03/23 Gizmo PMPS=52, +1=51, +1.5=45, +2=65, +2.5=71, +3=82, +4=101, +5=96 , +11=246

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
03/22 +11 160

AMPS 139

He didn't bounce!

Going to see what +1 & +2 numbers are and I will make a decision on staying home today.

Bitter sweet day today. 32 years ago I lost my mom to cancer. I sure do miss her.
 
Shot low this morning - how much do I need to worry about dropping extremely low (I will monitor). Do I just let him go? Next snack (LC) is in 1 1/2 hours.
Get a +2 and if he is the same or lower than the pre shot then you will know it is going to be active. But, usually, when they are starting from a lower number, the don't have big drops and stay flatter.
 
A lot of times they do just surf when you shoot low. The +2 should give you an idea of what Gizmo will do today.
 
Just looked at the SS and he is all ready dropping with out a food bump.... I would give a tsp or two of LC food to him now to slow him down.
 
Back on Jan 30th you shot a low blue (with a less of a dose) but he did require some propping with MC food so it will be interesting to see what he does today.
 
Well would you look st that ! All sorts of greenage in this condo this morning :D

Congratulations on earning a reduction.

Now Mr. Gizmo, it's time to surf-
 
Congratulations on earning a reduction.
Not sure about that yet. Going to wait and see what +11 and PMPS #'s are. He has never held a reduction. In fact, we are at the highest dose ever (currently). I may wait for 3 under 50 - it is a good time to try that since we are coming up on the weekend.

If anything, I am thinking if I do a reduction - only doing 1/4 dose reduction. He was in the 300's just a day ago.

I am open for options and thoughts/suggestions.
 
If anything, I am thinking if I do a reduction - only doing 1/4 dose reduction.
1/4 dose?? How much would that be? Reductions are typically done in 0.25u increments...

eta- could you point out where the failed reductions are- I'm having trouble locating them on the ss.
 
Last edited:
Reductions are typically done in 0.25u increments.
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I use calipers so I could do the math and adjust the measurement.
 
I had a feeling that he was after a reduction. If he higher tonight, you could shoot through the bounce and give the reduction tomorrow morning. You want to consider how much steering you had to do this cycle to keep his head above water also when making the decision not to reduce.
 
I was just looking at his SS and seeing back on 2.21 he had that skipped shot from the 68 in the AM, then that PM cycle you reduced him to .75 unit down from the previous 1.25. And after that there was some inconsistent dosing for about 6-7 cycle, there could be a reason for it but, I'm thinking that it's hard to know if he doesn't hold reductions well because of that.
 
Lizzie could you point out where the failed reductions are-? I'm having trouble locating them on the ss.
on 01/31 PM I reduced from 1.25U to 1.0U because of one low green. He never recovered from that bounce and on 02/10 I increased back to 1.25U.

Now, I am still fairly new to this, but that looks like a failed reduction to me - please correct me if I am wrong.

I seems like this is his typical MO - He starts to get good numbers and forward momentum going until I take a reduction after a one time low number and then we are back to the "original" dose after a stretch of yellows. I don't want to loose momentum.

Here is the condo where @Marje and Gracie discussed it with me.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-18-gizmo-pmps-198-1-226-2-257-4-221-5-5-212.174978/

and the day before where I explained:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-dose-increase-and-bg-s.174924/#post-1920614
 
I was just looking at his SS and seeing back on 2.21 he had that skipped shot from the 68 in the AM, then that PM cycle you reduced him to .75 unit down from the previous 1.25. And after that there was some inconsistent dosing for about 6-7 cycle, there could be a reason for it but, I'm thinking that it's hard to know if he doesn't hold reductions well because of that.
His numbers were real whacky after his dental (for about a week). So that is why that week is a mess. It was at a time where I COULDN'T be off from work so I had no choice.
 
His numbers were real whacky after his dental (for about a week). So that is why that week is a mess. It was at a time where I COULDN'T be off from work so I had no choice.
I figured there was a reason for the wacky dosing. Please know that I was not criticizing you, I am trying to understand why you thought he didn't hold reductions.

