you want him. We tell new members to keep in mind that this is a marathon, not a sprint - Schmee didn't become diabetic overnight, and he won't get regulated, or into remission, overnight either. You are doing an awesome job with testing, and I think you are getting closer to a good dose. Hang in there!
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  3. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Thank you!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page