03/31 Cleo AMPS=390 +5=396 PMPS=316 +2=329 +3.5=262 +11=150

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

03/30 Recap
AMPS=431
+8.5=290
PMPS=305
+2=348
+4=298
+10.5=358

Hi everyone,
tonight Cleo woke me up with the sweet sound of her purr. This morning I hoped to see better numbers, but she was almost 400. This dose increase seems to have worsened the numbers, is it possible?
 
interesting. Yes she does look worse at 3.5u than she did at 3.25u. The variable things that might increase blood sugar include infection, pain, inflammation, (pancreatitis, bladder infection, dental infection or inflammation), getting into contraband food with high carbs, hmm, that's off the top of my head of things to explore. Any injuries?

what's the actinorm that she's taking sometimes?

How's she behaving? any meatloafing or acting like she doesn't feel good?

How's her appetite? Any sign of infection?

How old is your insulin? Any chance it's not good?

I think while you explore what could be going on, I'd go ahead and continue following the protocol guidelines. Unless she gets something lower than 200 tomorrow (so after her 6th cycle at 3.5u) I'd go ahead and increase by 0.25u. Most of her nadirs are over 200.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi Julie,
PM+11 is 150, so I think she had a low nadir tonight or she is clearing the bounce, right?

what's the actinorm that she's taking sometimes?
Actinorm is the fructooligosaccharides supplement to regularize intestinal functions and for hairball. I give it to her when she is costipated, she has diarrhea or vomit.

How's she behaving? any meatloafing or acting like she doesn't feel good?
She seems like she is feeling good.

How's her appetite? Any sign of infection?
She has a good appetite and eats greedly as usual, but today and tonight she didn't eat the fourth meal from the feeder. She tried to eat it at the next preshot time.

How old is your insulin? Any chance it's not good?
My insulin is 47 days old. I think it is good

Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top