Where is he now with the cycle and BG?
 
I figured there was a reason for the wacky dosing. Please know that I was not criticizing you, I am trying to understand why you thought he didn't hold reductions.

Where is he now with the cycle and BG?
Oh, I know you aren't criticizing! No worries there. I have a bit thicker skin than that - and if I can't "argue" my point than I truly don't know what I am talking about!:p

+4.5 46 (LC snack)

1 1/2 hours since any MC (only LC). I am trying to leave for work in about an hour - we shall see what his numbers do. He should start coming up by then.

Am I doing the right thing with regards to the food and not bringing him up any higher? He seems ok, a little p!$$ed at the pokes and wanting to be left along but tolerant. LOL.
 
You should get him above 50 and have him hold above without food for 2 tests or an hour so you know that he is going to be safe while you are gone. Otherwise, you shouldn't leave him. He isn't used to be that low and he earned a reduction so there is nothing morefor him to prove. It's a double edged sword with them going that low and carbing them up. They are going to bounce from the lower numbers they aren't used to and they are going to jack up with the higher carb food but, there isn't any merit in letting them hang below 50.
 
There is (yet another) adage here in L&LL which it is that data any farther back than 2 weeks is ancient history.

When I look at his ss I do not see a history of failed reductions. I do see a good deal of stumbling about early on which is common, particularly when a caregiver works outside the home.

Now that you have become comfortable enough to follow TR it's time to build a new history based on Gizmos reactions to following the TR protocol.

Since you are new to TR I recommend you 'go by the book' and take the standard 0.25u reduction. If he bounces way up for PMPS you can hold the dose for tonight's cycle and reduce in the AM, a technique referred to as 'shooting through the bounce'

That's my $0.02 :cool:
 
I agree with Sandy about Ancient History. Once a wise sage name Jill said to me, "that was then, this is now" And I also agree about taking the reduction , because he earned it AND you work outside the house. If he is higher tonight, shoot through the bounce and reduce tomorrow AM like Sandy and I recommended.
 
I'd also like to add that when you are doing a more aggressive technique, like holding for three drops between 40 and 50 (and please note the difference between that and three drops below 50; one drop below 40 calls for an automatic reduction), it is highly recommended that you take the full 0.25u reduction.

Also...just one comment on "feeding the 40s" because this is a statement that has been misused across the board. Yes, if you get a 40 something number during the cycle, you should feed it. However, if you get a 40 at preshot, you should not feed it, but wait 15-20 minutes and retest to see if the number is coming up. If it doesn't, then feed a small amount of LC and retest in 20-30 minutes (reference Dealing with Low Preshots).
 
+6.5 45
2 Tbsp HC

ETA history so I can modify the title (too long)
AMPS=139, +1=98, +2=59, +2.5=50, +3=48, +3.5=50, +4=48, +4.5=46, +5=51, +5.5=47, +6=45,
 
Goodness.

Anything else that seems different today? Maybe he's getting over a pancreatitis flare or something similar, to make his insulin needs decrease?

Although, I don't know why I always try to find explanations for these things, beyond, "he's a cat!" :rolleyes:
 
Goodness.

Anything else that seems different today? Maybe he's getting over a pancreatitis flare or something similar, to make his insulin needs decrease?

Although, I don't know why I always try to find explanations for these things, beyond, "he's a cat!" :rolleyes:
Lizzie, do I remember that you started Gizmo on the Pancreas Booster?
 
Goodness.

Anything else that seems different today? Maybe he's getting over a pancreatitis flare or something similar, to make his insulin needs decrease?

Although, I don't know why I always try to find explanations for these things, beyond, "he's a cat!" :rolleyes:
He has been on the Pancreas Booster for about 1 month and on the GlucoEnsure for two days (03/21 AM cycle). Other than those two things - nothing else has changed (that I am aware of) - LOL.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/exciting-supplement.173867/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top